Installing aftermarket Radio in TJ write up - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-22-2010, 04:52 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC in body, NYC in spirit
Posts: 44
Which speaker wires feed the subwoofer? (FR, FL, RR, RL, etc.) I'm assuming two of the speaker wires (one +, one - ) splice off somewhere far from the harness. Figure if I add a seperate 4-channel amp, I use the RCA outputs on the deck for the amp/speakers, and use those 2 speakerwires direct from the deck to the sub. The sub is still getting its power from the blue ANT wire; all is well. (Does anyone have a wiring diagram for this?)

hawk_sixsix is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-28-2010, 09:55 AM   #32
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Hey hawk_sixsix...here's the solution to your problem...never even thought of this one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydogg25 View Post
to answer your question....swap your amp turn on wire (blue/white) with the power antenna (blue). that will solve your issue..

right now that one wire is hooked up wrong. your radio is shutting down amp thinking it's a power antenna.

__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2010, 12:54 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
Sblanck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 216
Curious how this would work or what I would need to do differently by replacing the console subwoofer. Mine is blown and I was going to do the replacement following the directions from another jeep forum how to.


Thanks

S
Sblanck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2010, 06:27 AM   #34
Jeeper
 
meyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dover, New Hampshire
Posts: 738
The one thing is you want to make sure your new radio has line level outputs to the sub if you are still using the stock amp. If you send regular speaker level input power to the amp input you can cook the amp.
meyers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-18-2010, 09:13 AM   #35
Jeeper
 
Barticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 76
Thanks for the write-up. It saved me a lot of time when changing out my stereo. (Just put in a new Sony, now I know I need new speakers.)
Barticus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2010, 11:54 PM   #36
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
doclouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: In the mountains.
Posts: 3,660
Images: 4
Good write up that I will need tomorrow.
__________________
2000 Sahara, 3.5" Rubicon Express Lift, 1" spring spacer & 1" Body Lift, 33" or 35" BFG Mud tires, Front & Rear ARB, Rancho 9000 shocks, UCF Ultra High Belly Up

doclouie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-23-2010, 06:11 PM   #37
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC in body, NYC in spirit
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by s3nt3nc3d View Post
Hey hawk_sixsix...here's the solution to your problem...never even thought of this one!

Exactly! That solved TWO problems. Let me explain.

For the past month, the sub was only working with the radio (which I never really use) and all 4 newly-installed Infinity speakers sounded awful, like they were severely underpowered. The receiver is rated at a healthy 18W RMS per channel so this mystery ran concurrent with the non-functioning amp/sub.

I went over to the local stereo shop and told them the story, and the answers I got were [for the amp/sub]: "there's something wrong with the radio" --- [and for the weak speakers]: "they're underpowered. You need an amp and TWO TENS." I told the guy there's no way it could sound this bad with 18 watts, but he refused to even listen to it and insisted that aftermarket speakers require way more power than any receiver puts out and quoted me for some custom-built box and amps and subs and . . . (I walked out).

Many hours of studying wiring diagrams later (when I should have been checking this forum instead), I found success in rewiring the Crutchfield adapter harness. Here's where I get pissed: Internet sources abound simply state "use the power antenna wire". So I had done exactly that: I used the power antenna wire from the radio and connected it to the power antenna wire of the vehicle harness. I wrote technical manuals for a living, so GIGO instructions and errors are a particular sore spot with me. Folks, the complete answer is, "Connect the remote wire from the radio harness to the power antenna wire of the vehicle harness".

Now, a peculiar side effect was that the four speakers came alive like never before. If you look at the hokey way this thing is wired, the speaker signal is split between the speakers and the amp - my theory is that if the amp isn't turned on, half the circuit is open, and the speakers are getting half the wattage.

No 10" subs, no external amp; just a change of one wire. Sounds phenomenal. What a difference a few words and one wire make.
hawk_sixsix is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 03:47 PM   #38
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
what if the radio in your jeep was already an aftermarket? My 2004 TJ came with an aftermarket radio (Eclipse) already installed, but it ended up dying on me. I bought a Pioneer radio and followed all the above steps, but the wiring harness that was attached to the old radio is still there and is crimp capped to a bunch of other wires that do not attach to the main wiring harness, but are all taped in the same bunch. If this is confusing, I can post a picture. When I connect the main wiring harness to the wiring harness of my new radio, it does not turn on or anything. What should I do?
madman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-17-2010, 04:37 PM   #39
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
I realized the problem....



The gray wiring harness on top is the Wrangler harness; the white one under it is the wiring harness from the aftermarket radio previously installed. I realized that several wires from the Wrangler wiring harness were stripped and connected to the wires from the old radio's wiring harness, which probably explains why my new radio wasn't working when I plugged in my new radio to the Wrangler wiring harness. Should I just unplug the caps that connect the old radio's wires to the wrangler wires and just reconnect the wrangler wires to the wrangler wiring harness?
madman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-18-2010, 07:43 AM   #40
Jeeper
 
PTaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 718
let me see if I understand what you're saying. They cut some of the wires from the original wiring harness and attached them to the new wiring harness?


What I would do is rewire the original wiring harness back up to it's factory wiring, making sure to do a good job so no wires are exposed and the connectors do not come off with time and vibration.

Than I would go and purchase a wiring adapter that plugs into the OEM stereo plug. If you get the correct one, and you need to check this before purchasing, it should have a wiring diagram with it that tells you what color wire is what, and also maybe it should have that written on the wires themselves.

Now, you can wire that adapter to the plug of your new stereo, matching what each wiring diagram tells you. It's not as hard as it seems, and will save you a lot of headaches and troubleshooting if done correctly.

The wiring adapter will be something like this:
JEEP WRANGLER RADIO STEREO DASH KIT+ HARNESS + ADAPTER on eBay!

you don't have to purchase that one, it's just for reference. I believe that one comes with everything but you may not need all that.
you can pick them up almost anywhere, some auto stores carry them. WalMart carries them. you get the idea.

I'd also check the radio fuses in the Jeep and the new stereo to make sure you didn't blow anything when you plugged it in. If it didn't come on, something was wrong and you could have damaged the new unit or blown a fuse.
PTaylor is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-21-2010, 03:12 AM   #41
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Man great write up and pics...helped me get to my heat/cool controls for lighting replacement...now i'm going to buy a stereo and do the upgrade. Well done!
JHawley is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-23-2010, 04:50 PM   #42
Jeeper
 
c.m.martin1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 428
Just wondering, do you HAVE to have an aftermarket head unit for upgraded speakers to still sound good?
c.m.martin1009 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-16-2010, 09:17 AM   #43
Jeeper
 
redbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to redbandit
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk_sixsix View Post
Exactly! That solved TWO problems. Let me explain.

.... I wrote technical manuals for a living, so GIGO instructions and errors are a particular sore spot with me. Folks, the complete answer is, "Connect the remote wire from the radio harness to the power antenna wire of the vehicle harness".

Now, a peculiar side effect was that the four speakers came alive like never before. If you look at the hokey way this thing is wired, the speaker signal is split between the speakers and the amp - my theory is that if the amp isn't turned on, half the circuit is open, and the speakers are getting half the wattage.

No 10" subs, no external amp; just a change of one wire. Sounds phenomenal. What a difference a few words and one wire make.
SO.... here's a question.
(first, I have a 2004 Wrangler)
Just got a new head unit (Alpine cda-105) front and soundbar Infinity reference speakers (4" and 5-1/4") and I am having a similar problem... they sound a little weak.... they highs sound great but the lows are a little lackluster. To be expected from 5-1/4" speakers so I'm not too worried....

HOWEVER... I will be adding a kicker solobaric L7 10" subwoofer and a 500-watt Kicker amp later this week when it arrives....

My factory console-sub has never worked for me with the factory radio installed. It still does not work with the new head-unit.

My question is this.... How would I bypass the factory sub(amp?) completely and which wire on the head unit am I connecting the remote wire from the Kicker amp to?

I connected the blue wire from the Crutchfield Chrysler adapter to the blue/white Alpine adapter wire, (or was that Vice Versa...?) as advised by Crutchfield. Is this is what you were talking about doing in the quoted text above?

Ok.... that was long and confusing but I hope someone can help...

Thanks!
redbandit is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-23-2010, 01:15 PM   #44
Jeeper
 
sill'r B sill'd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: upset city
Posts: 48
great write up! i will reference this when installing a new deck and speakers
__________________
sill'r B sill'd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2010, 08:55 PM   #45
Jeeper
 
NUTnOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 251
starting mine tonight. some of this should help. the jeep i bought has a pioneer aftermarket head unit in it right now. my question is.....are all stereo keys the same so i can get the tabs on the sides pushed in so i can pull it out or is this a step i can skip since i'm installing a new one?
NUTnOUT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-22-2010, 01:21 AM   #46
Jeeper
 
Hunt-n-Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 122
This is exactly what I needed for my stereo upgrade! Thanks!
__________________
Yeah, I'm going there...
Hunt-n-Jeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2011, 11:34 PM   #47
Newb
 
wv066spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Morgantown WV
Posts: 6
2006 wrangler stock cd player

Im hooking up my amp and 2 subs in the jeep tomorrow. I previously had them in my Cherokee with an aftermarket cd player. The wrangler has the stock cd player. I havnt had the dash apart yet but im tearing into it tomorrow. Should I need any type of patch cord? Does the stock cd player have RCA outlets on the back of the unit?

Any advice or input is appreciated
__________________
Cody
wv066spd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-24-2011, 06:50 PM   #48
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SWPA
Posts: 24
I am preparing to install a aftermarket head unit in my Jeep and currently working on the wiring harness.

Two areas of uncertainty with the wiring harness:
The adapter harness has 2 yellow and 2 black wires. The pioneer harness only has one of each. Is it ok to connect the 2 into the matching 1?

It appears the OP did in the pic he posted but I wanted to be sure.

Thanks
2003TJ-X is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-24-2011, 07:43 PM   #49
Jeeper
 
TheTJRod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2003TJ-X View Post
I am preparing to install a aftermarket head unit in my Jeep and currently working on the wiring harness.

Two areas of uncertainty with the wiring harness:
The adapter harness has 2 yellow and 2 black wires. The pioneer harness only has one of each. Is it ok to connect the 2 into the matching 1?

It appears the OP did in the pic he posted but I wanted to be sure.

Thanks
The wiring diagram showed them as the same thing. I wired the 2 constant power and 2 ground wires together and have had no problems. As long as your wiring diagram shows them as the same thing it should be fine to connect them.
__________________
'03 TJ Sport / D30/Ford9 / 35x12.5x15 KM2 / D window black steel 15x8 wheels / 3" custom long arm lift / SYE & 1350 DS / JKS BL / 1" MML / Smittybilt's front bumper, Tube fenders, Rocker guards, and rear bumper / High Rock Tire Carrier
Just bought a True Hi9 rear and a D44 front, both with ARB's and 4.88 gears!! Check out the build!
TheTJRod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-24-2011, 08:08 PM   #50
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SWPA
Posts: 24
Thanks!
2003TJ-X is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2011, 09:06 PM   #51
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 52
Hey, you said you bought your stuff from crutchfield. Was the installation kit the one they gave for free when buying a radio? I'm looking to purchase my entire audio from them and wanted to know how well the installation kit looks and performs with the aftermarket stereo.
__________________
noob.
scuba916 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2011, 11:13 PM   #52
Jeeper
 
TheTJRod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba916 View Post
Hey, you said you bought your stuff from crutchfield. Was the installation kit the one they gave for free when buying a radio? I'm looking to purchase my entire audio from them and wanted to know how well the installation kit looks and performs with the aftermarket stereo.
Yea, I bought the radio and the 2 pairs of speakers from them and all the plugs and adapters came free. It works great a year later.

Almost forgot I got the security cover for christmas last year.. of '09. The cheap lock broke off all on it's own just a few months later but I remove the faceplate most of the time and I think the lazy thieves will just find an easier target when they see it. I also like the little spot right below the radio. Perfect space for my charging phone.
__________________
'03 TJ Sport / D30/Ford9 / 35x12.5x15 KM2 / D window black steel 15x8 wheels / 3" custom long arm lift / SYE & 1350 DS / JKS BL / 1" MML / Smittybilt's front bumper, Tube fenders, Rocker guards, and rear bumper / High Rock Tire Carrier
Just bought a True Hi9 rear and a D44 front, both with ARB's and 4.88 gears!! Check out the build!
TheTJRod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2011, 03:06 PM   #53
Jeeper
 
necromancer_tat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norfolk Virginia
Posts: 1,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk_sixsix View Post
Just installed an Alpine receiver (AM/FM, iPod, no CD). Console subwoofer works with radio but not with iPod. Any ideas what's wrong?

The reason for that is you have your sub amp turn on wire connected to the alpines remote power antenna wire instead of the remote amplifier turn on wire, one is blue, the other is blue with a white stripe, switch to the other wire and your sub should work with the ipod no problem.
necromancer_tat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-01-2011, 09:57 AM   #54
TBG
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Botswana
Posts: 31
Same project this weekend, thanks for the heads up. Well done
TBG is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-02-2011, 09:59 AM   #55
Jeeper
 
TheTJRod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,367
UPDATES AND CHANGES!!
Bold and red to get your attention.


I've had a few PM's about the same issue so I'm going to post it here. Maybe I can get the mods to add this into the original post.

I have been getting questions on what to do with the 2 power wires and 2 ground wires that are on the jeep harness when they on have one for each on the stereo harness. I wired both jeep power wires to the one radio power wire, and both jeep ground wires to the one ground power wire. It has been working fine.

Another question asked is about having an amp installed and having it not on when playing cd's/mp3's/ipod. The simple switch of one wire is required. There is an antenna power wire and an amp power wire. Necromancer_tat answered this above, but for people who skimmed this thread may overlook it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by necromancer_tat View Post
your sub amp turn on wire connected to the [radio] remote power antenna wire instead of the remote amplifier turn on wire, one is blue, the other is blue with a white stripe, switch to the other wire and your sub should work with the ipod no problem.
If the mods do read this and put it in the original post can you also add that the bolt behind the radio is either 10mm or 3/8" in size.
__________________
'03 TJ Sport / D30/Ford9 / 35x12.5x15 KM2 / D window black steel 15x8 wheels / 3" custom long arm lift / SYE & 1350 DS / JKS BL / 1" MML / Smittybilt's front bumper, Tube fenders, Rocker guards, and rear bumper / High Rock Tire Carrier
Just bought a True Hi9 rear and a D44 front, both with ARB's and 4.88 gears!! Check out the build!
TheTJRod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-05-2011, 07:25 PM   #56
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
thanks for the write up. I used it last weekend to put in a new stereo.
Laracabi1963 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-15-2011, 10:17 PM   #57
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
What is the wire connected to the bolt that goes through the security bracket into the stock stereo? If you bend the bracket out of the way, what did you do with the wire? Where did you connect your ground wire?

Thanks....great write up that keeps on helping !!!
mykmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2011, 05:03 PM   #58
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Ok...I figured it out. It is just a ground wire. Got stereo in and works great.
mykmiller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2011, 08:01 AM   #59
Jeeper
 
TheTJRod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,367
Sorry about not getting back to you in time. But seems like you figured it out. A ground wire can really go anywhere there is bare metal, the thicker/more the better. You could use essentially any metal bolt that goes into metal, either wrap the wire around it or use a ring terminal.
__________________
'03 TJ Sport / D30/Ford9 / 35x12.5x15 KM2 / D window black steel 15x8 wheels / 3" custom long arm lift / SYE & 1350 DS / JKS BL / 1" MML / Smittybilt's front bumper, Tube fenders, Rocker guards, and rear bumper / High Rock Tire Carrier
Just bought a True Hi9 rear and a D44 front, both with ARB's and 4.88 gears!! Check out the build!
TheTJRod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-24-2011, 01:29 PM   #60
Jeeper
 
Wdarmy15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
WOW great write. Im glad i read this before buying and installing speakers in my tj. saved me alot of trouble. on first glance the rear bar speakers looked like 6 inch, so glad i read this and realized they are actually 5 1/4

Wdarmy15 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
install , radio , speakers , stereo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up aftermarket radio to factory amp? Manalive67 TJ General Discussion Forum 8 02-28-2011 11:18 AM
installing a new radio Wrangler010 JK General Discussion Forum 2 06-09-2010 11:57 PM
Aftermarket Radio questions DKarge87 TJ General Discussion Forum 2 01-06-2010 09:40 PM
2009 Wrangler X JK! Stock Radio or Aftermarket Upgrade? Blackbeard1718 JK General Discussion Forum 22 09-28-2009 08:55 PM
installing radio? wrangler87 TJ Tech Forum 10 08-01-2009 01:00 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC