fuse for 12v constant - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-28-2011, 08:07 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
tyborbogdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 134
fuse for 12v constant

So I must have blown a fuse somewhere and I don't know where it is. I needed to tie my 12 volt constant wire from the stereo into something with a 12 volt constant but nothing works. My cigarette lighter doesn't work when the keys are out of the jeep. This is the "purple/white" wire if that helps, I don't know how to get power back to these things.

tyborbogdan is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:14 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
I-Want-A-Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 650
Are you installing an aftermarket stereo? There should be a 12v constant on the factory harness that goes to the stereo. If you're using a harness adapter there should be one available right there. If it doesn't have power to it then just look in your fuse boxes for any fuses labeled stereo or 12v or constant +.

I'm not extremely familiar with Jeeps wiring so sorry if it's not much help.

I-Want-A-Jeep is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:19 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
tyborbogdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 134
There's no power going to the 12v constant in the wire cluster for the aftermarket stereo.The previous owner just cut out the old stereo that was in there. I don't see any fuses that are blown or anything
tyborbogdan is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:43 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
I-Want-A-Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 650
So the factory stereo plug has just been whacked off?? That blows.

If it were me, I'd find a 12v constant in the fuse panel, tap into the power side of it, and put an inline fuse in place and run the wire to the stereo. Or run a direct fused connection to your battery or distribution area (do jeeps have those?)
I-Want-A-Jeep is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:46 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
tyborbogdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 134
someone suggested that before so I bought an in-line fuse today, I really wanted to find the problem rather than bypassing it but I suppose its not that necessary.
tyborbogdan is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:49 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
I-Want-A-Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 650
I don't know enough about the wiring on Jeeps to backtrack that particular wire anywhere. Sometime Chiltons or Haynes manuals will have wiring diagrams in them.

I-Want-A-Jeep is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
92 YJ ECU Fuel System fuse keeps blowing cougarcruisin YJ Tech Forum 8 09-25-2013 09:31 AM
rear defrost frustration Johnboy11 TJ General Discussion Forum 3 11-03-2011 01:04 PM
Pulling dome fuse shuts YJ off Baroness17 YJ Tech Forum 1 04-30-2011 09:46 PM
Starting troubles mother one YJ Tech Forum 10 09-07-2010 02:05 PM
PDC Relay or fuse.. Keeps on Popping Need Help! BravoSSER TJ Tech Forum 1 12-04-2008 09:39 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC