Help with Pioneer set up - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-13-2012, 12:04 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Cayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
Help with Pioneer set up

Hey everyone. I am about a week away from ordering a JKUR. I plan to order with this set up:

- Connectivity Package
- Infinity 7-speaker
- Base Radio (130 Media Center)

I plan on removing the stock radio and replacing it with the Pioneer AVIC-Z140BH. Here are my questions:

- I know that I need a "steering wheel control interface". Will this make ALL the steering wheel controls work? Phone as well as radio related buttons?
- How will "UConnect" be affected?
- Does anyone have this set up installed, or a similar setup installed? If so, can you upload some pictures?
- Does anyone have pictures of the back of the 130 unit?
- I want to be able to install this myself. I am pretty new to this, but want to learn. Any good tips from anyone?
- Do I need any kind of filler on the sides of the stereo? (I have this in my current Xterra around my aftermarket headunit, just some black plastic filler)

Thanks for any/all help.

Cayyou is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 10:27 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 798
I did some similar upgrades with my new HU. Check it here: 2012 HU/Speaker/Amp Build Log

In your case you will need a few items:

DD bezel - New side pieces to install the HU
PAC Harness adaptor - This will provide acc and constant power and speaker inputs to your new HU
PACSWI - This is your steering wheel interface.

On mine I have a BT HU so it has its' own phone button on it. You can program the wheel function to work with that through the SWI programming.

For Connectivity on the U-Connect, there is a small grey plug (3 wires) in the back of the HU that I did not re-use. That small grey plug I believe is the UConnect plug that grabs info from the HU (not 100% sure) and relays it back to the menu screen. I think you can figure out a way to retain that, but I didn't bother.

__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 10:34 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Cayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
So does U-Connect functionality work still, or even matter?
Cayyou is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 10:39 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 798
For me no. UConnect used to be for the HU in regards to the BT portion of the phone and the little menu used to have the song or station info on it. Since I have a new BT HU, all phone functions are now carried out through that.

Now when I turn off the key, I still have retained power through the CANBUS system, and the radio function is the same as it was. But the little menu screen shows "Radio Off" as it no longer has any feedback from the HU. That's why I believe that little grey plug was the Uconnect info connection.

Long story short is no it does not matter. Well not to me anyway. I need to read up on the PAC module wiring diagram again. I think you can splice into that plug with a couple of wires (ones I didn't use) and keep UCOnnect. Again not 100% sure as I decided it was not worth it for me.
__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 10:45 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Cayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
I gotcha, thanks for your help! Did you run into any big issues when installing? I read your write-up, very helpful.

Any special tools you didnt know about when you started to dig in or anything?
Cayyou is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 10:54 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 798
No specific tools needed. Your typical 7mm for the dash screws and torx screws for nearly everything else. I may try to figure out how to splice my Pioneer microphone into the factory microphone in the headliner. probably just 2 wires to tap into..

Are you running new speaker wires? Because getting the lower kick panels off were a nightmare until I figured out the little secret of using a need nose plier to just pop off the inserts. Man those are strong little bastards.

Definately if you take off any roll bar padding or any dash parts, either do one side at a time and use the other for reference - or take pictures first before removing stuff.

To get the drivers side speaker box out you gotta bend the crap out of the lower dash. I removed the screws that hold the instrument cluster in (4 screws) and that allowed the extra couple inches of needed room to get the speaker box out.

Just go slow and methodical.
__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 10:59 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Cayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
I wasn't planning on running new speaker wire for right now, so I can avoid all of those issues.

I guess I just made the assumption that I could use the OEM microphone with the new HU. Maybe I was being naive in assuming I could just plug it into the back of the HU from the old 130 unit. Is that not the case?

If you play with that can you post up some pictures of what you did to integrate the mic?

(I am very new to this, I'm trying to learn quickly and hands on. I have no problem experimenting, I just don't know what I am doing)
Cayyou is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 11:47 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 798
OK cool. I did find a good breakdown of someone that did a DD on a 2012. It was on another site but don't remember what it was. Just do a Yahoo search on 2012 stereo replacement.

I was going to go with a DD originally but wanted a removable face unit so I went with the Pioneer one that I have. Plus I gained a mini storage spot for my wallet and phone. That HU has everything I needed and then some. Plus I wanted the USB in the back so I could tuck into the glove box.

I may pop off the driver side plastic piece and see what the wiring looks like on the microphone. If it is simple, I will do it and try it out. If it works then great. If not then I will just put it back to how it is now.

So your just doing a new HU right? Nothing else? Using stock speakers and amps? It will probably sound better than the stock ones, but those speakers will limit you severely. They are paper cones and mini magnets on the 6.5" rounds. You will want powered aftermarkets IMO.

Great thing is once you find the 4 bolts to remove the dash, you can pop that sucker off in 10 seconds. I left mine off for a couple of days during the install, popped back on and had to remove it again for a couple of last minute changes. It has like 12 snap ins and is a breeze.

4 bolts - 1 under the center top sunglass holder, 1 behind the power window buttons (or blank space if no power windows) and 2 on either side of the steering wheel under the lower panel. Bam. 4 bolts and it pops off.
__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 12:02 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Cayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
I am going to stick with the stock speakers for now for mostly $$$ reasons. I just finished up grad school, so that might be something that I do over the course of a couple years.

I was worried about not having a removable face on the unit, but I really like the features of the AVIC-Z140BH and so I think I will take the risk. Maybe a proximity alarm will put me more at ease. I know Viper has a great combo remote start/security system.

Also, I am thinking about trying to feed the iPhone cable up through to the center armrest compartment rather then the glove compartment. Is that doable? (obviously ignoring whether the length of the cable is restrictive)
Cayyou is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 12:38 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 798
You can go through the center. Just pop up the pieces and secure the wire. That is also something I may figure out later is how to use the USB located in there. it is part of the UConnect. I may trace the wiring and see if I can unplug it somewhere and use one of my USB plugs to re-route to that. I have 2 USB inputs so I may do that one day...
__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-14-2012, 01:30 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Cayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
Cool! Thanks for the help...Let me know if you do the microphone/USB wiring. I will keep you posted on what I figure out once I have the Rubi and get this going!
Cayyou is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 10:02 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Cayyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
I test drove a Rubi yesterday and ordered! Should be 6 weeks before it's here.

It made me think about one more thing. When I swap the HU will I lose the functionality of the buttons on the steering wheel that interface with the Vehicle Information Center? Will I need to re-program those, if they are even reprogrammable? I don't know if they are wired through the HU or straight to the VIC.

If you happen to know, thatd be great. Otherwise I'll wait 6 weeks and find out first hand!
Cayyou is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-16-2012, 11:49 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 798
If you go with the PAC-Audio harness that I got and get the PAC-SWI, that will retain all steering wheel functions for the radio. All of the munu selections on the left side also are retained for toggling through the EVIC menu screen. The PAC-SWI retains volume, mute, next channel etc. Basically you program what buttons you want. I chose left side as channel up/down and selection (CD, USB, etc). Right side is volume up/down and mute.

The EVIC menu is still in tact. The only thing I lost (and not concerned) is the information that was sent from the factory HU to the menu. In Sirius, it would duplicate the song or artist in the little menu. That stopped working. There is a mini plug that went to the factory HU that I just ignored.

Also if you get an aftermarket HU with BT, you can program the steering wheel phone button to toggle to the phone on the HU. Or just use the phone button on the HU.

__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC