2006 TJ Audio System Improvement ???s - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-02-2009, 11:22 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
2006 TJ Audio System Improvement ???s

Hello.

I have a 2006 TJ with the stock casette/CD radio.
Some yeras ago I replaced the speakers in the front and in the sound bar with some better ones and it was a great improvement.
Now I want it a bit louder..

How can I connect an amplifier to the stock radio?
How can I improve the stock subwoofer in the center console?

How did you improve the stock TJ audio system? Pics?

Thanks inadvance for your help.
nicolas-eric

nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2009, 09:22 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Pshopcars107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Pshopcars107
i made my own soundbar and put in 2, 6x9 Polk Audio... they sound amazing, but you
will need an amp if you decide on 6x9's. not sure how to hook up to a factory radio.. best bet would be to get a aftermarket, as it will have better watt power anyways..

i also took out the factory subwoofer in the center storage space, and put in a Kicker 6 1/2'' Subwoofer.. that needed a bit of trimming to fit tho..
after i was all done, i was blown away by how good the setup sounded, and how much bass a little 6 1/2 sub could put out..

i'll see if i can get some pictures, im thinking of changing up my setup tho.. i need a little more bass.

Pshopcars107 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-03-2009, 09:28 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
05GT-O.C.D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,415
Too hook up an amp to the stock radio you can get what's called a Line Out Converter (LOC). It takes the speaker level inputs, and converts them to RCA's, which are the cables that normally carry signals to an amp. Another option is simply to get an amplifier which comes ready to accept both RCA's and speaker level inputs.
__________________
When my time comes, mix my ashes with gunpowder encased in brass, point me towards murderer's and pedophile's and let me fly.

(: ˇ ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
05GT-O.C.D. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2009, 11:22 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
I already replaced the speakers in the front and in the soundbar with round Sony 5" speakers. The sound is way better now.

Is such a 6.5" Kicker subwoofer really better and louder than the stock one? Can the stock amp handle a 4 Ohm subwoofer? Or should I better buy the 2 Ohm version?

I only want a bit more bass, the other speakers are ok for me. Perhaps I don´t need a new amp...
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2009, 11:26 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
How did you connect the Kicker subwoofer to the stock amp?

IMO this Kicker sub has only a single cone. Ans I saw 4 cables at the stock sub.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2009, 11:28 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
05GT-O.C.D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolas-eric View Post
I already replaced the speakers in the front and in the soundbar with round Sony 5" speakers. The sound is way better now.

Is such a 6.5" Kicker subwoofer really better and louder than the stock one? Can the stock amp handle a 4 Ohm subwoofer? Or should I better buy the 2 Ohm version?

I only want a bit more bass, the other speakers are ok for me. Perhaps I don´t need a new amp...
In order to determine if an aftermarket sub would be louder than stock, you would need to know the stock sub's sensitivity rating. (how much volume it produces w/ a certain amount of power) You would then have to make sure that the aftermarket speaker was more 'sensitive'. I doubt you'll be able to get enough more volume from the stock amp to make it worth replacing just the speaker. I don't know about the ohm thing, so I'll let someone else give you some advice there.
__________________
When my time comes, mix my ashes with gunpowder encased in brass, point me towards murderer's and pedophile's and let me fly.

(: ˇ ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
05GT-O.C.D. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2009, 12:50 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
abw0004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auburn University and Alpharetta, Ga
Posts: 257
If I were you I would just leave the woofer in the center console alone and but a sub woofer in the back. You can fit all the way up to a twelve back there and it sounds great.
I also put in a new head unit and I am very happy with it. I am a musician and I have to have good sound and that was the best way to do it.
abw0004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2009, 01:00 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
I don´t have room for a woofer in the rear. There are all my tools and recovery straps.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2009, 04:21 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Pshopcars107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Pshopcars107
The kicker is probably 10 times better quality and better bass... i put in my 6x9's and new head unit.. the factory sub could not compete...

i have an aftermarket 4 channel amp.. 1 and 2 channels power my 6x9's.. then i bridged channels 3 and 4 to the subwoofer..
The difference is amazing.
Pshopcars107 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-04-2009, 04:31 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Where did you install the amp? Pics?

I don´t want to mount it under the seat. I often drive through deep water and don´t want a damaged amp every time a bit water was inside the Jeep.

I could have a friends used JBL 5-channel amp for only few $$$.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-05-2009, 03:21 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Pshopcars107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Pshopcars107
thats where i had to mount mine.. under the back seat.. i don't like having everything in the open for anyone to see it..

your pretty limited on where to mount the amp.. you might be able to get away with the passenger side area.. above where there feet rest?.. not really sure..

or make a new sound bar with some bigger speakers.. and the amp in the center

all in how much work you want for yourself haha..
Pshopcars107 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-06-2009, 12:27 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
abw0004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auburn University and Alpharetta, Ga
Posts: 257
I put my straps under the driver's seat and my amp under my rear seat. I made sure it was as close to the front of the seat so air could get to it. You can still put a sub in the back so yeah...
abw0004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 08:27 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Can I install some bigger speakers in the stock sound bar?

And does a bigger subwoofer fit into the center console? Perhaps 8" instead of 6.5"?
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 09:38 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
05GT-O.C.D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolas-eric View Post
Can I install some bigger speakers in the stock sound bar?

And does a bigger subwoofer fit into the center console? Perhaps 8" instead of 6.5"?
Measure the mounting depth, but yes 6.5" speakers will fit in the sound bar.

I didn't know the factory sub was only 6.5". No wonder you're not happy with it...

... alright, that came out wrong. I'm just saying that a 6.5" "sub" isn't going to get the job done too well.
__________________
When my time comes, mix my ashes with gunpowder encased in brass, point me towards murderer's and pedophile's and let me fly.

(: ˇ ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
05GT-O.C.D. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 09:50 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
6.5" speakers will fit in the sound bar? That's great!

And what´s about a 8" subwoofer?

I could get 6.5" speakers and a 8" subbwoofer from a friend for only a few beers...

http://www.car-hifi-styling.de/catal...0Neo%2025S.jpg
http://www.car-hifi-styling.de/catal...0Sinuslive.jpg


Do you know how much room I have under the rear seat in my 06 TJ? Does a 2 1/4" high amplifier fit there?
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 10:41 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
05GT-O.C.D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,415
Don't know about the sub since I've never seen the inside of a factory sub console.

I always put my amps under the back seat. There's more clearance towards the front of the seat than the back.
__________________
When my time comes, mix my ashes with gunpowder encased in brass, point me towards murderer's and pedophile's and let me fly.

(: ˇ ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
05GT-O.C.D. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 10:49 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Will a 11 1/2" x 16" x 2 1/4" amplifier fit there?
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 10:57 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
05GT-O.C.D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,415
I dunno without measuring, and I don't have the stock back seat in my Jeep.
__________________
When my time comes, mix my ashes with gunpowder encased in brass, point me towards murderer's and pedophile's and let me fly.

(: ˇ ɹǝʌo ǝɯ 11oɹ ...sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ uɐɔ noʎ ɟı
05GT-O.C.D. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 11:00 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Ok. Tomorrow I have my TJ back. Then I ca measure that.
I could also get a used 4x 75W / 1x 150W RMS amplifier for only 30 Euros.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 11:22 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Apocalypticsurf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 57
Images: 3
Keep in mind amps produce a lot of heat and work better with proper ventilation, if you can fit them under the rear seat that's great but if its too tight a fit they will probably overheat, especially if they are on the cheaper side. If they have a few inches to spare I wouldn't worry too much but also consider getting the interior wet either in the rain or water treading, they would be right in the line of fire. Mounting them to the back of the rear seat or if you have an insta-trunk or a custom version of that you can mount them to that. Just don't mount the amps upside down, that would cause all the heat they produce to sit right in the amp and never go anywhere. hope this helps!
Apocalypticsurf6 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 11:24 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
The only place where I could install an amp is under the rear seat.
The instatrunk is full with all my tools.

Perhaps I can raise the rear seat a bit with some spacers for a better air circulation.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 11:30 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Apocalypticsurf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 57
Images: 3
That's definitely an idea, I had thought of that myself, would give the people in the rear seat a better view too, like a safari!! If you go under the seat I would just recommend raising the amps off the floor a bit so in the case of water it can just wash under them instead of into them. This can be done easily with some small diameter plastic tubing, just cut little segments off as long as you want them and use some long screws. It will also improve ventilation greatly.
Apocalypticsurf6 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2009, 11:39 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
I´ll think about that. And I hope that there is enough room under the seat and I don´t have to raise it.

Now I only have to know if a 8" subwoofer fits in the stock center console.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-20-2009, 08:44 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
I just ordered some things...my parents X-Mas gift for me.

4x 75W RMS / 1x 200W RMS amplifier - Impulse SD-700 1000 watts 5 Channel Amplifier Ł248.00 Discount Car Audio UK: DVB Car Audio UK Online Entertainment Store
8" HX 08 SQ subwoofer - HX Line
5.25" MX 130 Plus speakers for the front - CX MX Line
6.5" MXc 165 speakers for the soundbar - CX MX Line

I hope that it will be way better/louder with that.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-26-2009, 08:29 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
boomer27127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Washington
Posts: 63
I know its a little late but i just saw this on another site and thought it was a good way to mount an amp and keep it out of the way. The only bad thing about it is that you kinda have to stick to a alpine amp or find one the same size.

TJ/LJ Amp Mount
boomer27127 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-26-2009, 10:00 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,851
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
Thanks.
But my amp i way bigger and more powerful.
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 04:08 PM   #27
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
yes a 8" sub will fit in the console i replaced my original after it busted with a Memphis 8" and couldnt be happier it will be a tight fit and u will have to drill new holes for the sub to screw into but it wasnt that bad to put in. I replace my overhead sound bar with 6 1/2 from walmart for only $20 and you can relaly tell how much better it sounds. I still want to install an sub in the trunk and was going to put a amp under the seats but if u still want more sound rather than bass i installed some BOSE surrond sound speakers on my rollbar and they make a difference hope that was helpfull

jeeperzcreeper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pyle audio system? mxnjeep390 Communications and Electronics 8 11-28-2009 10:43 AM
Info on a Hydrogen System (with pictures) simpsonsdotcom TJ General Discussion Forum 3 04-03-2009 08:46 PM
YO Wheeling Fall 2006 jeeptales On The Trail 0 03-03-2006 12:11 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC