Help installing Ooga Horn - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-16-2013, 10:28 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Question Help installing Ooga Horn

Stopped at Harbor Freight to get some stuff for a project and noticed they had some horns on a shelf. Curiosity got the best of me and now I'm the owner of a $10 Ooga horn. It came with some instructions on how to hook it up but being that I don't have a lot of experience with wiring stuff like this, I thought I would ask you guys.
Instructions say that I will need these things that are not included:
Electric Relay
Terminal Connectors
Push Button Switch

It also mentions something about connecting the electric relay to a 30A fused circuit. Where on the Jeep would I find this?

What's the easiest way to wire this thing? Listen to the directions or does someone have a better way?
Thanks

KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2013, 07:11 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Flynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beautiful North Jersey
Posts: 168
Two ways you could do this:

Install push button, relay, fuse. Basically, you would use the lower amperage side of the relay through the push button and the relay acts like a 20 amp switch. If you google it, you can find diagrams.

You could also do it with a switch, relay and use you horn in the steering wheel. Almost every relay has a com (common), a no (normally open) and a nc (normally closed). Think of the common as the input of power and the no and nc as the output and you choose on or the other based on the power to the coil of the relay. Take the relay and find the positive voltage that runs your existing horn. Put the relay in line to your existing horn and then feed the new horn with the other side of the relay, using he switch (mounted somewhere inside the cab) to change between the the two horns. If you as unfamiliar with how relays work, you can google that too.

And make sure you use a fuse with both positives to the relay and the push button or switch. The one to the push button or switch can be lower like 3-5 amp, the other fuse that goes to the horn should be 15-20 amp

Good luck!

Flynn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2013, 05:16 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
So what kind of parts am I going to need? I'm new to this so you'll have to dumb it down for me. Haha

I like the idea of running it through the horn, more detail on this?
Thanks for the help!
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-17-2013, 07:16 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Was out running errands and Home Depot was right next door to where I was at so I decided to take a look. Picked up an SPST on/off toggle switch, a roll of 16 gauge red wiring and a roll of 16 gauge black wiring, as well as a soldering kit and some extra solder (was using a word burning kit to solder and that wasn't cutting it).
The guy at Home Depot said they didn't carry relays, where's the best place to pick one up?

Let me know if I'm missing anything.
Thanks
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2013, 06:08 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
Personally, I would tie into the horn wiring, like this:

Attachment 274379

Switch in position one sounds the OE horn, position 2 sounds the oooga, all via the oem horn switch (steering wheel). It would require an on-off-on switch, 2 typical horn or light relays (auto parts store, 5$ ea), some wire and a few connectors.

Basically, when you hit the horn, it would energize the circuit, then the switch will provide ground path for the relay selected, engaging that horn. The only change to the existing wiring would be cutting the pos horn feed and splicing into it, everything else would be an add-on. Not the simplest circuit, but probably the least intrusive way I can think of at 7AM.

I've got kin-folk in Roellen/Newbern.
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2013, 08:24 AM   #6
Vin
Jeeper
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILRIK View Post
Was out running errands and Home Depot was right next door to where I was at so I decided to take a look. Picked up an SPST on/off toggle switch, a roll of 16 gauge red wiring and a roll of 16 gauge black wiring, as well as a soldering kit and some extra solder (was using a word burning kit to solder and that wasn't cutting it).
The guy at Home Depot said they didn't carry relays, where's the best place to pick one up?

Let me know if I'm missing anything.
Thanks
You'll need the terminal conectors (the metal thingys at the end of the wire to slide onto the metal prongs on the realay and the horn) You need a relay. Both of theses you can pik up at any local auto staore (Pepboys, Auto Zone, ect) You can try radio shack if you can't find them at the auto store. I'd also pick up some electrical tape and the plastic wire covers. Wire strippers would also be a god idea if you don't have a pair and wire cutters. A circuit tester may also come in handy.
Vin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2013, 08:40 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Would this not be the easier way of doing it? One relay instead of two?
I'll probably finish getting the parts today when I have a chance to stop by the store.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flynn View Post
You could also do it with a switch, relay and use you horn in the steering wheel. Almost every relay has a com (common), a no (normally open) and a nc (normally closed). Think of the common as the input of power and the no and nc as the output and you choose on or the other based on the power to the coil of the relay. Take the relay and find the positive voltage that runs your existing horn. Put the relay in line to your existing horn and then feed the new horn with the other side of the relay, using he switch (mounted somewhere inside the cab) to change between the the two horns. If you as unfamiliar with how relays work, you can google that too.
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2013, 10:04 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILRIK View Post
Would this not be the easier way of doing it? One relay instead of two?
I'll probably finish getting the parts today when I have a chance to stop by the store.
Perhaps I am missing something: as I read it I see both horns working and do not see how a spst would control which horn blows, given those instructions. You could do the oem OR both, but not just the oooga, or I am definitely missing something. Again - it may be all on my end, but I see a dual relay setup with the factory switch as a trigger as the least intrusive install to make either horn work.

The easiest would be to just wire in the new horn, and I would just use the pos as a trigger for a new relay going that route.
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2013, 07:29 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Flynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beautiful North Jersey
Posts: 168
BlueRidge, yeah that's what I would do, nice diagram btw.
Flynn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2013, 08:10 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
@Flynn, That's where I thought you were going but didn't want to assume or put words in your mouth, so to speak. Thanks, the DroidDia app makes it easy (and much easier to explain).
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-18-2013, 10:30 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Ok, I think I have a better idea on how to hook this up now that I've read up on all of this stuff. I'll follow BlueRidgeYJ's diagram.
Bought a relay on my way home today. As far as the fuse goes, what's the best way to do this and where exactly do I find the wiring for the OEM horn to splice into?
It may be better for me to just run it to a switch and not even mess with hooking it into the OEM horn just to stay on the safe side.

What I have so far:
On/Off Switch
Black and Red Wiring
Relay

What else will I need? Someone said terminals but what kind? Also, What about the fuse? What's the best way to wire that in?
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2013, 07:17 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILRIK View Post
Ok, I think I have a better idea on how to hook this up now that I've read up on all of this stuff. I'll follow BlueRidgeYJ's diagram.
Bought a relay on my way home today. As far as the fuse goes, what's the best way to do this and where exactly do I find the wiring for the OEM horn to splice into?
It may be better for me to just run it to a switch and not even mess with hooking it into the OEM horn just to stay on the safe side.

What I have so far:
On/Off Switch
Black and Red Wiring
Relay

What else will I need? Someone said terminals but what kind? Also, What about the fuse? What's the best way to wire that in?
The horn lead should be a dark green wire with a red chaser. You should be able to find it behind your headlight at the horn. If you are unsure, a test light can quickly identify which wire. Find the horn, then hook your test light to positive. When you probe the wires, the ground will light the test light, the positive will do nothing. Testing from ground for power will only work if the horn is being honked.

To install as I described, you will need 2 relays (typical 4 pin light or horn relays), an on-off-on switch (rocker type without leds), a few spade connectors (25 packs at the part store) to attach the wires to the relays and switch, a suitable fuse based on the horn amp rating (probably <15A) and holder for it, and some butt connectors or solder with heatshrink. You'll also want a set of wire strippers or a razor and a crimp tool, as well as some zip ties.

Run your positive lead from the battery with the fuse close by, within 2 ft or so of the connection (do not attach the wire to the battery until all other steps are done!). This wire must be capable of handling the current, staying with 15A that means no smaller than 14ga. Run that positive lead to near where you want your relays, then splice it into (2) 14ga wires (youtube will show ya the best way to solder this). Connect those to the 30 terminals of the relays.
Run a small as you want it to be wire from 86 of each relay back into the cab, attaching them to the load controls of the switch. Install a ground wire from the hot lead position of the switch to ground of a matching gauge wire. You'll be using the switch backwards, so to say, so I would stay away from LED switches as they may resist this usage.
Install the horn where ya want it, then connect its relay 87 to the positive lead. Ground the horn.
Now we can snip that dark green pos lead. Run the 'hot side' to each relay, 85 post. This will be low amperage, but try to match the wire size (20ga, I think). Run the 'dead side', or part still attached to the horn, to the 87 terminal of its relay.
Hook up your power feed, and test the system. You should now have 2 horns, the switch determining which blows when the steering button is deppressed (why are you so sad, button? Lol).

If I missed something, glazed over something, or you have any other q's, just holler.
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2013, 08:39 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Could I not use the switch I have currently and just wire it so when it's in the off position, the regular horn will sound and when it's in the on position, the Ooga horn will sound?
What will I need to attach the wiring to the battery? Anything specific or just put the wire on the battery and screw it down?

You also mention a second switch, more info on that?

Other than that, directions seem fairly clear.
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2013, 12:09 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILRIK View Post
Could I not use the switch I have currently and just wire it so when it's in the off position, the regular horn will sound and when it's in the on position, the Ooga horn will sound?
What will I need to attach the wiring to the battery? Anything specific or just put the wire on the battery and screw it down?

You also mention a second switch, more info on that?

Other than that, directions seem fairly clear.
Yes, but without REALLY complicating things both horns would sound when the ooga was engaged.

There are wire connectors that have a lug to go onto posts. You'll want one of them (the easiest place to draw power can be the primary lug in the junction box, follow the big battery cable into the black plastic adjacent to the battery, there will be a stud there). Parts store.

It is a switch with 3 settings, one in the off position and two separate on positions, so you could run two things but not at the same time. When the switch goes left, it closes the left circuit and leaves the right open. Flip it the other way, the opposite happens. Leave it in the middle and both circuits are open (off). The parts store will know what you mean by 'on-off-on switch'. Tell em you want one without an led. I hope that makes a bit more sense for ya.
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2013, 01:01 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Yeah, that all makes sense. They had some right next to the on/off switch that I purchased. I'll just take this one back and pay the extra for that.
So...Parts I'm needing.
Another relay
On-Off-On Switch
Inline fuse holder
Wire connector for lug post (what would be the best way to describe this if I can't find it)
Anything else?
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2013, 02:14 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILRIK View Post
Yeah, that all makes sense. They had some right next to the on/off switch that I purchased. I'll just take this one back and pay the extra for that.
So...Parts I'm needing.
Another relay
On-Off-On Switch
Inline fuse holder
Wire connector for lug post (what would be the best way to describe this if I can't find it)
Anything else?
Connectors like these http://www.alliedelec.com/search/pro...x?SKU=70084054 connect the wire to the relays and switch, but blue for 14ga.

Connectors like these http://www.alliedelec.com/search/pro...x?SKU=70083965 connect to the post, I have always heard them as 'crimp ring connectors'.

Don't forget the fuse! (I have before)
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2013, 02:39 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Thanks!
Haha, been there before too.

I'll let you know how the install goes and if I have any questions (I probably will).
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-19-2013, 04:26 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
dr_jenkem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 29
Do those horns even last that long, seems like an extreme install for a 2 second burst of oooga.. What about throwing in a nice fused push-button, wire it up, go do some honking.
dr_jenkem is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 07:16 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Flynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beautiful North Jersey
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILRIK View Post
As far as the fuse goes, what's the best way to do this and where exactly do I find the wiring for the OEM horn to splice into?
It may be better for me to just run it to a switch and not even mess with hooking it into the OEM horn just to stay on the safe side.
I would just find the first stock horn (we have 2 I believe, a Hi and Low) and then unplug that. plug that into the new relay you will use like a swtich and then make up a cable to reconnect the stock horns. Then make up another cable to the ooga horn. Use a switch to control the relay, with a fuse inline and your done.

The new relay will be switching between the 2 horns.

Sorry Blue, I changed it a bit from your diagram. I think this would be easier. I don't know what the stock fuse is, 15-20? Should have no problem running the ooga.
Flynn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 02:56 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flynn View Post
I would just find the first stock horn (we have 2 I believe, a Hi and Low) and then unplug that. plug that into the new relay you will use like a swtich and then make up a cable to reconnect the stock horns. Then make up another cable to the ooga horn. Use a switch to control the relay, with a fuse inline and your done.
Diagram please?
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 03:37 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
No worries, Flynn. The free exchange of ideas is a beautiful thing.

Attachment 275199

Now I see what you originally meant. Urgh, I'm so used to 4 pins that I disappoint myself sometimes.

This does assume factory supply can carry enough current for the ooga horn, though (as you pointed out). If it is the 12V 10W (yes, W) version I saw on the web, it will be more than enough.
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 04:30 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Flynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beautiful North Jersey
Posts: 168
Yeah that's it's.
Flynn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 10:00 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Well that looks a lot easier but I already have two regular relays. Where would I get a 5 pin relay? If auto zone has them, I can take these two back in exchange for that or just do the set up with the dual relays.
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 10:08 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILRIK View Post
Well that looks a lot easier but I already have two regular relays. Where would I get a 5 pin relay? If auto zone has them, I can take these two back in exchange for that or just do the set up with the dual relays.
Their website says they do - maybe give em a ring first?

My appologies.
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-23-2013, 11:51 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
dr_jenkem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 29
Well hows it sound? Loud enough while driving?
dr_jenkem is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-27-2013, 11:11 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_jenkem View Post
Well hows it sound? Loud enough while driving?
Sadly haven't had the time to install it. Basketball, School and a couple last minute trips completely shot my free time. Everything is in a bag in my room just sitting and waiting for me to install.

I'll post something up when I finally get around to it.
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-27-2013, 05:39 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Basketball practice got cancelled this afternoon so I drug everything out to the Jeep and started off by trying to find the dark green wire. Well, I can't find it...
Can I get some help here?
Also, Where's the best place to put this relay and I'm still having trouble deciding where to mount the horn.


I'm not exactly sure what this plate is here for but could I mount the horn on that or is that too far back?
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-30-2013, 02:24 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
dr_jenkem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 29
I’m still voting for the easy rout..
Leave the factory stuff alone, and go with a button for the ooga. If you need to be quick with the horn (kid on bike) or quick on the ooga ( hottie ) your right there no flipping switches in the correct position.
Also adding an additional grounding ( ? ) relay into your factory horn is adding another breakpoint into something that needs to work on your Jeep.
dr_jenkem is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-30-2013, 07:34 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
KILRIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_jenkem View Post
I’m still voting for the easy rout..
Leave the factory stuff alone, and go with a button for the ooga. If you need to be quick with the horn (kid on bike) or quick on the ooga ( hottie ) your right there no flipping switches in the correct position.
Also adding an additional grounding ( ? ) relay into your factory horn is adding another breakpoint into something that needs to work on your Jeep.
Yeah and I'm starting to realize this...
There a diagram for that just to be safe so I don't skip a step? Haha
KILRIK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2013, 03:31 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
dr_jenkem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 29
Automotive Wiring Tips


Simple diagram on center of page for 4 pin, you can pull the unused pin from the relay you got. I wouldn't finalize the wiring from the relay to the horn until you test, they will switch on 87 pin i think.
Route and tie wire up nice, heat-shrink, maybe even some corrosion stuff before crimping, make it look good.

dr_jenkem is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
horn , installation , ooga

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC