Jeep broken into. Fixing stereo - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-12-2008, 10:39 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
Jeep broken into. Fixing stereo

my jeep was broken into over the weekend and my sony headunit was stolen. the whole thing was stolen.. the plastic brackets ripped off. now there is a huge oval in my dash with nothing inside it lol. I bought a new headunit but there is nowhere to mount it. Theres nothing inside the dash to slide the headunit in. What adapter plate do i need to buy ? thanks alot. sorry about the bad description .

robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2008, 08:02 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
KellyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: spokane washington
Posts: 521
you should be able to buy an install kit at a stereo shop that will fill the void and let you slide the head unit right in.
Sorry to hear about your jeep.

KellyK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2008, 09:09 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
thanks kelly, anyone else have suggestions?
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2008, 10:31 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,856
Put a stock radio back in the dash and invest in a Tuffy Security center console. Drop your new head unit in the locking security console.
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2008, 11:22 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
tj1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Riverdale, UT
Posts: 151
x2 on tuffy. I am thinking about installing a stereo in my jeep. Not sub and amps just the headunit. Do you have a hard or soft top? Anything else damaged?
__________________
" JEEP: The most fun you can have without a helmet"
RUBICON J.

04' Patriot Blue Rubicon, 32 ", Auto Tranny, 3" Teraflex Lift,Teraflex Quick Discos, Custom Intake, SRC rear bumper
tj1230 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2008, 11:30 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
don't feel bad it was only a sony.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2008, 11:46 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
one thing about the tuffy center console is that the head unit will be on an angle too steep for most stereos, it only affects the cd player. i there are head units that will work on a steep angle, i suggest getting a copy of the owners manual and check.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2008, 08:03 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
KellyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: spokane washington
Posts: 521
I'm having an alarm installed in my jeep and the one im getting has a double motion sensor. So it will detect any movement even with the top off. It also has the paging remote. So if it goes off i will hear my remote go off if i cant hear the horn. And the range on some are 2k yards
They are kinda spendy but i think they are worth it.
KellyK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-14-2008, 12:28 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
make sure that the motion sensors are adjustable, with the top down it might set off the alarm even of some one just walks by or gets closer than 5 feet.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-14-2008, 02:22 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jma20a View Post
one thing about the tuffy center console is that the head unit will be on an angle too steep for most stereos, it only affects the cd player. i there are head units that will work on a steep angle, i suggest getting a copy of the owners manual and check.
I have been running Pioneer and Sony without incident for 3 plus years despite the "steep" angle.
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-14-2008, 03:55 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
as said most head units have this issue. a lot of the head units will be able to play a cd at that angle even though the manufacturer advises that you don't exceed a certain angle. this will usually void any warranty against issues with the cd player. i had to find out the hard way when i put a head unit into the tuffy console on my cj. cd got stuck and would not eject, i sent it back and they told me that they couldn't do anything to help because i inserted a disk while the head unit was at too much of an anlge, lost $250 on a head unit for not reading the instructions.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 03:06 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
i have everything mounted in the jeep with a new head unit. i now have a bigger problem.

when i plug up the headunit, it does not work. I have tried two different NEW headunits. Two different wiring configurations, neither of these seem to give it power. I am even using the harness that sony included. Now i am thinking that the problem is bigger, maybe with the electrical system or wiring.
Everything works other than the stereo. can anyone offer help?
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 03:13 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,856
So is the problem that it's not powering up or is it an issue on the audio side?
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD
whiteyj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 03:20 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
its not powering up
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 03:26 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
when you take out the stock headunit there is a flat wire covered with foam, that is the ground wire for the headunit. im sure that the ground wire from the headunit is black, you will need to connect the ground wire to this flat(ground) wire and you should be all set. next stop wasting your money on sony car audio, the good ones are far overpriced and all the others just plain old suck. lets say you spend $100 on a sony headunit, $20 goes to the actual headunit, another 20 goes the the letter "S" on the headunit, 20 goes to the "O" on the headunit, 20 goes to the "N", and 20 goes to the "Y". don't get me wrong sony is a great brand, its just there car audio and video products are far over priced and sound like crap.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 03:33 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
i dont have a stock headunit.
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 03:34 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
could it be a fuse problem? which fuse should i check?
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 05:13 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
i dont think its the fuse anymore. i just checked it.
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 05:25 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
i under stand that its not the stock head unit. i am saying that you need to ground the head unit. the new wire harness should have a black wire, the ground wire. i believe that the new wire harness that plugs to the factory harness has a black wire to mach the black wire from the headunit's harness. if you look at the spot where the black wire should go through to the other side of the plastic factory harness that there is no wire on the other side. what you need to do is connect that black wire from the headunit to the ground wire in the picture.

__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 08:35 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
thanks for the help man. ill try it out in the morning. do you really think this could cause the unit to not power up?
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-16-2008, 09:16 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
i had the same issue when i first put a headunit on my jeep. if its not visible behind the headunit than you might need to do some fishing around for it. its not that long of a cable, in the picture you can see the yellow crimp, that is were the black wire is connected. what i would do is take both of the harnesses and take your time soldering all the connections before the install and clean up the wires with a few zip-tie, that way it looks nice and neat, i had to cut off the 4 ties on my wires to get the picture. what i did when got my first head unit was to also disconnect the heater controls and clean all the connections with some contact cleaner, its also a good idea to do on the wire harnesses for the stereo, just make sure that the positive battery cable is disconnected before spraying any live wires.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2008, 05:57 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
i looked for the cable today, i couldnt find what you were talking about.
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2008, 06:09 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
get a volt meter and find you have a +, ignition + and ground. On my old car the ground was the antenna and without the antenna plugged in, it wouldn't work. weird but that's how it was made

As far as the adapter goes, go to autozone and look for an adapter that will fit your jeep.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2008, 06:47 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
did you install the first headunit that was stolen?
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2008, 12:58 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
no
robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2008, 01:06 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertv View Post
no
is there a harness on the jeep or how are the aftermarket wires put together with the original jeep wires? is it all just cut or what?


is there one or two of these on there?



as the ground wire, take yoru black wire from the head unit and just connect it to any bolt connected to the body. This is your "new" ground
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2008, 11:38 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 97
the jeep wires are all tied together. wrapped in electral tape and leading to a gray harness.
the sony harness is the black one, it fits perfectly into the jeep harness, and the headunit.

robertv is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Biggest Jeep Freek Contest!!!! txoutdoorx4 Classifieds Archive 6 02-21-2011 10:48 AM
It's Better In A Jeep Dare2BSquare Off-Topic 0 01-27-2008 09:13 PM
Broken Jeep update Seryoga JK Tech Forum 16 01-21-2008 06:10 PM
post up jeep resto part/accs. catalogs 1987 wrangler YJ Tech Forum 0 09-05-2007 11:42 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC