Garmin Nav System - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-03-2013, 08:21 PM   #1
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Garmin Nav System

I have a 2013 JKU Rubicon with a Garmin Nav System. My wife and I enjoy Geocaching and I tried to enter coordinates into the Nav System and it will take the "north" coordinates but it will not take the "west" coordinates. I live in the Dallas area and when I try to enter W 096 or W 96 it will not let me. Does anyone have any idea how to enter coordinates or how to fix the problem? I also tried to change the coordinate formate and that did not work.

Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2013, 09:13 AM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Moabite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Moab
Posts: 1,001
I'm not familiar with that particular system, but on some you have to enter a minus sign for anything with west longitude.

__________________
2013 JKUR softtop - Photos here: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/my-...on-202906.html
Gone and fondly remembered: '03 Rubicon - Sold 10/31/12
'82 Scrambler purchased new in 1982 - sold in '96
Moabite is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2013, 10:22 AM   #3
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
FYI... I contacted Garmin about not being able to enter coordinates into the GPS unit in my 2013 JKU Rubicon. Garmin advised they discovered the problem and are working on a fix and will be back in contact with me in a few weeks with a fix.
Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-10-2013, 03:29 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Chewbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 42
Often when using lat/lon coordinates, you can use positive values for North and East, and negative values for South and West. Try entering -96 instead.
Chewbone is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-11-2013, 09:22 AM   #5
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Chewbone.... I did try your suggestions and it did not work. That is when I called Garmin and sent screen shots of the GPS Unit. The Garmin tech called me and said they discovered the problem and are working on a fix. Garmin tech said they have had several complaints about this function. It appears the Garmin GPS Units in Jeeps have the problem and they are trying to determine how to send out a fix / update to all Jeep Owners. It will be interesting to see if they fix the problem or just let it go.
Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-12-2013, 12:14 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Chewbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 42
Ok. I noticed right after my post that Moabite already gave that suggestion. Reading comprehension fail Let me know if they're dragging their feet. I used to work there as a software engineer, and still have a number of friends I can talk to about it.
Chewbone is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-13-2013, 10:55 AM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Gadget1004,
We've had the same problem and have been trolling Jeep corporate websites trying to find a technical document, etc. about it. Not much help from the dealer. Have you been able to get your problem resolved?
Laurel87 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-14-2013, 11:47 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
County98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 530
Interested as well. Live in Vegas and the N enters fine, but W seems to skip a digit. Very irritating!
__________________
Cheers!
-USAF Retired

2013 CG Rubi, AEV Hood, AEV 2.5", ACE Sliders, Method Wheels, Rockhard Skid, Teraflex Hinge
County98 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-15-2013, 10:29 AM   #9
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
FYI. I have no additional info on this problem. Garmin has not contacted about an up date on how to fix the problem.
Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-15-2013, 02:28 PM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
We took our Jeep in for service yesterday and were informed that they do have a new update from Garmin and have ordered the disk for us. But they don't know if it will fix the problem. I'll let you know when we take it in to have the update installed.
Laurel87 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-16-2013, 08:18 AM   #11
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
good info,Interested as well. Live in Vegas and the N enters fine.thank you
freedomsky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-01-2013, 12:44 PM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Ok, they have a fix for the coordinates problem. Got it last week, tested it and it works fine now. By the way, we live in Georgia so this problem is widespread. Have your service tech "perform service bulletin 08-061-13 RHB radio. Update software LOP 1860029V". It was a disk that they ordered. Good luck!
Laurel87 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-06-2014, 03:47 PM   #13
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Gaget1004, I also geocache and typically use my hand held as I do walking ones. I noted my 2011 Compass (430N RHB) has version 23 software. I will up it to 33 then do a map upgrade and finally update to version 50. Do you know what version your software is. You can get it off the system information screen. I will test the coordinate input as well.

Laurel87, what is your current version after the update?

Thanks

Mark
Info1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2014, 10:04 AM   #14
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Software version is 4.07 and GPS is 4.15.02.
Laurel87 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 12:59 AM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurel87 View Post
Software version is 4.07 and GPS is 4.15.02.
Thanks, being new to this thought the system info screen displayed the Garmin version. May I ask how you get this?


I am ready to upgrade my 430N from version 23 to 50 and maps to 2014, have that disks ready from this site..,

m
Info1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 08:47 AM   #16
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Laurel87.... Thank you for the updated info on the Service Bulletin. I need to have my Jeep serviced in a few weeks and will ask the Service Tech to look up the Service Bulletin. I will report back and let everyone know if Jeep fixes the problem.
Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-09-2014, 11:22 AM   #17
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Info1: The software and GPS version info comes from touching: Settings/System/About. The map info can be seen by touching: Setting/Map/Info/then touch the upper left corner of the screen (looks like a series of horizontal bars). Our map info reads: OEM CN North America NT 2013. Hope this helps.
Laurel87 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-11-2014, 07:41 PM   #18
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurel87 View Post
Info1: The software and GPS version info comes from touching: Settings/System/About. The map info can be seen by touching: Setting/Map/Info/then touch the upper left corner of the screen (looks like a series of horizontal bars). Our map info reads: OEM CN North America NT 2013. Hope this helps.
Thanks,

I updated the 430N from 23 to 33 then 50. I added the 2014 map and during the 33 upgrade the Nav was updated but it is version 3.0. I guess I need to loo for version 4+

Thanks

m
Info1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-16-2014, 02:57 PM   #19
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Update.... I carried my 2013 Jeep JKU into the dealership and requested the GPS System be updated. The Service Tech said he checked the system and it was up to date. Therefore, nothing was do and the coordinate setting still don't work. I would like to get this fixed because I am going to Bryce Canyon and Moab in May 2014 and will be geocaching along the way. The coordinate settings would be helpful.
Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 10:15 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toledo Area
Posts: 19
You can load them as POI's if you have them ahead of time.

Garmin | United States | POI Loader

I don't have the steps off hand but it is better than nothing.

-edit

I found the steps
https://support.garmin.com/support/s...00000000000%7D
mrreet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2014, 08:47 PM   #21
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Mrreet.... Thank you for the information. I have checked the information on the Jeep GPS and it is not up to date. I am going back to the dealership and ask them to fix or replace the gps unit. According to Garmin the software update will fix the problem but a Jeep Dealership has to install the software.
Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2014, 06:01 PM   #22
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
UPDATE.... I took my 2013 Jeep JKU Rubicon to a different dealership and provided the Service Tech with a copy of Service Bulletin #08-061-13 and he checked his computer system for the update. He found the same information on his computer and said he could update the NAV System but it would take a few hours because he needed to order the software disk. I agreed to leave the Jeep and within four hours he called and said the NAV System was updated and the Jeep was ready to be picked up. When I arrived at the dealership I checked the NAV System and the software had been updated to the newest version. Now the coordinates can be entered correctly and I am ready to go GeoCaching and trail riding in Moab, UT. Thanks for all the replies and useful information.
Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2014, 06:36 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
soberbyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeastern,PA
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadget1004 View Post
UPDATE.... I took my 2013 Jeep JKU Rubicon to a different dealership and provided the Service Tech with a copy of Service Bulletin #08-061-13 and he checked his computer system for the update. He found the same information on his computer and said he could update the NAV System but it would take a few hours because he needed to order the software disk. I agreed to leave the Jeep and within four hours he called and said the NAV System was updated and the Jeep was ready to be picked up. When I arrived at the dealership I checked the NAV System and the software had been updated to the newest version. Now the coordinates can be entered correctly and I am ready to go GeoCaching and trail riding in Moab, UT. Thanks for all the replies and useful information.
Do have a link to that bulletin? Or could you post a copy of the text here?
__________________


“Life is not a journey to the grave with intentions of arriving safely in a pretty well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming ... WOW! What a ride!”
soberbyker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-25-2014, 10:06 PM   #24
Newb
 
Gadget1004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
soberbyker.... I don't have a link. I just used Google and looked up Service Bulletin #08-061-13 and found it. If you don't find it let me know and I will scan the bulletin and send it to you.
Gadget1004 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-01-2014, 09:15 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
soberbyker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeastern,PA
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadget1004 View Post
soberbyker.... I don't have a link. I just used Google and looked up Service Bulletin #08-061-13 and found it. If you don't find it let me know and I will scan the bulletin and send it to you.
I did look on Google before I asked, came up with a few forums talking about it.

Think I finally found the bulletin, Date August 09, 2013, after wading through all the links, I even found an ISO file for the disk.

430N_RHB_Update_Aug_2013_v50.iso

Thanks for the offer.

__________________


“Life is not a journey to the grave with intentions of arriving safely in a pretty well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming ... WOW! What a ride!”
soberbyker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC