Adding an amp to 130n? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-05-2012, 01:22 PM   #1
Because I Can

WF Supporting Member
 
TommyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buchanan Mi
Posts: 250
Adding an amp to 130n?

I have the stock 130N radio with serius. I don't have enough volume. I don't really want to change the head unit so is there an amp that I can install that doesn't involve cutting into the stock harness. I guess that I am looking for pretty much plug and play. Does it exist. Thanks

__________________
Proud USAF dad! 2011 Cosmos Blue Sport
"The best we can hope for concerning the people is that they be properly armed" ALEXANDER HAMILTON
TommyT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 01:29 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, LA
Posts: 39
Yes and no, several mobile audio manufactures make signal processors to clean the input from stock units prior to amplification, these would be the best option for "plug and play."

licensedtwochill is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 02:03 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Mr. Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 319
Look at the Audio Control EQS, LC6i, or DQL-8, depending on what you're trying to accomplish. Each of these will clean up the high-level output from your 130 before feeding out to the amp(s).
__________________
You know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says, "You know that thing you just did? Donít do that."
- Douglas Adams
Mr. Fish is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 08:44 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 796
There are a couple of threads about a plug and play direct amp swap to replace the one under the dash. But your still limited in the signal coming from the HU. If you don't want to replace the HU, you can go with an Audio Control device as listed but then you have to re-tap into the speakers at some point - or go new speakers.

Really you should consider a new HU and all new speakers/amp. Just my opinion.
__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2012, 01:33 PM   #5
Because I Can

WF Supporting Member
 
TommyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buchanan Mi
Posts: 250
Thanks for the replies, have already upgraded speakers. Will look into these options as well as new HU. Again, thanks.
__________________
Proud USAF dad! 2011 Cosmos Blue Sport
"The best we can hope for concerning the people is that they be properly armed" ALEXANDER HAMILTON
TommyT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.



Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC