Interior Lights problem after installing aftermarket radio - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-27-2010, 07:21 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
erinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
Interior Lights problem after installing aftermarket radio

Alright so today I go to install my new stereo system, and everything goes pretty well until I plug the thing in. It won't work, and then shortly after I plugged in the stereo, the interior lights went off for good. So I tried looking for a loose wire or something, but everythings so tight behind the dashboard that it was almost impossible..but from what I could feel everything seems to be in place. I checked the fuse for the interior lights and it was good. The headlights, turn lights, dash, everything else works just fine but the interior lights. Just wondering what might be wrong, any idea could help. Thanks.

erinb is offline   Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 08:16 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
erinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
Nevermind about the interior lights, it was just a blown fuse. but that still doesnt explain why the stereo wont work.

erinb is offline   Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 08:31 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
has to be a ad ground, where did you ground the headunit?
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 08:58 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
erinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
Umm.....easier terms? I'm not very good with car terms. As you can see...
erinb is offline   Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 09:00 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
erinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
Oh, also, the stereo system DID work for a split second when I moved some cords, deffinately a short in the system somewhere..but where?
erinb is offline   Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 09:17 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
on the back of the new headunit there is a black wire, what did you connect it too?
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:10 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
erinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
We put in an adapter because the old plugs on the old system didnt fit the new one. But the black cord, as I followed it down, gets looped off and never initally makes its way into the adapter plug..is this the problem?
erinb is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:17 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
erinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
erinb is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 01:39 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
erinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 44
I got it workin after playing around with it, turns out it was just a blown fuse. Seems like I need to check my fuse box more frequently. Haha.
erinb is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 02:47 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
a bad ground will just keep blowing the fuse.

on the factory unit there is a tether secured to the back of the unit and it is what the factory unit uses as a ground.

here is a few pics.




__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
interior , lights , radio

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mario's Double DIN radio install emev0l Communications and Electronics 61 02-14-2015 09:27 AM
I passed! amy Communications and Electronics 38 09-19-2011 02:04 PM
Problem with the wife's radio in her '06 Kia Sportage G-Pur Off-Topic 6 01-16-2009 07:41 PM
turn signal / radio problem nomik4u TJ Tech Forum 5 12-20-2008 12:55 PM
Plug and Play Sirius Satellite Radio scotiez Communications and Electronics 5 02-08-2008 09:16 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC