Jeep Center Console Sub Woofer - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-17-2007, 07:04 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Jeep Center Console Sub Woofer

I have a 2003 tj sahara with the factory center console sub woofer. It recently blew out and I need to replace. I have managed to fiqure out it 6.5 inches with an impedence of 2 ohms. Any help with locating a new one would be very nice.

jeeper27 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2007, 07:32 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Try that. http://www.wranglerforum.com/tj-chat...fer-11147.html

Search feature can get you a lot more info much faster so give that a try. I got quite many threads of the stock sub.. search "console subwoofer"..

Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 03:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: where my hat is
Posts: 1,489
no 'thread delete' sorry. I realised im asking an old question.

Im basically wondering where I can STEALTHILY mount a 12" sub - no room inside the center console i spose
Smeghead is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 06:49 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
hemmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Des Moines Iowa
Posts: 207
for 6.5's these are about as good as they get for the money. not sure if you can find 2 ohm or not but you could always wire differently.

and good price here http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=264-832

or you could check out elemental designs they are pretty good too and would probly have 2 ohm. and you might wanna check if they stock one is single or dvc if you dont want to re-wire.
__________________
97 lapis blue. 2.5 4 banger. 31" bfg's. 4 hella 500's. budget boost.
hemmer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 07:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: where my hat is
Posts: 1,489
I already have the amp and the wires so I think i'll buy a semi-powerful 6" sub and put it in the center console if my 12" sub wont go in there. Im sure the stocker sucks like the stock Subaru one did. Or maybe ill do some cutting and the big one will fit, we'll see.
In car sound is very important to me. Ive got my XM radio, CD changer system, amp and sub to get in my new Jeep somehow!
Smeghead is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 02:23 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
what i did with my 97 tj is put my 10" sub in the far back, yes, it barely fits theres prolly like an inch in front of it... and then wired the amp under the rear seat so it's kinda secretive but still can get to it. then i drilled a whole in my dash and put an on-off switch there so i can easily turn it on and off.

yup
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 02:32 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: where my hat is
Posts: 1,489
Got a pic of that ^^ sounds like what I had in mine
Smeghead is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 02:34 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
i can take a pic tmoro, er, later today if you'd like. then ill post it.
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 02:36 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by skichronic06 View Post
then i drilled a whole in my dash and put an on-off switch there so i can easily turn it on and off.
yup
So the on/off switch is to turn the amp on and off? Why didnt you just wire it into the acc so you cant forget it on?

I had a 12" kicker behind my seat for some time... currently i removed the seat back there since the mounts of the seat were worn out and were rattling.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 03:04 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
what do you mean acc?
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 03:13 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by skichronic06 View Post
what do you mean acc?
The signal that turns on the radio and all other accessories that turn on when you turn the key .. its a 12 volt signal that turns on when you turn the key to either on position or acc (1 click reverse of starting it)
So when the jeep is off and key is out, there is no voltage at the signal and when you turn the key, it gives power to it. You can tap into that signal through your cd player wiring.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 03:18 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
oh ya we were gonna do it but my dad wasnt sure which wires they were since they're quite a few behind the console and everything. w/e kuz the switch works fine. but i accidently left it on over turkey weekend when we were outta town and came home and the battery was dead! haha i learned my lesson, now i always make sure to turn it off
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 03:29 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by skichronic06 View Post
but my dad wasnt sure which wires they were since they're quite a few behind the console and everything.
hehe a volt meter is a good tool to have (only 10-15 bucks) To find it, simply take out the plug from the radio and ground 1 lead of the volt meter to the chassis and put the other one into the first hole there (keys to on position so you get power to the radio and also make sure your lights are off) When you find one that reads 12 volts, turn the key off and if it goes to 0. that wire is it.. if it stays at 12 volt continue searching until you find it. If you have an after market radio installed it should be the red wire.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 03:39 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
mm ya that makes sense. we have a meter use it all the time. well w/e we already have this in and a giant whole in the dash.. yayy haha. so im not gonna take out the switches.

i just wish there was some way to hook my ipod in more directly instead of thru an itrip thing on 89.7 fm haha because it always has a little bit of static. any1 know of anything? my faceplate doesnt have any aux inputs unfortunately.
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 04:25 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: where my hat is
Posts: 1,489
^^ You can use the cassette tape player thing
I use a neat little tool where you 'poke' each wire with a very sharp pointy thing and if its live a light comes on on the top. Great for finding full time power/ignition on power etc
Smeghead is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 10:13 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by skichronic06 View Post
mm ya that makes sense. we have a meter use it all the time. well w/e we already have this in and a giant whole in the dash.. yayy haha. so im not gonna take out the switches.

any1 know of anything? my faceplate doesnt have any aux inputs unfortunately.
You can disconnect it from the wire you have it now and still wire in the switch there.. you just wont use it unless you want the amp off even when the jeep is on.. so i assume you have the switch connected to the constant 12 volt wire or maybe even at the battery.. disconnect it from there and connect it to the 12volt acc wire and still keep the switch in there.. Maybe you can even use the switch for something else so you can even cut it out and have an empty switch there until you buy some more lights or whatever else you're planning to get..

Which radio are you talking about? If it has a tape then thats an option also does it have rca INPUTS in the rear? (not outputs that connect to the amp... inputs so you can get a RCA to headphones jack converter wire and hook it up this way)
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 03:14 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
heres my set up-
Attached Images
         
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 03:15 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
2 more-
thats my faceplate. and idk about any RCA inputs or anything. i wish i had a tapeplayer but no... im tempted on buying a different faceplate with an auxilray input thing
Attached Images
   
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 03:22 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
What kind of stereo is it? It will say in the manual or on websites that sell it if it has input rcas..

My setup...

I have a black cloth covering the entire back so all you can see from my "tinted" rear windows is a black cloth. Also i have it bolted on to the body from inside the sub.. i removed the sub and used 2 hooks to bolt it on to those red things on the floor (just like the ones right of the sub)



Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 04:23 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
mm got it. did you connect your amp to your speakers or just the sub?
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 04:44 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
I have an aftermarket pioneer deh 5900ib deck that puts out 45-50 watts to each speaker so i'm good w/ the voice.. the amp is bridged for the sub only.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 07:13 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
hemmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Des Moines Iowa
Posts: 207
and for future referance your acc/remote wire always is blue. i have never ran into a cd player that it wasnt blue. so that should help. i could be wrong though.
__________________
97 lapis blue. 2.5 4 banger. 31" bfg's. 4 hella 500's. budget boost.
hemmer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 07:21 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemmer View Post
and for future referance your acc/remote wire always is blue.
Yes but that is the amp remote wire that comes out of the cd player.. i'm talking about the acc on the wire harness.. example for that being is try to run an amp using the stock cd player that doesnt have amp remote wire...
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 08:40 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
you talking about the remote turn on switch? we didnt have on so we just bought like an 18mm wire and it works fine.

so triple8 what is it that im supposed to look up to see if i can somehow hook up my ipod to my stereo (i have no tape player or aux input)
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 08:51 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by skichronic06 View Post
so triple8 what is it that im supposed to look up to see if i can somehow hook up my ipod to my stereo (i have no tape player or aux input)

Did you have few pairs of RCAs in the back of the stereo?
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 08:56 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 94
i forgot to look. how do i know if i do? can i just type in the name of the stereo online and see if i can get specs on it?
__________________
'97 TJ. Pretty stock- 30x9.5's. So sad. Blame my parents, that's what I'm doing... They won't let me get anything!
skichronic06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 09:39 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
yeah what stereo do u have? maybe i can help you search..
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 10:07 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
hemmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Des Moines Iowa
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triple88a View Post
Yes but that is the amp remote wire that comes out of the cd player.. i'm talking about the acc on the wire harness.. example for that being is try to run an amp using the stock cd player that doesnt have amp remote wire...

Ah good thinking. ive never had a stock head unit while owning subs so never thought about that.
__________________
97 lapis blue. 2.5 4 banger. 31" bfg's. 4 hella 500's. budget boost.
hemmer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 10:19 PM   #29
I luv bourbonz!
 
02Prove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bartlett, TN
Posts: 3,089
There's a company (I can't remember the name) that makes a speaker box that is made to go inside the rear seat. A guy in my Jeep club has this in his and it's pretty sweet. I'll try to find out the name and post it.

__________________
"So long as the presence of death lurks with anyone who goes through the simple act of swallowing, I will make mine whiskey."
W. C. Fields
02Prove is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
jeep vs girls mr4x4 Off-Topic 15 08-22-2011 02:00 PM
History of the Jeep. George T. General Jeep Discussion 8 02-04-2009 01:03 AM
Clanking noise under center console area... lap49X TJ Tech Forum 0 10-20-2008 09:43 AM
Had the best ride in my Jeep so far.... hedonist Off-Topic 8 01-08-2008 10:06 AM
2007 Hot Springs Jeep Jamboree USA review jeeptales On The Trail 0 11-16-2007 10:15 AM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC