CB Amps - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-10-2012, 10:32 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
FDWheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CO Springs
Posts: 39
CB Amps

I have heard there is a legal limit on how strong your amplifier can be. Is this true? If so, what is the limit? I live in Colorado (I don't know if state matters). Thanks.

FDWheelin is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:44 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
TOKKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sonora, CA.
Posts: 414
I thinks its 4 watts, linear amps are illegal on a cb.

TOKKIE is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:50 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
FDWheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CO Springs
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOKKIE View Post
I thinks its 4 watts, linear amps are illegal on a cb.
Next dumb question, how do I know if it's linear? I was given the amp by a friend and know nothing about it.
FDWheelin is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:04 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
TOKKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sonora, CA.
Posts: 414
I assume it's a linear, but requardless amps on cb radios are illegal unless licensed to run them. Most amps are made to run on ham units. That being said a lot of people run them. My brother in littleton use to run a 500watt broadcaster(use to be an am radio station broadcaster in the 50's)on a dominator antenna, he could stomp anyone in the denver area.
TOKKIE is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:15 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 30
ANY AMP will put you over the 4 watts you can LEGALLY have.Amps (or kickers) only make sense if the people you want to talk to have them too. Like I live in the Seattle area and want to talk to Miami -the only answers I will ACTUALLY HEAR are others with BIG RADIOS (many people may hear the transmission but few have the equipment to answer).I think most importantly now it is so hard to find someone to install and tune a radio with a kicker as CB is a lost art (look around TRUCKSTOPS).IF you can find a competent CB tech in your area just have your radio "peaked and tuned" .This is "code" (wink,wink) for making your radio go from 4 to about 12 watts (a 300% increase).Without some external amp that takes special tuning and draws unwanted attenion-thieves/FCC
badmts is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:16 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
FDWheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CO Springs
Posts: 39
Hahaha that is great! What is the reasoning behind the illegality and being that it's illegal how can you get caught?
FDWheelin is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:20 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
FDWheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CO Springs
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmts View Post
ANY AMP will put you over the 4 watts you can LEGALLY have.Amps (or kickers) only make sense if the people you want to talk to have them too. Like I live in the Seattle area and want to talk to Miami -the only answers I will ACTUALLY HEAR are others with BIG RADIOS (many people may hear the transmission but few have the equipment to answer).I think most importantly now it is so hard to find someone to install and tune a radio with a kicker as CB is a lost art (look around TRUCKSTOPS).IF you can find a competent CB tech in your area just have your radio "peaked and tuned" .This is "code" (wink,wink) for making your radio go from 4 to about 12 watts (a 300% increase).Without some external amp that takes special tuning and draws unwanted attenion-thieves/FCC
Thanks badmts. I see that you mentioned the FCC. That was my main concern. I don't need to get involved with them. My only reason for wanting to use the amp in the first place is because I only have a cheap little radio shack CB and wasn't sure how well it would work.
FDWheelin is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:35 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
TOKKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sonora, CA.
Posts: 414
As for getting caught, if you are sitting still and broadcasting you can be found by using triangulation.
TOKKIE is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 12:31 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
FDWheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CO Springs
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOKKIE View Post
As for getting caught, if you are sitting still and broadcasting you can be found by using triangulation.
It sounds to me that using an amp isn't really necessary or worth the trouble it could get you in.
FDWheelin is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 12:58 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 2,028
^ There you go. Fines can be $10,000, and they do enforce.

If you want to talk distance, get a license. It's not that hard. Morce code requirement is gone.

If you just want to talk with your friends local and on the trails using a CB, thats fine too.
sparky is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:23 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
FDWheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CO Springs
Posts: 39
Wow they aren't messing around with $10,000 fines. Amp is out.
FDWheelin is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:24 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
FDWheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CO Springs
Posts: 39
Thanks fellas. I appreciate the input and thanks for keeping me out of trouble.
FDWheelin is offline   Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 05:39 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
ShowroomShine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 65
They dont enforce the power limit that bad. I'm a member of several CB forums with people who dont have their ham tickets ( I have mine so I can run power) and out of the several years of being a member of the forums I have never heard of anyone getting into trouble. Dont bleed over into local radio/tv etc (set up your system right) and dont mis-use the power and you will be fine.

That being said, unless you are looking to make distance contacts you can just get a tune done on your radio and do any talking you want on any trail. I run a stock Galaxy tuned up and it works just fine and has made many contacts during the right conditions.
ShowroomShine is offline   Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:12 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky View Post
...
If you want to talk distance, get a license. It's not that hard. Morce code requirement is gone.

If you just want to talk with your friends local and on the trails using a CB, thats fine too.
+1

Radios are only as good as the system of support (other users). If you're the only amp then you have a broadcast station, like FM radio (except pirate, arrggg!).

I got my tech ticket last month, it was 15$ and 30 minutes of test. Now I can talk 50+ miles EASY from my jeep in simplex mode (w/o hitting repeaters). Total radio investment - 230$, including a custom built bracket for it. I can also scan local FD/PD/EMS dispatch on my rig, an added bonus to a license.

This site allows you to take a practice test from the actual question pool. Just click in the top left which test you want to try: technician (level 1), general (level 2), extra (level 3).
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:05 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
FDWheelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CO Springs
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRidgeYJ View Post
+1

Radios are only as good as the system of support (other users). If you're the only amp then you have a broadcast station, like FM radio (except pirate, arrggg!).

I got my tech ticket last month, it was 15$ and 30 minutes of test. Now I can talk 50+ miles EASY from my jeep in simplex mode (w/o hitting repeaters). Total radio investment - 230$, including a custom built bracket for it. I can also scan local FD/PD/EMS dispatch on my rig, an added bonus to a license.

This site allows you to take a practice test from the actual question pool. Just click in the top left which test you want to try: technician (level 1), general (level 2), extra (level 3).
Hey that's great! Thanks. I'll have to check the site out.
FDWheelin is offline   Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:30 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 2,028
You can also take practice tests here.
QRZ.COM Practice Amateur Radio Exams
Good general info site, and they post when your license has been granted.
To learn where to take the test. Use the ARRL site. Also list classes and local clubs.
ARRL | Licensing, Education & Training | Getting on the Air

BlueRidge is talking 50 miles on VHF, put a HF rig in there, and who knows. Good conditions, around the world.

sparky is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC