Do I need a relay for my compressor? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-13-2013, 08:16 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
axplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 42
Do I need a relay for my compressor?

I have an ARB compressor I'm installing under the hood of a 2013 JKU. I'm running the air fitting and a switch somewhere in the vicinity of the front bumper so I can fill toys, tires, etc., without having to open the hood, get inside, etc. If I run + and - right to battery with the 40A fuse it came with (and a switch, of course), do I need a relay? Thanks.

axplayer is offline   Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:26 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Phoenix
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by axplayer View Post
I have an ARB compressor I'm installing under the hood of a 2013 JKU. I'm running the air fitting and a switch somewhere in the vicinity of the front bumper so I can fill toys, tires, etc., without having to open the hood, get inside, etc. If I run + and - right to battery with the 40A fuse it came with (and a switch, of course), do I need a relay? Thanks.
I found your post searching for onboard air.

Keep in mind that if you do this that your switch has to be rated for whatever the amp load will be. So if compressor is a 40a compressor, get a switch that is rated 40a or higher.

I'm just starting my search, but I would think compressor should have an ignition wire or a trigger wire so it only runs when the wire receives a 12v power (or in some cases ground) input signal. If its only two wires then your options are as follows:

1- As you stated above, inline switch rated for amp load.
2- relay that supports the amp load (i.e. 40a). Relays basically have a high power side and low power side. Benefit of a relay is you can use a very low input signal to "connect" the high power contacts together and turn compressor on.

__________________
2012 JKU Sport Silver - Max Tow, Trac-Lok LSD, Auto, Sport S package, Hardtop.

MODS: See garage, bunch of fun stuff underway.
BacaraJKU is offline   Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 08:19 PM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 37,265
From a former axplayer, no that compressor does not even come close to needing a relay. In fact, a relay in that circuit would just add an additional potential point of failure. Just control it via a decent quality heavy-duty SPST (an on-off switch) switch & it will be fine.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC