is this it? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-13-2007, 09:09 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
is this it?

Is this the shift motor that always craps out? http://www.quadratec.com/products/52432_00.htm It seems thats actually pretty cheap compared to everywhere else I've seen. I thought it was generally an expensive part to replace.

gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2007, 10:07 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
Yes. That is it. It's a fairly easy change out, too. Are you havin' problems with your shift motor?

__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2007, 10:12 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
I'm having problems somewhere. I have to check the vacuum again, but I think it might be the shift motor. I was going to take it out and try to clean it up first.
gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2007, 10:33 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
Hey Bro. I know that system backward and forward. What kind of problem are you havin'?
__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-14-2007, 07:30 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
I havent played with it in a while, but last time I went to put it into 4wd(it was below freexing) I got nothing. Before that it was working, but the light wouldnt come on. I'm pretty sure all the vacuum lines are hooked up right and if I give vac directly to the 4wd indicator switch on the firewall the light comes on. I played with the vacuum a little bit and last time I checked the green line had vac when trans case was in 2wd, but not 4wd. The yellow line always had vacuum and there are two yellows. I dont know whats supposed to happen with the 2nd yellow line; I assume just plug it. I'll take any opinions you can offer. Maybe its more likely the switch on the t-case since I have constant vac on the yellow, but I"ll let you tell me.
gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-14-2007, 07:12 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
One line should be yellow at the shift motor and one line should be green. If the vacuum does not change from one line to the other when you shift in and out of 4 wheel, then you have a bad vacuum switch on the transfer case.
__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-14-2007, 07:14 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
Check out this link. I just wrote this recently.


vacuum switch thread.
__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2007, 10:34 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Thanks for all the info. As soon as I can get to the jeep I'll bring it down and start working on it. Its kind of buried under a foot and a half of snow and ice. I think it may be hard to move without 4wd so I'll have to wait for some thaw out. I think its supposed to warm up a little next week so there might be some melting.
gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2007, 11:29 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 90
If all else fails you could always get the Posi-lock which replaces the vacuum actuated system with a cable based one. Its more expensive but over the long term more reliable.
theorrminator is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2007, 11:51 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
I thought about the posi, but in all reality I probably wont keep it long term. I picked it up off a trade and figure I'll have better luck selling the YJ than the K5 I traded for it. I'll probably put it for sale in the spring/early summer and just drive it until I get what I want for it. The thing is in great shape, the frame has no rot anywhere. So hopefully I'll be able to do decent on selling it. You know some girl is going to want one and her dad will buy her what she wants.
gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2007, 12:02 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
It took me two hours but I got it out of the snow. First challenge was trying to find a way to get some power to the battery. It also turns out the 4wd was working, so that is good. Here's the problem though; when all the vac lines are hooked to the axle I am getting constant vac on axle side of the yellow line, not the t-case side. I think the vac from the green is getting through the motor. So should I just go and replace the shift motor now then? I checked all the lines coming from the t-case and they seemed to be working correctly.
gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2007, 02:46 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
I still think you need a switch. When you are in four wheel drive, the vacuum should be on the yellow line at the shift motor. The green line is supposed to have vacuum when you are in two wheel drive.

It sounds like you are looking for a return in vacuum from the shift motor, but it doesn't work that way. Only one line will have vacuum on it.

Replace the vacuum switch on the transfer case. I can almost guarantee that is the problem. Besides, it is much cheaper than a shift motor and changes out in under two minutes.
__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2007, 02:47 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
If you want, call me and I'll help you with it. PM me and I'll send you my phone number.
__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2007, 03:22 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
The switch seems to be working right. I checked all the lines when they were disconnected from the axle and yellow had vac in 4wd and green had vac in 2wd. When I hook the lines up to the axle and have it in 2wd it seems like the vac from the green is causing vac on yellow, but yellow coming from the axle, not the tcase. I tried blowing out the inlets on the shift motor and did have air coming out of the yellow inlet while blowing air into the green inlet.
gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2007, 03:31 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
It sounds like your diapragm has ruptured. It may be possible to buy that piece seperate from the shift motor. If not, It does sound like you need a shift motor.

Let me see if I can find if it is available seperately.
__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2007, 03:49 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
Looks like the shift motor includes the diapragm. The diapragm doesn't seem to be available seperately. The shift motor looks pretty easy to change out.
__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2007, 04:23 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Thanks for all your help. I'll probably go and try to order it locally tonight and hope they'll match the quadratec price.
gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2007, 04:47 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
autozone and all the other places like that carry it.
__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2007, 08:21 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
I ordered it from advance auto last night and they will have it in a couple of days. They were kind enough to match a price I found online and I got it for $82, not bad at all to me. Thanks for all the help amerijeep and I'll let you know how it turns out.
gtchief is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2007, 07:59 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
amerijeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mississippi.
Posts: 3,951
It would be awesome if you could take pics and do a write-up. I could sticky it and I know it would help many people.

Even without pics, a write-up would be incredible.

__________________
To all who serve, Thank You.
amerijeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC