installed Kc daylighters, one is brite one is dim - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-27-2012, 12:53 PM   #1
spy
Jeeper
 
spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 233
Images: 8
installed Kc daylighters, one is brite one is dim

I installed some Kc day lighters 100watt about 2 months ago, I noticed today one of them is bright and the other one is dim like one looks like it is putting out 100w and the other like 50w. So I checked the ground to the light and it was rusted a little so I sanded and sanded until it was bare metal again. But the light is still dim. Just wondering what else to do??? or check? thanks guys

spy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2012, 01:37 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 777
A little more info on your wiring would be helpful. I assume you are running them on a relay. Are you running them in series or parallel? In the mean time check all the connection's leading back on the positive side.

Iceman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2012, 07:08 PM   #3
spy
Jeeper
 
spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 233
Images: 8
Umm no relay, I just used what KC sent me.

It is 1 wire with the 2 lights on it, than 1 wire from power to switch, than each light is grounded on the bumper.

I'll check the power wire though tomorrow maybe
spy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-27-2012, 07:46 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 777
OK to start with you need to change a few things. With that much wattage you really need to run a relay. You are currently running series it sounds like, and given my choice I would run the lights in parallel off of a relay. Which light is running dimmer the first light the power comes to or the second?
Iceman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2012, 12:05 AM   #5
spy
Jeeper
 
spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 233
Images: 8
Well the light that is dim is the passenger side so that one gets power first I guess? The wire setup like I said Is a 1 wire with some kind of tap in for the first fog light.

The passenger fog light stays the same dimness when I take the ground off the drivers side one, if that makes sense.

Could it just be a bad bulb? Or is it something with the wiring since the passenger one is notably dimmer.

I'll mess with it more tomorrow, thanks for the advice bud
spy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2012, 05:20 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 777
I'm not completely familiar with that bulb but if it has 2 filaments and one is broken yes of could be the bulb. Just to clarify the wire comes from the switch to the passenger side light. Its power wire tap spliced in. Then the main power from the switch continues on to the drivers side light where it and the power wire for the might butt splice, or wire nut, or male/female spade terminal connect.
Iceman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2012, 05:24 AM   #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
denisbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 3,271
I'm going to back up what they are saying about wiring. To test, hook up one light at a time with a relay between it and the battery. Is it still dim? May be having a current draw issue with too much current going over too small a wire, or your wiring could be wrong/incompete/not making a good enough connection.

I'm preparing my own light install for the next few weeks. I'm planning on upgrading every piece of wire that would go to the lights to at least an 8ga wire as the included 14ga stuff doesn't seem heavy duty enough (especially if you have 100w or 130w daylighters).
__________________
Denis A. Baldwin
Clearwater, FL
1991 YJ 2.5L, 1" BD MML, Ultimate 8.8, Super D30, 4.88 Gears, Detroit Lockers, 36" Super Swamper SAM-26s on Ion 171s, RE SOA w/RE1445 springs, Bilstein 5150s, 3in. BL, custom cage, Warn M8000, Double D Dash/OHC, 4Low Front Stinger Bumper, DirtWorx Rear Bumper WTC, Tube Fenders, RR OTT Steering and PAID FOR.
denisbaldwin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-28-2012, 10:18 AM   #8
spy
Jeeper
 
spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 233
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman View Post
I'm not completely familiar with that bulb but if it has 2 filaments and one is broken yes of could be the bulb. Just to clarify the wire comes from the switch to the passenger side light. Its power wire tap spliced in. Then the main power from the switch continues on to the drivers side light where it and the power wire for the might butt splice, or wire nut, or male/female spade terminal connect.
Yep, I will check some time today. Just needed some ideas on what to look at but that sounds like a good place to start.
spy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2012, 12:00 AM   #9
spy
Jeeper
 
spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 233
Images: 8
Checked the bulb out again today and it is now black, must have been a bad bulb all along. figures.
spy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2012, 05:25 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 777
Glad you got it fixed! Though I do urge you to rewire it with a relay.
Iceman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2012, 11:29 AM   #11
spy
Jeeper
 
spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 233
Images: 8
I'm not really using the lights too much so I will hold off until the summer is here, than I am going to rewire everything, and I will put in a relay too. Thanks for your help buddy
spy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-02-2012, 02:45 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 777
No problem.
Iceman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2012, 04:46 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
kirbycrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 54
I just got a set of 130 driving lights(kfc daylighters) for my bumper and a set of 130 long range(kc daylighters) for my windshield today. I have all of the mounts in place but i have no computer and am having trouble with searching on the app....does anyone know a thread that will show step by step how to do this and what I may need that wasn't provided in the quadratec sets? Never done anything quite like this before....
__________________
*I hereby swear to delete threads I start that will have no 'greater good' value over time. Help me anyway.
kirbycrain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2012, 07:54 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
CoyoteOn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Palisade, Colorado
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirbycrain View Post
does anyone know a thread that will show step by step how to do this and what I may need that wasn't provided in the quadratec sets? Never done anything quite like this before....
Well you could start here > Lighting Problem-Help

Then from there, do a search, I have written several "HOW TOs" on this very Subject, as well as There have been others as well, that have been very DETAILED.
__________________
Those that go through life afraid,
Die many deaths......................
Those that DO NOT, DIE ONLY ONCE
But Hey~~~What do I Know ┐
CoyoteOn2
CoyoteOn2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2012, 08:32 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
CoyoteOn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Palisade, Colorado
Posts: 698
__________________
Those that go through life afraid,
Die many deaths......................
Those that DO NOT, DIE ONLY ONCE
But Hey~~~What do I Know ┐
CoyoteOn2
CoyoteOn2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 09:02 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
kirbycrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 54
Thank you coyote, those were pretty helpful....I finished the driving lights on the bumper, tomorrow I'm gonna do the long rangers on the windshield. I do have a couple questions remaining...

There were a few places where I folded the wires up and taped it up with electrical tape so as to neatly tuck everything and secure it from flopping around. If this is a dumb question then forgive me, but will this potentially cause extra heat and maybe a fire?

Next question....the KC directions told me to connect 2 wires to the positive battery terminal, but only 1 had a ring for putting it on the post. The one w/o a ring I just stripped 1/3" of sheath off and wrapped exposed wire around post, then put second wire (with the ring) on top of that, then bolted both wires down.

Everything works I just want to make sure it is all safe and electrical isn't my strong suit.
__________________
*I hereby swear to delete threads I start that will have no 'greater good' value over time. Help me anyway.
kirbycrain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 10:51 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
CoyoteOn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Palisade, Colorado
Posts: 698
Ref #1, That will NOT be a problem PROVIDED you used the proper gauge wire size for the wattage / amps that the wire is set up for, ~~~ AND you have the proper size
fuse protecting the circuit.

Ref #2, You may be OK with doing what you have done, BUT that is not the correct way it should be done. First of all, BAD CONNECTIONS cause shorts, failure of the device it is suppose to operate, overheating of the connection, just to name a few of the Negatives. You should, to be on the safe side, and to do it correctly, stop in any auto supply, purchase the correct lug, (crimp wire ring) for the wire gauge, as well as the lug size, (bolt hole / ring size) and bolt as you did with the other one.

I am NOT A FAN of twisting / Taping when it comes to electrical connections. Proper connectors, or soldered connections, then taped / insulated will save you a lot of grief and money / time / aggravation in the long / short run. Might even save you from that FIRE !!!!!
__________________
Those that go through life afraid,
Die many deaths......................
Those that DO NOT, DIE ONLY ONCE
But Hey~~~What do I Know ┐
CoyoteOn2
CoyoteOn2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-27-2012, 10:22 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Countryman93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cedar Rapids,IA
Posts: 161
Send a message via Yahoo to Countryman93 Send a message via Skype™ to Countryman93
for anything over 100watts its recommanded to use 12gauge or larger, also always use like coyoteon2 said connectors or solder.

__________________
89 YJ 4.2l, 4inch rc lift with longer shackles 31inch discovery stt, black soft 8s
Countryman93 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now THIS is a tire cover courtney123 JK General Discussion Forum 43 04-22-2013 09:29 PM
Were is the best place to get a new motor? pendletontn YJ Tech Forum 24 03-03-2012 10:44 PM
one last hp30 question. srad600 TJ General Discussion Forum 13 02-29-2012 10:57 PM
AEV 3.5" with Duratracs installed today!! Redracer57 JK General Discussion Forum 27 02-28-2012 08:00 PM
roof leak... is it fixed with 2012 models? i mean hard tops? gantulga JK General Discussion Forum 12 02-27-2012 04:56 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.



Jeep«, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC