amplifier/subwoofer wiring? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-13-2009, 12:25 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: five minutes from NYC
Posts: 65
amplifier/subwoofer wiring?

A friend of mine just bought a completely new audio system, and he gave me
his old amplifier and old subwoofers which he wasnt completely sure still worked.

First off, all the wiring is rusted, broken or missing so my first question is where can i get the wiring to reconnect everything together.

second i want to test the AMP and subs before installing it completely, is there a way to do that?

gorillagorilla is offline   Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 12:30 PM   #2
Newb
 
Jeep-N-Snow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nj
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Jeep-N-Snow
You could go to your local best buys and get wiring kits, but more than likely they will b way over priced, find out what size amp and subs you have so you know what size wires to get. Its a little tricky to test them without running the wires to where you want to install

Jeep-N-Snow is offline   Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 12:37 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: five minutes from NYC
Posts: 65
is there any possible way to connect the amp to another power supply so i don't have to hook it all up only to find out the amp is a dud?
gorillagorilla is offline   Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 05:51 PM   #4
Newb
 
Jeep-N-Snow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nj
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Jeep-N-Snow
I know there is a way, but i do not know how to sorry
Jeep-N-Snow is offline   Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 06:00 PM   #5
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
I would imagine you could wire the amp up straight to your battery...or you could buy a power inverter but those aren't cheap.

Just run a wire from your battery to the amp. Ground it straight to the negative terminal. Now I'm not sure if you can do this part or not...if the remote turn on wire is a 12v wire then I think you can. Run the remote turn on wire to the + side of the battery. If I'm thinking correctly, that should at least tell you that your amp powers up.

For wiring kits...check out Amp Installation Kits, HDMI Cables
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 08:23 AM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
gorillagorilla,

s3nt3nc3d is correct. Most all power amps have 12v remote lines so hooking both the positive terminal and the remote line to the positive post on your battery and the negative terminal to the negative post on your battery should turn the amp on.

A good way to test the amp (with the woofers) would be to use any type of coarse conductor wiring rated for electricity. I use a stiff 10 gauge stranded copper to power my 1200 watt amp with an 80 amp DC circuit breaker at the battery and i've never had any problems. I also use a stiff 12 gauge stranded copper to connect my amp speaker leads to my woofers. (I have 2 kicker 10s). Just make sure you don't use solid conductor wiring for power or speaker output as the dynamics of this type of wire aren't suited well for car audio.

It might be a bit of a waste of wire to cut short lengths for testing purposes, but if you have it laying around it works, so why not.

Be careful though because chances are if the wiring was rusted, the power amp may have came into contact with moisture / water at some point. Without a circuit breaker or fuse (assuming you're not going to use these while testing) be aware that the equipment has a possibly to short out and that might cause an electrical fire in the amp, or the power wiring (and at the very least you might get some nasty burns).

So if you're testing it with leads to the battery, make sure to use fuses in the hot side of the circuit that appropriate for the amp, or keep the leads where you can disconnect them quickly (touching them to the battery post should be enough to make the amp turn on).

To see if you have audio, you can easily find a mini-plug to stereo RCA adapter cord that will allow hook your ipod / MP3 player up to the amp to play a song as a test. Make sure that before you make any adjustments on the amp (gain or LPF) that you have it installed, working, and hooked to the head you're going to use as the levels of the audio coming from your test source will not be the same as those coming from the SW outputs on your head unit.

Hope this helps.

brad07x is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.7L PCM to YJ wiring harness, need help. cowboy724 YJ Tech Forum 10 04-20-2011 03:21 PM
Off-Road Lights on OEM Fog Wiring: Too Much of A Good Thing? Army Chief TJ Tech Forum 3 11-08-2009 05:20 PM
Engine swap wiring help needed 4.2 to XJ 4.0 89Islander YJ Tech Forum 8 04-05-2008 09:06 PM
Hitch Wiring rcmerlin TJ Tech Forum 1 12-06-2006 10:43 AM
Replace all wiring in 2000 TJ? blueelkwrangler TJ Tech Forum 4 08-24-2006 01:35 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC