Installing new CB and have some questions - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-05-2010, 05:24 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
G-Pur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 1,645
Installing new CB and have some questions

I did some searching, but couldn't find the answers. It's a cheapie Cobra 19 Ultra III.

2 questions:

1. Instructions say to hook it up to the fuse box in an aux spot for 12v, but the only empty aux spot on the board says its for 15A. What to do?

2. Is almost skinny enough to fit in the spot for the three switch blanks above my cig lighter. how deep is that spot behind the blanks? I haven't pulled off the bezel to take a look yet. I kind of want it to look good, and not just stuck on, but if I can't put it there, I'll just use the bracket to mount it under the glove box.

Thanks!

__________________
Check us out at NorthShoreJeeps.com

G-Pur is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-05-2010, 05:33 PM   #2
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Martinez_Coins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 208
I wired mine directly to the battery, just be sure it has an in line fuse. If it doesn’t you should be able to pick up the parts at radio shack to add one.

I have only wired mine but I hear if you don’t wire it directly to the battery then you will have electrical interference.

Martinez_Coins is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-05-2010, 05:43 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
G-Pur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 1,645
wonderful. i'm pretty sure that the cord is super short. maybe 4 feet or so, but it does have an inline fuse already.
__________________
Check us out at NorthShoreJeeps.com

G-Pur is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-05-2010, 05:57 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Martinez_Coins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 208
Mine was 3 or 4 feet as well, I just used a wire to extend them, you can connect them with a twist and tape or a wire nut.

I used these to attach the supplied wires to the extension wires, this way I can easily disconnect them if I need to.

Shop IDEAL 12-Pack Terminal Wire Connectors at Lowes.com

There is a grommet just above and to the right of the of the gas pedal that I punched a small hole in and ran the wires through.
Martinez_Coins is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2010, 07:28 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
virginian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 216
I was lazy in my existing sled and powered the CB through the fuse box--M-C is right, you will get a lot of interference especially when you are going over bridges etc (not sure why) and therefore you have to cut your gain way back, limiting range.

If at all possible, go straight to the battery!
virginian is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2010, 08:36 PM   #6
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Jp90Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 3,137
Just make sure you do a good tune before you try and use it. I dont know how but I was messing with my tunable firestick trying to tune it myself and my last cb started smoking. Lets just say that one is back in the box waiting to be sent out for warrenty work and I had to buy a new one.
__________________
Jp90Talon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 10:25 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
G-Pur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 1,645
went to the battery with cable extensions. Wasn't a big deal, as I've already busted through the firewall for my amplified subwoofer. As far as tuning, I got an antenna that is supposedly pre-tuned, but he folks on the ride that I went on said that I sounded like Charlie Brown's teacher. My antenna was loose though, so who knows if that was it.
__________________
Check us out at NorthShoreJeeps.com

G-Pur is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 12:06 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Yjwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 466
9 times outa 10 sound problems are ground related. Make sure the antenna is well grounded and all connections are tight
Yjwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 12:38 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
G-Pur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 1,645
that could be it too. The antenna isn't grounded. But I could hear the other people without a problem. I'll have to run a copper ground somewhere on the tub, I suppose.
__________________
Check us out at NorthShoreJeeps.com

G-Pur is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 02:17 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Yjwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 466
Had that problem with mine. Received fine but didn't transmitt for crap. It was antenna came loose

Yjwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC