2013 Wranger Unlimited Satellite Radio Issues - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-27-2012, 02:00 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Angry 2013 Wranger Unlimited Satellite Radio Issues

Please help! Is anyone else having issues with radio reception for Sirius? My brand new Jeep just spent two days at the garage being torn apart for them to install a new antenna basically. Still no better, actually I think the problem is now worse! I'm used to sirius and know the drawbacks in tunnels, under overpasses and where tall buildings are, causing poor reception. But problem is constant, in and out. Sometimes it comes in for a while and then gone again! Wondering if anyone else has experienced this? My dealer is trying to "investigate" the problem. If like most service providers...that means very little!!!

2013JeepLADY is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-28-2012, 07:23 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,421
Had the same problem and called Sirius. They said they would send a signal to update the radio, took about 10-15 minutes, works fine now. If none of that works, it could be a bad radio.

bbtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-28-2012, 05:08 PM   #3
KMG 365

WF Supporting Member
 
Sccafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 92 miles from the Rubicon Trail
Posts: 710
I was going to say the same thing. I have Sirius in my Dodge Ram. I thought I had issues with Sirius cennectivity and took it to the dealer to get fixed under warranty. They basically told me nothing was wrong with the radio and even accused me of not paying the bill for Sirius. It is automaticly deducted frm my account, so I knew that wasn't the issue. I got home and called Sirius. They resent the signal and has been good for 3+ years. When I called them, Sirius said that sometimes updates do not work correectly and just need to be resent.

If you set-up an account with Sirius thru their website, you can resend the signal yourself. Before you do that just make sure the Jeep is parked where their is no chance of the signal being blocked.
__________________
Scott
Sccafire is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-29-2012, 08:09 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,421
One thing I forgot, is you have to leave the radio on, while they send the signal.
bbtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-29-2012, 08:57 PM   #5
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,573
Images: 13
I lost a bunch of channels today....not sure why.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-30-2012, 07:00 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,421
Probably

Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
I lost a bunch of channels today....not sure why.
Sirius probably did an update. It happens sometimes, when they update the channels.
bbtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2012, 06:49 AM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
I'll try that....thanks...cross your fingers. The new Jeep has already been stripped apart once, now they want to take out the radio on Wednesday. I'd like to prevent that if I can!
2013JeepLADY is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-21-2012, 10:28 AM   #8
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Does the signal re-send fix the terrible sound quality? It sucks! Sounds like a tin can when everything else sounds beautiful. Must be their digital compression...
dbrotherton is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-21-2012, 11:05 AM   #9
KMG 365

WF Supporting Member
 
Sccafire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 92 miles from the Rubicon Trail
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013JeepLADY View Post
I'll try that....thanks...cross your fingers. The new Jeep has already been stripped apart once, now they want to take out the radio on Wednesday. I'd like to prevent that if I can!
Did resending the signal work?
__________________
Scott
Sccafire is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-21-2012, 03:00 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,421
Don't Know

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrotherton View Post
Does the signal re-send fix the terrible sound quality? It sucks! Sounds like a tin can when everything else sounds beautiful. Must be their digital compression...
I don't know, it might. You might as well give it a try, it doesn't cost anything, and it can't hurt.
bbtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-27-2012, 07:13 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
george412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Images: 2
I haven't had any issues with my Sirius, but I have horrible FM reception and that is even after they replaced the radio and tested the antenna. The dealer and Jeep decided that there is nothing else they can nor will do. So Jeep is sending me a check for 400 for the time I spent at the dealership.
george412 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-27-2012, 08:59 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 641
Just in case anyone else runs into this, there is no need to call SiriusXM to resend the signal - this link will direct you to their website where you can enter your radio ID and they will refresh the activation signal.
eboven is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-06-2013, 09:23 AM   #13
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Hi! Does anybody know if the sattelite radio will work in the midle east? Thanks
Kikoamaya is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-06-2013, 09:55 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,421
I don't believe that Sirius does, but you can check on their website. There is a company called WorldSpace Radio that does broadcast in the Middle East.
bbtj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2013, 12:23 AM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks a lot
Kikoamaya is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2013, 09:34 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kikoamaya View Post
Hi! Does anybody know if the sattelite radio will work in the midle east? Thanks
SirusXM is only available within 200 miles of the continental US.

eboven is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC