2012-13 Wrangler Aftermarket Stereo Install Write-up - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-21-2013, 10:27 AM   #31
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by gleek View Post
Have you guys replaced the stereo on a 2013 with the factory Alpine system?

I talked to the guys at Crutchfield and they say that no one makes a harness that mates up to this new system yet and that the steering wheel controls don't work.

They say that the 2012 system (infinity) was a totally different system. Is this true?
I have a 2013 with the Alpine System and replaced the factory HU using the posts on this page for instructions. If you have basic stereo replacement knowledge, you should be able to do this with little problems. I would recommend using the Harnesses listed in the first post from Eboven on this thread rather than others stated in lower posts. All of the wires are pretty much color matched from the Modules Harness to the Aftermarket HU Harness and is Plug and Play with the vehicle harness. I went with a Kenwood HU and were not able to retain the voice or phone controls on the steering wheel, but I found that the Model HU does not support those options. The volume, band, and seek functions all work flawlessly. Sound wise, changing the HU made a big difference but the Dash and Sound Bar speakers will need to be replaced eventually to get better response. Hope this helps and good luck.

BilletJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 02:24 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
cherokee980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tomball Texas
Posts: 2,817
ok, I I just bought a '13 rubicon with alpine system...no nav, I want to add an aftermarket amp and change to my 2 - 12" polks...what the heck do I need? I plan on keeping factory HU

__________________
my luck is so bad, It could be raining tits and I would get hit in the head with a dick!
cherokee980 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 02:29 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by gleek View Post
Have you guys replaced the stereo on a 2013 with the factory Alpine system?

I talked to the guys at Crutchfield and they say that no one makes a harness that mates up to this new system yet and that the steering wheel controls don't work.

They say that the 2012 system (infinity) was a totally different system. Is this true?
I used a PAC harness with my '13 running Alpine premium audio and had no issues (beyond the normal loss of fade etc). I have seen a couple of posts suggesting that a more recent firmware build might cause problems.
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 04:58 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
gleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by BilletJK View Post

I have a 2013 with the Alpine System and replaced the factory HU using the posts on this page for instructions. If you have basic stereo replacement knowledge, you should be able to do this with little problems. I would recommend using the Harnesses listed in the first post from Eboven on this thread rather than others stated in lower posts. All of the wires are pretty much color matched from the Modules Harness to the Aftermarket HU Harness and is Plug and Play with the vehicle harness. I went with a Kenwood HU and were not able to retain the voice or phone controls on the steering wheel, but I found that the Model HU does not support those options. The volume, band, and seek functions all work flawlessly. Sound wise, changing the HU made a big difference but the Dash and Sound Bar speakers will need to be replaced eventually to get better response. Hope this helps and good luck.
It sounds like you kept the factory amp.

I want to replace all of the electronics (Head Unit and amps) , take out the factory amp and was wondering if I still need all of these harnesses?

I would think I would only need the steering wheel control harness. I heard though that acc power and other power related functions would be tough to work without some harness.
gleek is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 06:54 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 346
Crutchfield is wrong. I have a 2013 with the so-called Alpine and used the PAC RP4 - CH11. I have all the steering wheel controls. I put in an aftermarket HU, amps and speakers.
Mattk11 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-21-2013, 07:53 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
gleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattk11 View Post
Crutchfield is wrong. I have a 2013 with the so-called Alpine and used the PAC RP4 - CH11. I have all the steering wheel controls. I put in an aftermarket HU, amps and speakers.
Matt-

It looks like the PAC RP4-CH11 does what these two devices do (from the OP's thread):

Wire Harness - Axxess CHTO-013BB ($139.99) - Retains factory amp and creates Retained Accessory Power for your new radio.

Steering Wheel Control Module - Axxess ASWC ($109.99) - retains factory steering wheel controls with your new radio

I wonder which combo works better. It looks like you lose fading capability and Uconnect with the PAC.
gleek is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 11:05 AM   #37
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 619
I don't mess with wires. Just can't get things hooked up...properly. :-(
I need to find someone to hook-up my new stereo so everything works (u connect, sirius) and the steering wheel controls too. Anyone know how does the best job at this? I live in Idaho, but going to Montana and Washington next month.
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 11:12 AM   #38
Jeeper
 
st1264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Windsor, ON (near Detroit)
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
I don't mess with wires. Just can't get things hooked up...properly. :-(
I need to find someone to hook-up my new stereo so everything works (u connect, sirius) and the steering wheel controls too. Anyone know how does the best job at this? I live in Idaho, but going to Montana and Washington next month.
I'm in the same boat as you. Always paid for installs... I checked the price on a double din install locally and almost dropped a load in my pants. Told this to a couple friends and one of them told me he'd put it in for free if I bought one. Turns out he used to be huge into car audio and has done complete systems. The HU install is supposed to be pretty simple so I won't be paying some idiot to do it. My friend will help me do it myself (or mostly he'll do it ). Guys with no experience have been using these write-ups have retained all the functions.
st1264 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 12:31 PM   #39
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by st1264 View Post
I'm in the same boat as you. Always paid for installs... I checked the price on a double din install locally and almost dropped a load in my pants. Told this to a couple friends and one of them told me he'd put it in for free if I bought one. Turns out he used to be huge into car audio and has done complete systems. The HU install is supposed to be pretty simple so I won't be paying some idiot to do it. My friend will help me do it myself (or mostly he'll do it ). Guys with no experience have been using these write-ups have retained all the functions.
Lucky you! I need smarter friends. LOL
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 07:10 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by gleek View Post
It sounds like you kept the factory amp.

I want to replace all of the electronics (Head Unit and amps) , take out the factory amp and was wondering if I still need all of these harnesses?

I would think I would only need the steering wheel control harness. I heard though that acc power and other power related functions would be tough to work without some harness.
Technically, if you are replacing all the components of the factory audio system, you don't need the main CHTO module/harness. You will need to find an accessory switched power source, as there is none on the radio's harness and you don't have the module to create it. You *should* be able to use the ASWC module still - it has a hardwired option for most vehicles, though it is possible (but not likely) that the steering wheel controls go dead if the radio module isn't there.

Ignore all the factory speaker wiring and run all new stuff from your new amp to each new speaker. Use RCA's to bring the signal from your aftermarket headunit to your amp... all that together and done correctly will provide you with better sound than you may have thought possible in a Jeep!
eboven is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 07:13 PM   #41
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherokee980 View Post
ok, I I just bought a '13 rubicon with alpine system...no nav, I want to add an aftermarket amp and change to my 2 - 12" polks...what the heck do I need? I plan on keeping factory HU
What kind of amp are you looking to add? Just for the new subwoofers? For all speakers?
eboven is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 10:02 PM   #42
Jeeper
 
jeepedjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 365
idk if this helps anyone but if you run stock HU but want to run an aftermarket amp you would need a signal summing device.

I have a 2013 JKUR with the alpine. I took all stock crap out and replaced with kicker DS and a JBL 8" sub. I kept the stock HU and ran the HU to a audio control LC8 then to a alpine PDX 5 amplifier. I mounted the amp under the driver seat via a bracket I engineered.


after listening to it more and more I really just want to find a near factory looking HU and replace it. The stock one has to many limitations do to the fact that I had to keep the stock amp and then run it to my lc8 and then amp to get the full signal.


If you want to see my bracket check it out pm me with any questions .

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/und...ts-231472.html
jeepedjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2013, 11:23 PM   #43
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 346
.
Mattk11 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2013, 08:41 PM   #44
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brownsville,Texas
Posts: 10
Thumbs up

Nice
__________________
*CHRISTINA*
jeepgirl28 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2013, 05:14 AM   #45
Jeeper
 
jeepedjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 365
Thanks !
jeepedjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-07-2013, 09:00 PM   #46
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5
How would the install differ for a 2013 JKU with just the basic 130 HU and 6 speaker system (lowest configuration - what I bought)? I'm guessing I'd need the ASWC-1 and that I could still use the CHTO to provide RAP (I see them on e-bay for $20). Is there a separate amp in this config, or does the basic 130 HU wire directly to the speakers? Guess I should crawl under the dash and look around...
jryana6e is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-07-2013, 09:08 PM   #47
Jeeper
 
st1264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Windsor, ON (near Detroit)
Posts: 1,271
^^^ No amp in the base system.
st1264 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-07-2013, 09:45 PM   #48
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5
Thanks.
jryana6e is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-21-2013, 04:56 PM   #49
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
This tutorial is fantastic. One question I still have is whether you were able to retain the functionality of answering calls using the steering wheel button. I am leaning towards the Kenwood DNX890 HD but would be willing to get the new 990 model if that functionality could be retained. I would greatly appreciate your thoughts.
jfourn23 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-21-2013, 07:33 PM   #50
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 136
what was needed as far as trimming the factory radio bracket?
__________________
2004 IBM GTO (600rwhp) SOLD
2003 10th Anniversary KB Cobra (620rwhp) SOLD
2011 Harley Davidson FLHXSE2 SOLD
2009 Pontiac G8 GXP! Trade in...I'm sick
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 10th Anniversary
10Anvil is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-21-2013, 08:48 PM   #51
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfourn23 View Post
This tutorial is fantastic. One question I still have is whether you were able to retain the functionality of answering calls using the steering wheel button. I am leaning towards the Kenwood DNX890 HD but would be willing to get the new 990 model if that functionality could be retained. I would greatly appreciate your thoughts.
My phone button answers and ends calls with my aftermarket Pioneer systems and also worked with my previous Kenwood using the PAC adapter. The button with the face/lines coming out of the mouth Attenuates the stereo (turns it down) if you want to talk to people in the Jeep while you are driving but don't want to completely mute.
Mattk11 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 05:42 AM   #52
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboven View Post
Technically, if you are replacing all the components of the factory audio system, you don't need the main CHTO module/harness.

What about the Sirius antenna? Isn't that ran through the factory harness?
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 10:34 AM   #53
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
What about the Sirius antenna? Isn't that ran through the factory harness?
I would still recommend using the harness, not for Sirius but because it means you don't have to go tapping into wires for switched power, parking brake etc. It's much easier just to wire up a harness to the new head unit and plug it in, and it means that if you want to return to stock when you sell the vehicle (which I would recommend, as you never get value for your aftermarket upgrades and sometimes they can lower the value of the vehicle) it's simply a matter of unplugging the harness and plugging the old one back in.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 11:19 AM   #54
Jeeper
 
wassup8687's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
What about the Sirius antenna? Isn't that ran through the factory harness?
The Sirius antenna is not in the factory harness. It's a separate cable with plug.
wassup8687 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 10:20 PM   #55
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by wassup8687 View Post
The Sirius antenna is not in the factory harness. It's a separate cable with plug.

So, do I have to buy another Sirius tuner, if my aftermarket HU is Sirius ready?

Can I just plug the existing factory installed Sirius Antenna in and be good to go?
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 05:37 AM   #56
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post

So, do I have to buy another Sirius tuner, if my aftermarket HU is Sirius ready?

Can I just plug the existing factory installed Sirius Antenna in and be good to go?
You will need to add a Sirius tuner that plugs into your head unit. Look to see what model tuner you need but most are universal. My tuner was virtually free because it had a rebate and I was able to keep it from my old Kenwood and use it with my new Pioneer. The factory antenna will work, but you may need to remove the little plastic connector that is just snapped around the metal plug in. I taped mine down to have a secure connection.
Mattk11 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 05:59 AM   #57
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattk11 View Post
You will need to add a Sirius tuner that plugs into your head unit. Look to see what model tuner you need but most are universal. My tuner was virtually free because it had a rebate and I was able to keep it from my old Kenwood and use it with my new Pioneer. The factory antenna will work, but you may need to remove the little plastic connector that is just snapped around the metal plug in. I taped mine down to have a secure connection.


That sucks. I don't understand why they say something is "Sirius ready" if its really not.

And if I really need one, I'll need the SVX200V1. It's $40 on Amazon, but still... its the point.

How does the factory HU work? proprietary built in Sirius tuner?
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 12:57 PM   #58
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
That sucks. I don't understand why they say something is "Sirius ready" if its really not.

And if I really need one, I'll need the SVX200V1. It's $40 on Amazon, but still... its the point.

How does the factory HU work? proprietary built in Sirius tuner?
The factory HU has it built in. The terminology you find on head units these days are "ready" which means that it has buttons or software that is ready to have the hardware plugged in. Gives the user an interface rather than having a new screen that plugs into your cig lighter for example. "Built in" is obvious and has the functionality and hardware built into the unit. It still may require an antenna for example, but the reciever is built in.

The factory antenna will not work with any aftermarket unit, just FYI from what ive read and found.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 11:42 PM   #59
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Need Help

I just had a kenwood dnn770hd installed in my 2013 jeep sport unlimited. The Best Buy install expert said the double din could not fit flush, so the dash panel on the passenger side sticks out 1/2 inch, which looked horrible. I had him put my OEM 130N back in (he messed my dash up, as my radio is no longer flush on bottom and is now on a slight angle to the driver side). He told me I would need to order a new dash panel if I want to install 2-DIN aftermarket radio, which seems crazy. Did you have this problem? I see you removed/filed certain braces...is that what he should have done? Any advice, as I am a novice (my first mistake was probably having Best Buy install).
2013JKCherry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 11:45 PM   #60
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Aw hell naw. I'd be chewing best buys @$$ so hard....

__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
2013 radio , factory amp , navigation , steering wheel controls

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC