Help with Stereo Install - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-27-2013, 03:35 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
plum70crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
Unhappy Help with Stereo Install

Hey all,
I just installed my buddies radio in my 1994 YJ. Everything was hooked up, there is a relay for the keyed hot, and the constant hot has two previous fuses in line.

Here is what happened. Everything was working fine, turned the radio up, still fine. Turned up more, blew the 1A inline fuse for the yellow hot lead. Wondering if the stereo is over powered for the line rating on the yellow lead.

Should I be concerned, or replace the fuse and keep the volume down?

Going to get more 1A fuses now.

Any help would be appreciated.

THanks

plum70crazy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-27-2013, 04:34 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Bad_Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 175
Why would you need two fuses for the constant?

Where is the hot coming from - directly from the battery? If so, what's the gauge? One amp is a bit low.

__________________
OlllllO 2013 Wrangler Sahara Unlimited
[]lllll[] 1991 Wrangler Renegade, 4.0L Auto (Retired 2013)
Bad_Dog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-27-2013, 05:17 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
plum70crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
I thought that was VERY strange as well. I called my buddy and he said that no fuse is needed at all in the constant as there is an incorporated fuse at the rear of the head unit. I am going to see him tomorrow afternoon.
plum70crazy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-28-2013, 04:27 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,169
Depends on how/where its wired.

If the radio is bypassing the stock wiring system and pulling power straight from the battery or an un-fused lead... then you need the fuse and make sure its rated properly for the radio. I would avoid that if possible. The higher the volume, the more power it will suck in in order for it to power the speakers since you arent using an amp. If you used an amp and RCA outputs, it doesnt pull much juice... the amp would and it would have its own power line with inline fuse.

One thing you can do is replace the fuse, grab a volt meter and check the power going to the unit as you turn up the volume and see where it blows. Trace the wire as well or pick a better source of power. I dont know a single jeep (aside from the olllldddd ones) that doesnt have a dedicated radio power line.

Also... should only have 1 fuse, not 2.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC