Help me with my FOGS! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-02-2010, 05:40 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
Help me with my FOGS!

I really need some clear directions on how to install my new fog lights. I'm no electrician what-so-ever and those diagrams just confuse the heck out of me. What do I have at my expense?
A green, blue, and red wire with weird things protruding off the ends of them
2 Fog lights
A switch
And some small metal clip things

__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-02-2010, 05:56 PM   #2
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
jeepjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canada, Eh?
Posts: 1,892
Don't forget about a relay and fuse(s)!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	foglite.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	24298  

__________________
jeepjones is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-02-2010, 06:01 PM   #3
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
jeepjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canada, Eh?
Posts: 1,892
If you want to get really fancy you can return the ground from the lamps back to the battery. Ignore the wiring in the diagram about the "indicator lamp", most switches come with built in indicator lights to let you know if they are on/off. And to get really really fancy put in a fuse on the power wire to the switch. If you wire the power for the switch to the battery your lights will work even if you don't have the key in the ignition, which can come in handy.Post up some pic's so we can see what you've got to work with, by the sounds of it your are missing some very important pieces.
__________________
jeepjones is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-02-2010, 07:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 47
It is very tricky the first time.
Remember fuses stay out of the cab and need to be close to the battery.
Use wire big enough to handle the current. How do you figure out current?? There is a formula to multiply wattage of the lamps to the amps .. etc (i am not technical either) and it will give you an idea of what size wire to use.
Decide if you want to power the accessory when the jeep is off or on will also decide how its powered.
You want your ground to be close to the source but not necessary but important to have a good ground.
Get a good relay and attach the wires use the following;
1. from the battery to the relay (pin30 on the relay)with an inline fuse.
2. from pin 87 on the relay to the lights or accessories.
3. from pin 86 on the relay to a ground
4. from pin 85 on the relay to the switch

Pics are a must, as it too hard to say otherwise. Good luck the first one is the hardest.
Prd_Cdn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-02-2010, 08:31 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
I will post some pics of what I have to work with once I find my camera. I dont know what any of it does....Thanks for the help though!
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 01:58 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
Alright guys here what was in the box, not including the lights
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN3438.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	214.1 KB
ID:	24405  
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 06:17 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: northwest iowa
Posts: 2,661
Ok,now take all that back and buy a light kit with a relay in it.No sourcasm intended!
baja is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 08:14 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
It says I dont need a relay? The diagram on the instructions seems pretty easy to install. I'll scan and post a pic of it in a bit
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 09:22 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: northwest iowa
Posts: 2,661
The lights themselves can be wired direct but I doubt the switch will last very long if used for any period of time.What wattage are your fogs?
baja is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 09:38 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
I believe they are 55 watts
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 09:40 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by VVCG33 View Post
Alright guys here what was in the box, not including the lights
Yup you need a relay !! It may say you don't, you want one. If you don't the wire will be hot (the one with the fuse) all the way from the battery, then through the switch and back to the lights. A relay would keep that power outside of the cab.

is what your looking for one rated for 30/40 amps ... use my last post a reference to hook up



this is what they look like on the bottom
Prd_Cdn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 09:45 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: northwest iowa
Posts: 2,661
If you are tying into original harness,then you will be fine.Mine is an 01 also,I tied into original fog harness under fender and wired up a set of hellas.No probs and these lights have been used often.(welder that cant see for crap at night).
baja is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 10:04 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
I'm not sure if there is an original fog light harness under the fender...
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-04-2010, 10:22 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: northwest iowa
Posts: 2,661
Heres a pic of original plug for fogs under fender near turn sigs.Too bad you aren't next door,we'd have them wired and adjusting them bout now.
baja is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 10:38 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by baja View Post
If you are tying into original harness,then you will be fine.Mine is an 01 also,I tied into original fog harness under fender and wired up a set of hellas.No probs and these lights have been used often.(welder that cant see for crap at night).
Glad THAT works for you, what you've done is DOUBLED if not more the potential load on the factory wire that was never intended to take that. It may not happen right away but it will Selecting Wire Size 12V Backup Relay
Prd_Cdn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 01:21 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prd_Cdn View Post
Glad THAT works for you, what you've done is DOUBLED if not more the potential load on the factory wire that was never intended to take that. It may not happen right away but it will Selecting Wire Size 12V Backup Relay
If his fog lights are 55 watt each then the factory wiring for factory fog lights will handle the load with no problem as the oem fogs are 55 watt also and have a relay already in line, provided these lights are not in addition to the oem fogs on the same circuit. If these are in addition to the factory fogs then you would need a new circuit with a relay as has been shown.

Donn
__________________
My Jeep is NOT an suv and Your suv is NOT a Jeep
30-284 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 02:08 PM   #17
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
N39-W120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Eastern VA
Posts: 2,020
Send a message via AIM to N39-W120 Send a message via Skype™ to N39-W120
I need to have my eyes checked.... I thought the title read "help me with my FROGS"
__________________
Daily Driver 2010 Ford Fusion
Weekend Toy: 2008 Rubicon...
Expensive Toy: 1983 Cadillac Coupe DeVille

It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog!
N39-W120 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 02:36 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
NHrubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 844
Images: 1
VVCG33...whereabout's in Vermont are you? Want some pro help, get ahold of Rodney at Performance Unlimited in Woodstock...he will give you 'free' assistance if you ask nice, or do the job for you and get it done right and fast. He handles all the work on my Rubicon now. If you are within driving distance of Claremont NH (south of WRJ, VT) be glad to take you on the trails around here...some good challenging stuff we like to run...
NHrubicon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 02:46 PM   #19
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
jeepjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canada, Eh?
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by N39-W120 View Post
I need to have my eyes checked.... I thought the title read "help me with my FROGS"
__________________
jeepjones is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 03:42 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHrubicon View Post
VVCG33...whereabout's in Vermont are you? Want some pro help, get ahold of Rodney at Performance Unlimited in Woodstock...he will give you 'free' assistance if you ask nice, or do the job for you and get it done right and fast. He handles all the work on my Rubicon now. If you are within driving distance of Claremont NH (south of WRJ, VT) be glad to take you on the trails around here...some good challenging stuff we like to run...
I'm in Starksboro, VT. (40 mins south of Burlington) Thanks for the tip for the guy in Woodstock. I go up there about 0 times a year, but now that I have a reason, I'll have to check it out. I've been wanting to wheel in NH. I've heard they have good trails around there. Maybe we can hit some up.
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 03:46 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by 30-284 View Post
If his fog lights are 55 watt each then the factory wiring for factory fog lights will handle the load with no problem as the oem fogs are 55 watt also and have a relay already in line, provided these lights are not in addition to the oem fogs on the same circuit. If these are in addition to the factory fogs then you would need a new circuit with a relay as has been shown.

Donn
I'm not sure if I have the factory fog light setup. There were no lights when I got it, so I'm thinking the previous owner took them off, along with all the wiring. But do all 2001 TJs come with oem foglights?
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 06:59 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
baja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: northwest iowa
Posts: 2,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prd_Cdn View Post
Glad THAT works for you, what you've done is DOUBLED if not more the potential load on the factory wire that was never intended to take that. It may not happen right away but it will Selecting Wire Size 12V Backup Relay
Look in his profile.See any fogs?So how can he double against nothing?The factory spec is 55 for fogs.His 55 watt fogs will work on that stock harness.Pay attention to whats being said and further check on the op's vehicle,thats what the profile is there for.
baja is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 07:00 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
Yeah the stock harness should work for two 55 watt fogs...
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2010, 07:13 PM   #24
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
jeepjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Canada, Eh?
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by baja View Post
Look in his profile.See any fogs?So how can he double against nothing?The factory spec is 55 for fogs.His 55 watt fogs will work on that stock harness.Pay attention to whats being said and further check on the op's vehicle,thats what the profile is there for.
X2!
__________________
jeepjones is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-06-2010, 10:13 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by VVCG33 View Post
I'm not sure if I have the factory fog light setup. There were no lights when I got it, so I'm thinking the previous owner took them off, along with all the wiring. But do all 2001 TJs come with oem foglights?
I'm not sure but I thought that the wiring harness was there wether or not you had the factory fogs, sometimes they are tucked out of the way and you have to look for them. Mine had the fog light option, ask someone who didn't have the option wether or not they had the harness.

Donn
__________________
My Jeep is NOT an suv and Your suv is NOT a Jeep
30-284 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-06-2010, 03:46 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by 30-284 View Post
I'm not sure but I thought that the wiring harness was there wether or not you had the factory fogs, sometimes they are tucked out of the way and you have to look for them. Mine had the fog light option, ask someone who didn't have the option wether or not they had the harness.

Donn
The relay is missing from the relay and fuses case under the hood...I heard I need a Bosch relay for the fogs...
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-06-2010, 05:37 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by VVCG33 View Post
The relay is missing from the relay and fuses case under the hood...I heard I need a Bosch relay for the fogs...
Ya Bosch is just one of the many manufactures that make these relays, there are many that all have the same pin arrangement so it doesn't necessarily have to be a Bosch. Just take a look at the relay socket and empty fuse socket and install the same size, amperage wise, as is recommended by the sockets. Just remember that the 55 watt fogs will pull about 9.6 amps total.

Donn
__________________
My Jeep is NOT an suv and Your suv is NOT a Jeep
30-284 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-06-2010, 05:46 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Lakedrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, MO
Posts: 281
Images: 3
I added some fog lights to my 99 and just hooked them up to the factory wires. I had to get up under the jeep and look around but my wires were hanging way up behind the bumper.

Do you have a switch on your dash for fog lights? That was the only way I figured I had to have wires, cuz I have a fog light switch.
__________________
I'm the kind of guy for the kind of people that like this kind of guy!
Lakedrunk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-06-2010, 07:01 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
Nope no switch...Guess I will be doing a bunch of wiring soon..
__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-06-2010, 07:03 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
VVCG33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by 30-284 View Post
Ya Bosch is just one of the many manufactures that make these relays, there are many that all have the same pin arrangement so it doesn't necessarily have to be a Bosch. Just take a look at the relay socket and empty fuse socket and install the same size, amperage wise, as is recommended by the sockets. Just remember that the 55 watt fogs will pull about 9.6 amps total.

Donn
So I need to get both a relay AND a fuse right? Then how would I wire those both up? Do i just wrap the wire around the pins and plop in the relay?

__________________
If I wanted a Hummer, I would have asked your sister.


I LOVERMONT
VVCG33 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i put OE fogs on my hood today Samsrubicon Pictures Forum 8 03-29-2010 08:38 PM
stock fogs? jvinch76 TJ Tech Forum 4 03-26-2010 09:52 AM
HID fogs + driving lights ? LMG23 TJ General Discussion Forum 1 07-27-2009 01:30 PM
regular headlights mounted as fogs? Triple88a General Jeep Discussion 1 03-17-2008 12:12 AM
OEM Wrangler Fogs ccarr51 Classifieds Archive 20 02-27-2007 05:27 PM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC