Installing New Headunit with Factory Sub? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-01-2009, 08:04 PM   #1
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,642
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Installing New Headunit with Factory Sub?

Saw the write up on installing a new headunit and had a couple questions since it made no mention of the factory sub in the console...

Where does the amp get it's signal? Will I have to splice into the wiring for that somewhere or is it spliced into the factory wiring (thus requiring me not to touch it unless I wanted to REMOVE it)?

Also, which wire will I need to hook up to power the amp up when I turn it on? Remote turn on wire or power antenna wire? I'm thinking I have both on the harness (haven't looked yet)?

Oh yeah, and the Walmart I went to for the wire adapters didn't have any antenna adapters...will I need one to switch the antenna over from my factory headunit to my Pioneer headunit? I'd figure they'd all be standard...but it was mentioned in the other thread that I would need one?

s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-01-2009, 08:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,775
antenna is standard. Only concern would be the cable being long enough.

long as the head unit has a connection for "powered sub" or "power antenna" (blue or blue and white wire) then you'll be good.

stevens243 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-01-2009, 10:14 PM   #3
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,642
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Thanks! Hopefully I'll get my headunit swapped out within the next day or two...factory CD player won't play my burned CDs and I'm getting sick of listening to the radio, especially when it seems like every good station has their commercial breaks at the exact same time. lol
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-01-2009, 10:31 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
agentw0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Yeah, my aftermarket head unit works fine with the factory sub, I just wired it up to the Wiring Harness kit for the jeep, nothing special was needed.
__________________

"NRA LIFE MEMBER"
agentw0 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-02-2009, 11:03 PM   #5
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,642
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Got my headunit installed and just wanted to clarify what works and what doesn't...

When I wired it up, I wired remote turn on wire from the Pioneer harness to the remote turn on wire (blue w/ white stripe) on the factory connector from Walmart. When we plugged in the radio. No bass from the sub...the signal comes from a speaker line out adapter or whatever so you don't have to mess with that. So my problem was that the remote turn on wire off the headunit, was NOT turning the factory amp on for the sub.

After my friend screwed the wiring up twice (me catching it both times after the fact), here's how you need to do it:

You need to take the remote turn-on wire from your headunit's harness (or if you have a power antenna wire, you can probably use it too I'm guessing) which is blue w/ white stripe, and run it to the POWER ANTENNA wire on the harness (solid blue wire), NOT the remote turn-on wire. This will power the amp on properly so your sub will work.

With my Pioneer headunit, we also had to remove the security bolt bracket from the dash as the bolt was considerably larger than the screw that goes in the back of the headunit and for some reason it was blocking us from pushing the headunit all the way in (even though the depth was the same as the factory unit...wtf?). On top of that, the strap in there (attached to the headunit via the security bolt in the back which is a 3/8" bolt in my 2002, not a 10mm as I read in another how-to) MUST be attached to the grounding screw on the headunit as the headunit will not power up...even if your grounds in your wire harness are connected together.

Just some future info for anyone else doing this...might make things a little easier for ya. I thought the how to I read said there's only 2 screws holding the center dash bezel on...up top. But there's also a screw behind the ash tray that needs removed.

Then the headunit's bolted in with 2 3/8" hex head screws in the top right and bottom left corner, plus a 3/8" hex head screw on the back of the headunit.
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Sub works SOMETIMES dylan Communications and Electronics 1 08-21-2009 02:01 PM
Factory softtop or factory hardtop....which one?? Jeep2175 TJ General Discussion Forum 6 04-18-2008 11:37 PM
some TJ factory parts - VA mudaddy Classifieds Archive 3 01-12-2008 09:13 AM
2008 Jeep Sahara - Aftermarket Stereo problem with factory amp Haloshot Communications and Electronics 0 11-27-2007 01:35 PM
Installing factory tow hooks txag02 JK Tech Forum 3 07-22-2007 08:56 PM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC