amp, "Sound Deck" wiring Question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-28-2006, 08:54 AM   #1
Newb
 
Arkansastraveler70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Arkansas
Posts: 7
Question amp, "Sound Deck" wiring Question

Now I am clueless about stuff like this and I admit it , So help me out here,
I recently bought a used Mopar Sound Deck at an auction to put in the back of my jeep (It has an 8" subwoofer and some tweeters and an integrated 50watt amp) The wiring harness came with it and I had no trouble hooking it up to the back of my radio, except for the red power lead, how exactly should I hook this up ,also It has a 5 amp fuse in the powerlead is 5 the right size I didnt know if maybe it had been replaced or what. Any help would be Greatly appreciated, Thanks!!

Arkansastraveler70 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2006, 10:48 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
SouthTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 696
Do you know what guage that wire is? 5 amp seems small for a amp power lead. Mine is a 10 guage (pretty thick) and has a 30 amp fuse and I've seen 40 reccomended.

You can pretty easily run it through the firewall and connect to the battery.

__________________
13 JK Rubicon
SouthTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2006, 11:11 AM   #3
Newb
 
Arkansastraveler70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Arkansas
Posts: 7
The wire is not so big , I'm guessing its something like 16 or 18 gauge there is a set of wires (i have a 98 tj) close to the fuse box there are two wires a blue one and a red one the red one says unswitched Aux power 10 amp max. and the blue one says switched aux power 3 amp max. could I use these??
Arkansastraveler70 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2006, 01:18 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
SouthTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 696
The blue one you could use to turn on the amp. All it would do is act like a switch to turn on or off. It won't provide the power to the amp to run it. Do you have a place or a wire on the amp that says switched? If so use the blue you found.

For the power for the amp....I'm not sure if you can use that other one or not. Like I said before, I would assume that an amp would have a larger wire with a higher fuse BUT I COULD BE WRONG. I would see if you could find a service manual on that amp online. Shouldn't be too hard to find if it's name brand. Or just replace it with about a 10 guage wire and run it straight to the battery if you have that blue switched wire hooked up also.

Just so you know, I'm no expert when it comes to these things. I just installed an amp in mine over the weekend and that's what I'm basing my experience on.
__________________
13 JK Rubicon
SouthTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2006, 07:57 PM   #5
Shake 'n Bake

WF Lifetime Member
 
khenderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: PHX
Posts: 1,344
Send a message via ICQ to khenderson Send a message via AIM to khenderson Send a message via Yahoo to khenderson
that just sounds kinda funky. there's not much to wiring an amp. constant power wire(i like 8ga with a 30/40A fuse), a switched power wire(usually 16ga or so used just to turn the amp on and off), a ground wire(again, i like 8ga...and make this one short), and the wires for the music. it sounds like you got the last one done. i'd just run the others like a normal amp. the constant power goes to the battery with the inline fuse. the switched power goes to the remote wire or power ant wire on the back of the headunit. and ground is self-explanatory.
__________________
I'ma come at your like a spider monkey!


khenderson is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-06-2006, 09:43 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
just run the red power wire to the + side of your battery the bule will have to go to your fuse box if you have a factory radio you can run it to your ign. fuse to give you power when you turn the key forward. you should be fine with that size power wire. you are just running a 50 watt amp. you would need a bigger wire if you were pushing more watts
Brice is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-06-2006, 05:01 PM   #7
Newb
 
Arkansastraveler70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Arkansas
Posts: 7
Thanks All , I think I've got it. thanks again

Arkansastraveler70 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring question khenderson General Jeep Discussion 13 04-21-2009 10:10 PM
fog light wiring question surfcape TJ General Discussion Forum 6 01-12-2009 09:26 PM
rubicon wiring question penguin_in_a_cj TJ Tech Forum 4 04-26-2007 06:32 PM
Wiring question DownandDirty CJ Tech Forum 3 10-17-2006 01:35 PM
trailer wiring question GoodLife TJ Tech Forum 6 08-25-2006 02:02 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC