after changing car battery radio won't work - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-02-2012, 12:22 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
after changing car battery radio won't work

Since my stock battery gave out on me i had no choice but to change. After changing everything seems well except for the radio headunit. It wont turn on. Any idea? Thanks

zagu is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:34 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,668
check the fuses is the only thing I can think of.

bbtj is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:48 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
jefferyfghezzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SANDUSKY OHIO
Posts: 638
Is there a wire that was left off thr battery?
jefferyfghezzi is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:42 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
I'm thinking fuse also...

now the next thing would be how do i get to the fuse box this is so hard... haha

as for wires on the battery i did not remove any other wire except the positive/negative to change the battery other than that did not do anything else.
zagu is offline   Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:28 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
okay just checked the fuse M10 (15amp) no problem whatsoever the contacts are still in place.

any other ideas?
zagu is offline   Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:27 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,668
The only other thing I got is to check the wiring, make sure it is all connected properly.
bbtj is offline   Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 10:41 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
bbtj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 1,668
You might also want to check and make sure that there aren't any other fuses, such as an in-line fuse.
bbtj is offline   Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 10:13 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Dianeakamommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outside Boston
Posts: 357
What was the problem? I had mine jumped at my kids school and now nothing. Fuses where also fine.
Dianeakamommy is offline   Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 02:27 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
anyone can help me on this. checked the fuse using a tester and its all good... as for the wiring how do i check if a wire got disconnected? i never touch any wires tho. Thanks
zagu is offline   Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 02:49 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 673
There are multiple fuses that will affect the power to the radio. Check each individual fuse in the Jeep just to be sure - one fusebox behind the glovebox, and one under the hood in front of the battery.
eboven is offline   Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:01 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
how do i open the fuse box behind the glove box? any idea? thanks been searching the net and cant find anything about it
zagu is offline   Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:41 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 828
The fuse box behind the glove box is "open." Open the glove now and remove it (slide the retaining strap out and lift the GB out.) The fuse box is mounted to the firewall behind th glove box amid has no cover.
Iceman is offline   Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 12:07 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
i opened my glove box and remove "it" check inside i dont see any fuse or anything. i took pictures i will post it also so you guys could see and help me.
i have a 2010 jeep wrangler JK (unlimited rubicon)

im really frustrated already having no sounds for the past 3-4 months is killing me









zagu is offline   Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 12:38 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
im starting to think the head unit (radio) is the one that is busted but i want to make sure also... tho i dont know why it happened without the fuse being busted...
zagu is offline   Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 10:30 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 828
My apologies there is a us box there In a tj, didn't realize you were working on a jk. If you have a test light or multimeter c yo contest for voltage at the radio wiring connector. With the jeep on you should have 2 pos 12 volt wires.

Iceman is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
battery , radio

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC