My 350 build - Page 3 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > YJ Build Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-30-2013, 09:35 AM   #61
Jeeper
 
incizion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Manassas, Virginia
Posts: 1,263
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by KentuckyMike View Post

Then ended up with this when I was done.

Pornography

incizion is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-30-2013, 02:00 PM   #62
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
I had seen that picture and that is like the one I have. I was wondering how u had the 4WD shifter on the right hand side. That looks great. Is yours a linkage or cable shifter? The Lokar..

TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-30-2013, 02:14 PM   #63
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasDemon84 View Post
I had seen that picture and that is like the one I have. I was wondering how u had the 4WD shifter on the right hand side. That looks great. Is yours a linkage or cable shifter? The Lokar..
linkage
harleydragon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-31-2013, 08:00 AM   #64
Jeeper
 
Liftkit55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasDemon84 View Post
It's alive!!! Will try to post more tomorrow since its dark already. Yeah!!!!

So what was the problem getting it running correctly?

subscribed
Liftkit55 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2013, 04:05 PM   #65
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
The two major problems were in the distributor and in tank fuel pump. The distributor wires were not making good contact at the connector and the hot wire on the distributor was hooked up to a wire on the old Jeep harness that would be hot one time then it would alternate with the other three wires on that particular plug. I found a keyed on source and it worked fine. The fuel pump pressure of stock pump is wayyyyy too high. I thought I could tone it down with regulator but my carb looked like a fountain every time I tried to start it. I finally bypassed the stock pump and put in an external one from Carquest and set it at 6.5 of pressure and it cranks right up. I bought a carb rebuilt kit cause I thought floats were sticking but it was just the high pressure. I just need to do exhaust, throttle and kickdown cables and shifter and hopefully that will be it.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-22-2013, 01:55 PM   #66
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
I'm done with my swap but I've got a couple of small leaks. One is transmission fluid the other looks to be motor oil. I traced it to the oil pressure sensor. Does oil actually go thru the sensor? Because the oil is going thru sensor and coming out of pigtail coming from harness.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-22-2013, 02:15 PM   #67
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
I am using old Jeep sensor on the 350. Is oil pressure way different? I'm thinking faulty sensor.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-22-2013, 03:07 PM   #68
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,910
yeah,sounds like it is bad to me
harleydragon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-22-2013, 04:09 PM   #69
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
I'll be damned. I took it off and cleaned it up, blew on the input end and oil started seeping around the pin. Never saw that one coming. Lol.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-22-2013, 06:30 PM   #70
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
One leak down, one to go!! Now I have different problem. We went for a ride and it drove ok until I got on dirt road and the first bump I hit it shut down. It started right back up but from there on if I hit a small bump it just shut down. What could be causing that?
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-22-2013, 06:48 PM   #71
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,910
sounds like a loose connection somewhere..coil wire or something in the coils circuit would be my first guess..this could include the ground
harleydragon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-22-2013, 07:07 PM   #72
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
Thanks, I'll check it out tomorrow.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-23-2013, 09:25 PM   #73
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 207
What headers did you use?
WICruiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-23-2013, 11:11 PM   #74
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
Stock vortec 350 exhaust headers.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-23-2013, 11:13 PM   #75
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
I'm needing a drive shaft that's about 2 inches longer than stock. 95 Wrangler that had 2.5 five speed. Any driveshafts that will work? Or do I need to have mine redone?
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2013, 07:36 AM   #76
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasDemon84 View Post
I'm needing a drive shaft that's about 2 inches longer than stock. 95 Wrangler that had 2.5 five speed. Any driveshafts that will work? Or do I need to have mine redone?
there is a dude on ebay that sells new ones for about 150 bucks
harleydragon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2013, 07:50 AM   #77
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by WICruiser View Post
What headers did you use?
I like the ramhorn manifolds that are similar to the stock mid 60's corvette manifolds for several reasons
they flow nearly as good as headers
they fit close and don't cause clearance problems
they don't blow gaskets and leak
temperature under the hood will be cooler than headers
they look clean
I am presently running these on 2 jeeps with 350's.I removed the headers on both to replace them with these and notice no power difference .They did correct clearance problems and drop the under hood temp a lot
harleydragon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2013, 08:37 PM   #78
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
So I take transfer case off to check out transmission fluid leak and as soon as I pull it off I immediately know what the problem is. When you get the transmission to transfer case kit from AA you get this great big seal, well guess who forgot to install said seal onto the adapter. Dang good thing that I had just seen it a couple of days ago.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2013, 09:36 PM   #79
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 207
Not to hijack this thread but Harleydragon, do you have a preferred source for the ramhorn manifolds? I have seen several variation on E-Bay with one of the variations being the collector diameter. I think 2 1/2" is the biggest and 2 1/4 is the smaller variation. I currently have Sanderson headers that have a 3" collector but before I either make or have made the rest of the exhaust system I need to decide if I am going to stay with them. They are very tight to the block which seems like it would have some advantages but I am concerned that they are to close. Still working on getting the parts that could interfere back in place to get a better handle on it.
WICruiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2013, 08:04 AM   #80
Moderator

::WF Moderator::
 
harleydragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: south georgia
Posts: 3,910
to the best of my knowledge on the factory ramhorns,corvette was the only one to use the 2 1/2 and everything else had smaller..I use the 2 1/2 on mine and then run 2 1/2 inch pipes.You can find them on ebay for about 125 including shipping.You then need a flange and donut.The flanges I use have a 2 5/8 hole and the bolt holes measure 3 inches apart.I carry one of the manifolds to oreillys and match up a donut that has a steel sleeve that taps into the manifold.this holds it in place for easier assembly plus I think it seals better.I then get an exhaust shop to flair me 2 pieces of 2 1/2 inch pipe and build my own exhaust.The exhaust is one of the last things I do so that I can make sure of clearance everywhere.You will be happy with a set of these manifolds for all the reasons I had listed above.When I change a set of headers out I usually have to fight like hell to get them out and then these manifolds just easily fall back in.My wife put the last set in that we changed if that tells you anything...
harleydragon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2013, 07:28 PM   #81
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 207
Thanks for the additional information on the ramhorn manifolds.
WICruiser is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-07-2013, 07:09 PM   #82
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
Well after a year or so it is done. My 350 swap is done and man does it run great!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3282098894.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	169.8 KB
ID:	412321   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-631539148.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	169.0 KB
ID:	412329  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3344485818.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	180.6 KB
ID:	412337   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-311718642.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	162.0 KB
ID:	412345  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4070947635.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	172.4 KB
ID:	412353  
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-07-2013, 07:16 PM   #83
Jeeper
 
CAJUN YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Louisiana/CAJUN Country
Posts: 185
Congrats on your finished swap!! I'm getting close to being done but not quite there yet!!
Looking very nice!
__________________
This is my Gun Permit,
United States of America,
Name:Second Amendment
Issue Date:12-15-1791-Expiration Date:NEVER
*02' TJ aka-MarshBuggy, Gone but NEVER Forgotten
CAJUN YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-09-2013, 02:21 PM   #84
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Adair Co. KY
Posts: 429
Congrats man, glade to see you got it going
__________________
My 305 swap http://www.wranglerforum.com/f8/89-y...ad-256560.html
Debating a Chevy v8 swap? read this thread
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f330/ch...l#post10826122
kywaterman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-01-2013, 10:45 PM   #85
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
Thank you very much.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-03-2013, 02:30 PM   #86
Jeeper
 
myquite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 496
are you running a np231 TC?
__________________
"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering
if they've made a difference. The Marines don't
have that problem."
myquite is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-03-2013, 03:47 PM   #87
Jeeper
 
1987Wrangler YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 568
Sweet build! Im doing something similar with a Chevy 327. What is your exhaust?
1987Wrangler YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-03-2013, 09:08 PM   #88
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
Thanks. I used stock Tahoe exhaust but I had to cut y pipe about an inch to make it fit between frame. Then it goes to a stainless Magnaflow with a dump after muffler.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-03-2013, 09:10 PM   #89
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
Yes, I using stock transfer case I had the tail shaft swapped out on the 700r4 that I'm using.
TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-29-2014, 02:48 PM   #90
Jeeper
 
TexasDemon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dumas, Tx.
Posts: 80
Apparently I have hoses going to heater core not hooked up right. My water pump looks like this one. What hoses go where?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-500370532.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	715393  

TexasDemon84 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC