Installed new Sony head unit, now I only get 2 stations - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-12-2011, 09:00 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
Installed new Sony head unit, now I only get 2 stations

Can anyone tell me what I did wrong? I made sure the big antenna wire from the jeep was securely connected to the antenna adapter I bought and was then connected to the back of the head unit.

Most of the wires seemed to match up between the Sony harness and the aftermarket harness that plugs into the factory one, except 4. Those 4 were indicated as being phone mute, illumination, ATT and Amp Rem.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

AkshunJebus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 04:35 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
the first mistake you made was getting a sony headunit, return it and get better one. pioneer, kenwood, alpine units are good

__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 06:40 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
jefferyfghezzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SANDUSKY OHIO
Posts: 574
Did you plug the antenna in?
jefferyfghezzi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 08:23 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 140
Follow the antennae line from the back of the head unit to behind the glove box (you'll have to remove the glove box to access it). You may have pulled out another connection back there unknowingly when you were installing the new unit. Check that before you rewire anything haha. I have an 04 TJ, so if you have a different model you might not have the same setup.
Cam04tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 08:33 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam04tj
Follow the antennae line from the back of the head unit to behind the glove box (you'll have to remove the glove box to access it). You may have pulled out another connection back there unknowingly when you were installing the new unit. Check that before you rewire anything haha. I have an 04 TJ, so if you have a different model you might not have the same setup.
here is a pic i just snapped, sorry for the blurryness
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-160029334.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	67.3 KB
ID:	37982  
Cam04tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 08:49 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
Thanks Cam04tj. I'll go check that right now. There wasn't a lot of slack in the stock antenna wire setup that's for sure.
AkshunJebus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 09:03 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
Cam04tj, if you're ever around the N. ATL area, I owe you a beer. I had no idea there was even another connection back there. Sure enough, there was, completely disconnected. Awesome, thank you!
AkshunJebus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 09:58 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkshunJebus
Cam04tj, if you're ever around the N. ATL area, I owe you a beer. I had no idea there was even another connection back there. Sure enough, there was, completely disconnected. Awesome, thank you!
Haha I installed a new head unit the other day and did the same thing. Caught it while I was putting the glove box back in. Glad I could help.

Cam04tj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New head unit and factory amp Jbird450 Communications and Electronics 2 10-13-2010 11:03 AM
Help! Stereo Wiring Problem So I've installed a Pioneer head unit all the way, except Always JK'n JK Tech Forum 4 01-05-2010 08:22 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC