Amp questions - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-04-2010, 04:14 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Amp questions

i've got a 800 watt max 400 watt rms 4 ohm sub...
what amp do i need to power it? (wattage, ohm, class)
also what wiring do i need?

97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:18 PM   #2
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,393
I'd use a 600 watt class a/b 2 channel amp. Get one that puts out 600 at 4 ohm bridge and you will be good shape.

Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:24 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
is it a duel voice coil or a single voice coil?

if its a single voice coil look for a mono amp that is stable at 4 ohms at 400watts.

if its a duel voice coil you can wire the sub in parallel and it will run at 2 ohms, on that case look for a mono amp that has 400 watts at 2 ohms.

as for wiring an 8 gauge wire kit will do the job, just remember to run the rca's on once side of the jeep and the power wire on the other. if they are on the same side you may get a fuzzy or buzz sound
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:24 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Se7endust1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 142
whatever route you take, be sure to do this: How to Set the Gain on a Car Amplifier | eHow.com

you can also do it with a multimeter but that route may be a little too much... the above link keeps it simple.

pick up a 10 gauge amp wiring kit by stinger or similar brand. Don't skimp on the wiring!
Se7endust1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:26 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
can you explain what wiring in parellel is?
97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:27 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Se7endust1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97tj-king View Post
can you explain what wiring in parellel is?
plenty of reading here:
JL Audio - Car Audio Systems
Se7endust1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:29 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
with a duel voice coil you have two options on wiring, the first is parallel and the other is series. wired in parallel will cut the ohms in half, and wiring on series doubles the ohms.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:31 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
so would wiring in parellel be a smarter choice?
97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:32 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
yeah
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:40 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Se7endust1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jma20a View Post
yeah
agreed... you can squeeze more power out of the amp. make sure the amp is stable down to that ohm though while bridged though (ie "x 1 channel")
Se7endust1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:42 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
^there is no need for a 2 channel amp, a mono class d amp would be the better amp.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:43 PM   #12
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,393
Captain jump to conclusion....

He hasn't even said if its dual yet lol
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:45 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Se7endust1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jma20a View Post
^there is no need for a 2 channel amp, a mono class d amp would be the better amp.

also true, but $$-wise; might come across a reasonably priced A/B amp vs. a mono D.... I dunno what kinda budget the OP is workin with. Somethin to keep in mind anyway
Se7endust1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 04:45 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
thanks for your guys's help, i might be swapping around some stuff with my brother so don't be surprised if i need some more help haha i am clueless with this audio stuff.
97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2010, 07:26 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
can i get a 4 ohms: 500 watts x 1 chan class d amp and just not have it running full power?
97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 09:57 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Se7endust1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97tj-king View Post
can i get a 4 ohms: 500 watts x 1 chan class d amp and just not have it running full power?
is your sub a dvc or svc? if it's dual, there will be 2 pairs of + & -, if it's just single there will be a + & -... also tell us any ohm rating printed on the sub as well
Se7endust1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 11:44 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
^not true with all subs, audiobahn has a set of terminals on each side on their dvc and svc
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 03:55 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
it's a dvc 4ohm
97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 03:58 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Se7endust1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97tj-king View Post
it's a dvc 4ohm
you'll want to look for an amp that's 2 ohm stable bridged... 400-500 watts x 1 @ 2 ohms... then you'll be wiring it up in parallel like how it was discussed earlier.
Se7endust1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:34 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
^there is no need what so ever to get a multi channel amp.

you can get a mono class a/b amp that is 2 ohm stable at 400-500rms watts. to wire the sub in parallel to bring it to a 2 ohm load just wire the positive to positive and negative to negative.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:35 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
okay so say i have a mono block class d amp that i know is 500 watts.......
but i am unaware of any other of it's specs such as ohm and all that...
how can i find out the ohm rating and the other info i would want to know?
97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:39 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
go to the amp manufacturer's website and find out what its specs are.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:41 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Se7endust1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jma20a View Post
^there is no need what so ever to get a multi channel amp.
are you gonna pay the price difference for this guy for a class D amp vs. an A or B?
Se7endust1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:45 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
he just posted up that he has a class d amp but only knows that its rated a 500watts
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:47 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
JL audio 500/1 mono-block subwoofer amp(the one with the blue wire around it)
it is not the slash series(v2) or whatever
Attached Images
 
97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:48 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
is there a model number on it?
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:50 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
here is a bigger one so you can see that it doesn't have the "v2" after 500/1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	918211.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	29413  
97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:53 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:53 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
ok so i didn't find it
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-05-2010, 04:55 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
haha i did the same thing.... i think it is an older version of that amp but no i can't find a model number yet =/

97tj-king is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
questions regarding tire size, gear ratio and lift Black_Rocky_Mountain JK General Discussion Forum 3 08-01-2010 03:19 PM
Some help for a newb! (few questions) Moonkeysniffle TJ Tech Forum 6 11-06-2009 08:27 PM
New Member and some newbie questions SlowSpyder TJ General Discussion Forum 8 10-11-2009 09:43 PM
I Got One! Newbie Questions dak_quak JK General Discussion Forum 3 06-04-2009 10:00 AM
Real newbee questions... HEK JK General Discussion Forum 15 04-28-2009 08:40 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC