Dash Stock TJ Speakers - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-06-2013, 09:01 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Duckmasterlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Shelbyville, KY
Posts: 61
Dash Stock TJ Speakers

I purchased a 1999 TJ that the PO installed an aftermarket head unit. I noticed that the only speakers that are working is the sound bar. After a little research I found that there are two speakers in the dash are not working.

Is this a common problem with the stock dash speakers to blow or do I have some other problems further up the line. I removed the covers and the speakers put a volt meter on the connections and i am getting around 2.5 volts when the radio is on.

Is it possible that the speakers are blown and I can slap in a new set of speakers and I'm good to go.

Duckmasterlack is offline   Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:25 AM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 36,237
With both front speakers out, I probably wouldn't suspect them. Could your radio's fader control be set all the way to the rear so only the rear speakers are getting power?

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:11 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Duckmasterlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Shelbyville, KY
Posts: 61
That is the first thing I tried. When I fade to the front there is no sound not even static. I have had experiences with blown speakers before and most of the time there will be some feedback. I was wondering if this is a common thing with the dash speakers on the early model TJ's.
Duckmasterlack is offline   Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:32 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,250
Perhaps they arent even hooked up?

Did they install a new amp also?
CoreyZ is offline   Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:05 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Duckmasterlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Shelbyville, KY
Posts: 61
I can't tell if an amp was installed at one point or another. I'm thinking about taking a speaker out of my sound bar and plunging it in to the front speaker if they have the same harness connection. The sound bar speakers work fine and should give me an indication if the wiring is still good or if I have to trace the problem back to the head unit.
Duckmasterlack is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC