2013 JKU Alpine but no Sirius - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-05-2013, 11:30 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
2013 JKU Alpine but no Sirius

Hi All. Probably will buy a new 2013 Gecko JKU with Alpine but no Sirius. Also no connectivity. BUT I WANT THE FACTORY 130 HU WITH ALPINE AND SIRIUS! Since I also want Gecko, I am limited by the very limited stock out there now. Dealer said if I simply buy the 130 HU off eBay and the Sirius antenna, it might not work since the VIN is hardcoded into each radio. Is this true? Can't I "plug and play" the factory HU from some other Wranger owner who didn't want the factory unit? Also, don't I need to find a HU that had Alpine and Sirius? I don't know if the Alpine and non-Alpine HUs are the same. Thanks.

sfpopp is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:52 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
I think you might be getting a bit confused here, I don't think that any of the head units are made by Alpine - they're mostly manufactured by Mitsubishi, as far as I'm aware. Alpine make the speakers and amps used in Jeeps.

As I understand it your dealer is correct in that the head unit is coded to the VIN, but I believe that they are able to reflash it. I would make it a condition of purchase that they agree to install and configure a replacement radio.

__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:20 PM   #3
Jag
Jeeper
 
Jag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 338
As woansleftpeg mentioned, there aren't any Alpine head units available through Chrysler. The Alpine audio package adds a different amplifier and speakers on top of whatever head unit already in the Jeep. As an example, my Jeep came with the 130 head unit, Alpine speakers/amp, and Sirius.

Many people trade out factory head units after the fact, often a 130 unit for a 430 or better. I don't know of anyone who ran in to issues with a VIN lockout.
Jag is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:54 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks for the replies. I guess I wasn't clear. The JKU I am looking at has the Alpine $395 upgraded system (with Subwoofer), but does not have the $195 Sirius option. I want Sirius. So my plan was to buy a used HU from another Wrangler that has Sirius and just swap my HU. I know I have to add the Sirius antenna. Is it that simple? The dealer said I might need the 4 digit security code. Are the head units the same with or with Alpine upgrade? They look the same.
sfpopp is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 03:32 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,238
You only need the antenna. Sirius is built in to the radios.
The vin code is if you buy a used head unit from someone. They would need to give their vin and the radio serial number to the dealer to get the code for it.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 03:45 PM   #6
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 685
^ Not all 130 HU have Sirius built in. I have one FS with Sirius that was just taken out of a 2013 Jeep Wrangler Sport purchased on Feb. 28th. They are 'plug-n-play' and do not need a code.
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 04:03 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Great laollis, thanks!! That's what I thought too. So does the premium sound (Alpine) matter? Is the HU the same with or without Alpine? Will any Sirius antenna from 07+ work? I just have to plug that into the yellow outlet in back and fish the wire up to the rollbar?
sfpopp is offline   Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:52 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfpopp View Post
Great laollis, thanks!! That's what I thought too. So does the premium sound (Alpine) matter? Is the HU the same with or without Alpine? Will any Sirius antenna from 07+ work? I just have to plug that into the yellow outlet in back and fish the wire up to the rollbar?
The OEM head units are the same in many Chrysler products and definitely from Jeep to Jeep. You may need to add an antenna and have the dealer flash you system. In some cases you may need the code. I just basically gave away my OEM Sirius head unit on eBay for the price of shipping.
Mattk11 is offline   Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 08:56 AM   #9
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 685
Dealers don't always know! They just think they do. I swapped out my HU and the dealer told me twice it wasn't going to work. I told him, unplug the old one, plug in the new one, and walk away. Instantly it worked. Ah...go figure. I did a lot of Googling on the Chrysler Head Units. SAT antennas (not the 'car' roof models) are not in/on the rollbar, they are atop the HU inside dash hidden with double back tape.
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:04 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,238
You may want to re-google that. Jeeps sat antenna is for radio and GPS and is stock mounted in the roll bar regardless of the head unit.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:22 AM   #11
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoreyZ View Post
You may want to re-google that. Jeeps sat antenna is for radio and GPS and is stock mounted in the roll bar regardless of the head unit.
You may want to open your dash and look. The new 2013 antennas are one and is located on the top of the deck with double back tape.
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:51 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
st1264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Windsor, ON (near Detroit)
Posts: 1,306
When I swap my HU for an aftermarket one... is there a market to sell my 130 with Connectivity/active Sirius subscription? I don't listen to Sirius or use Bluetooth and want to put something better in there.

Would someone buy this, if so, how much is it worth (same unit as posted in the pic above).

__________________
Save ammo for the Zombie invasion!

13' JKU Sport S, Black
st1264 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC