Help with antenna - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-08-2013, 04:54 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tidewater
Posts: 22
Help with antenna

So I got my antenna in this weekend. When I go to install it I find I have the wrong mount for the antenna... I think. The Firestick I got has a mini-UHF fitting on it and I can't find the socket for it at radio shack, only cable adapters. Did I get the wrong mount or the wrong antenna (ngp)?

Survivalbiker is offline   Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:26 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,761
Images: 2
A NGP antenna is the wrong type of antenna to use on a Jeep no matter if it fits the mount or not.

NGP stands for no ground plane which is, at best, a compromise antenna meant to be mounted on things like fiberglass boats that don't have a groundplane available. NGP antennas are poor performers at best.

The right antenna mount makes use of the Jeeps great built-in ground plane which is the combination of the frame & tub. Our Jeeps have such a good ground plane that a NGP antenna just makes no sense to use.

Get an FS series Firestick antenna (a conventional ground plane antenna) like an FS-2, FS-3, FS-4 etc. where the last number is its height in feet. I personally use an FS-2.

The type of antenna mount you want looks like this...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ant-mount.JPG
Views:	29
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	327657  

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:45 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tidewater
Posts: 22
Jerry, I got a Firestick 2 in a 4' setup. The mount that I got is designed to go on the hood rail. I also just looked closer at the antenna stud and saw that my original concern was moot. I just have to get a mount for the Pl-259 cable now. Thanks for the advice tho.
Survivalbiker is offline   Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 07:20 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tidewater
Posts: 22
Yeah, i was kinda dumb. What i thought was a hole for a center conductor was really just a hole. So i ran out to RadShack trying to get the right hardware and forgot it was sunday...and they're all closed for the day. :-( At least i've figured out my issue. I just hope my SWR testing/tuning gets figured out this quick.
Survivalbiker is offline   Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 06:23 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tidewater
Posts: 22
Ok, I have everything installed per the local gouge and I still have SWR of 3 even after adjustment. Is the antenna cable really that important?
Survivalbiker is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 11:00 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,976
Yes, it is what get your signal from the radio to the antenna, but what is your question.

If you are asking about length, then not really. Long enough to get where you need with some slack, not too long that you have a lot coiled up someplace. There is no "magic" length however.

Type, yes. CB antenna's or mounts generally come with the correct 50 ohm type cable. RG-58, RG-8X are what you need. RG-59 is 75 ohm and will cause problems.

Condition is important too. No cuts or splices. No sharp bends, just gentle curves. If its folded over too tight it will damage the inside insulation and coule cause a short.
sparky is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 04:31 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tidewater
Posts: 22
Ok so a new 20' cable should be good. I'll check the cable specs when I get back...out on the ship right now. It is kinda coiled up tho... I'll open or up first then see what's up.
Thanks, I'll let ya know how it goes.
Survivalbiker is offline   Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 10:49 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 1,976
That will be fine, a little long for our short vehicles, but it's not worth the trouble to shorten it.
sparky is offline   Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 04:26 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tidewater
Posts: 22
Ok, found the problem... One of the washers that came with my mount was too thin for the gap between the shield on the cable and the main conductor. It was shorting between them causing the high SWR. Have gotten it down to 1.7 finally. And i'm getting some bounced signals from somewhere where ch9 is not for EMS...in Spanish.

Survivalbiker is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC