More bass! - Page 3 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-24-2012, 12:11 AM   #61
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
willybTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 294
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by I-Want-A-Jeep View Post
I just realized you've got an aftermarket console sub plus the 2 10's in the back. What are you doing as far as crossover points go?
I've got an aftermarket sony, with sub outputs for a left & right. I run those left/right to the one channel mono block rockford fosgate for the 2 10's, then from there I run outputs from that amp to 2-channels on the 4-channel alpine amp which runs the console sub.

I have the ability of using a sub crossover built into the headunit, but I can't use it exclusively since it would ultimately affect the mids going to the console sub. And since the console sub is a mid-woofer, I end up killing the highs from the headunit, dropping to a real low frequency on the rockford fosgate, and keeping the mids on the alpine amp.

Not sure if that actually answered your question, but I definitely played with it for a while to get everything going well. Honestly, having the two 10's really killed the need for me to replace the console sub.

__________________
_____________________________
2004 Jeep LJ - Black - fully stock
2004 Jeep TJ - Khaki (sold)

I don't care if you bought it, built it, wheel it, or mall crawl it....it's a Jeep and you own it...BE PROUD!
willybTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-24-2012, 04:32 PM   #62
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 611
That's pretty much what I was asking! I didn't know if you had any cancellation if they were trying to share the same frequencies but I see you have them separated well enough.

I-Want-A-Jeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-31-2012, 10:48 PM   #63
Jeeper
 
J33P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ND
Posts: 236
If I install that speaker thing that goes over the rear view mirror, do you splice into the front speaker wires, and for us guys that have the older, like my 98, that doesnt have the plastic to cover the wires, how could I run it to not see the wires?
J33P is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2012, 12:01 AM   #64
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
willybTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 294
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by J33P View Post
If I install that speaker thing that goes over the rear view mirror, do you splice into the front speaker wires, and for us guys that have the older, like my 98, that doesnt have the plastic to cover the wires, how could I run it to not see the wires?
It depends on what type of radio you have. I wouldn't suggest splitting the standard speaker wire, because it not only sends the audio signal, but also the power as well. I couldn't foresee doing this mod unless you plan on running an additional amplifier.

As for the wires, the directions say there are a couple different options for the 87'-02', but the recommended way is to utilize adhesive clips (that come with the skypod), and run them on the top of the header and into the roll bar padding.

Honestly, unless your just dying to have more sound I wouldn't suggest it. In all you would need an amp, speaker wire, 4" speakers, ground/power wires...etc...I think the cost would really start to add up. For that much money, you could get some of the pods that go over the rear wheel wells that could hold 6" speakers.

Now, to also be honest I was dying to have more sound, so I said screw it and did it anyways. Also, another good option could be the tweeters that quadratec offers that go between the dash and the frame on the corners...just a thought.
__________________
_____________________________
2004 Jeep LJ - Black - fully stock
2004 Jeep TJ - Khaki (sold)

I don't care if you bought it, built it, wheel it, or mall crawl it....it's a Jeep and you own it...BE PROUD!
willybTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2012, 01:27 AM   #65
Jeeper
 
J33P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ND
Posts: 236
^ I saw those tweeters that go between the dash frame and the corners. Has anyone installed them and liked them? Was it hard to install?

What are these 6" speakers that mount over the rear wheel wells, I like this idea but that sounds more expensive than the rear view mirror ones.

Why would I need an amp to power those 2 additional speakers? What if I got an amp to power the 4 "stock" speakers, then just splice into the front speakers and power the new ones that go above the rear views? This way I'm getting 6 speakers and have an amp to properly power them.

I know how to install a deck, have had a sub in my Jeep so that is wired up still, so I'm not a complete newby when it comes to this, but if someone could explain this to me I would really appreciate it!
Thanks!
J33P is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2012, 05:46 PM   #66
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
willybTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 294
Images: 1
Dude, you could get a 2-channel and power the skypod, a 4-channel and power 4 speakers, or 6-channel and power all of them; that is really not an issue. I was just saying that you shouldn't "splice" into any wiring and try to power multiple speakers with it. With an aftermarket headunit it doesn't matter, 'cause you'll have pre-outs for the amp.

The link below was the 6" I was talking about. I was just saying that what you'll end up spending on the skypod, you could get these.

Vertically Driven Products 53601 - VDP Supreme Sound Wedges with 6" Speakers for 97-06 Jeep Wrangler TJ - Quadratec
__________________
_____________________________
2004 Jeep LJ - Black - fully stock
2004 Jeep TJ - Khaki (sold)

I don't care if you bought it, built it, wheel it, or mall crawl it....it's a Jeep and you own it...BE PROUD!
willybTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2012, 08:08 PM   #67
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 611
You could power all 6 speakers off a 2 channel as long as you wired them correctly to obtain correct ohm load at the amp, however, I don't really recommend it.

Personally, I'm going to go with components in the ModPods and an amp on them... I'll probably throw some kind of upgraded speaker into the soundbar but that will only be ran off the rear channels of my head unit that way I can fade them out when I don't have back seat passengers. I hate having music coming from behind me..
I-Want-A-Jeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2012, 09:42 PM   #68
Jeeper
 
G-Whiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by willybTJ View Post
I've got an aftermarket sony, with sub outputs for a left & right. I run those left/right to the one channel mono block rockford fosgate for the 2 10's, then from there I run outputs from that amp to 2-channels on the 4-channel alpine amp which runs the console sub.
If you head unit only has "Sub Output RCAs" then all you will get out of the is low frequencies; the head unit will block and mid & high frequencies from passing thru.

If your amps have "High Line" input on he 4-channel amp, you can tap the speaker wires from each channels and connect it to the amp. Downside.. more interference...

Another option is to get an adapter the converts your "High Line Outputs" from you head unit, into low line RCA outputs; then you can connect them to the RCA inputs of you AMP.

g-
G-Whiz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2012, 11:12 PM   #69
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 611
^^ I'd have to assume it's full range outputs. Most only have a sub output in addition to full range front and rear outputs.
I-Want-A-Jeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 09:24 AM   #70
Jeeper
 
desertgoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 9,086
^^^ lol. A lot of aftermarket decks come with 3 sets of RCA preouts. Some come with 2, usually front/rear with the rear switchable between full range or sub.
__________________
desertgoose is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 04:15 PM   #71
Jeeper
 
wipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jacksonvill FL
Posts: 61
alright fell basically read throw this but today was driving down the high way sub working fine then nothing a red light turns on the amp and no or very little bass coming from the sub any ideas? its a VDP 10in with amp attached. i have had put a new radio in it about a week ago and has worked more then better till now. thxs fellas
__________________
wipke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 04:30 PM   #72
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,179
The red lights on the amps typically mean overheating or power issues. Check out the user manual and it will tell you what it means.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 04:33 PM   #73
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Did you re-tune the amp after the new head unit was installed?
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 05:06 PM   #74
Jeeper
 
wipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jacksonvill FL
Posts: 61
No but the tune is screw nobs on the amp right? I already did the radio but it was sounding fine until today it is a little hot out but I live in Jacksonville fl so it's always going to be. The red light says power protection. Is there any way of turning it off? So I've gone over again took every thing off and new fuse still the same thing it. The sub will run at low volume like 10 or below so real quietly but when you jack up the volume it will go to this red led normal green and says power protection red led. Any ideas?
__________________
wipke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 06:11 PM   #75
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
When your amp is going into protect, it's because it's being asked for more power than is good for it. Did the amp go in at the same time as the new head unit, or was the amp in and working before with the old head unit?
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 07:40 PM   #76
Jeeper
 
wipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jacksonvill FL
Posts: 61
It has been working for about four days before this with the new head unit so I don't know if it would be the head unit us there any way to just by pass the amps protective
__________________
wipke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 08:48 PM   #77
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
No, you can't just bypass the protect function. It's doing it because otherwise it's going to fry, amps go into protect because something is asking for more power than is safe for them to give.

Again, did you have the amp installed at the same time as the head unit, or was it in and working before? If you want help troubleshooting, then you'll need to provide the appropriate information. The most common cause of an amp going into protect is a short in the speaker wiring, but if it's operating fine at lower volumes I'm more inclined to think that it's an issue of the ground.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 09:16 PM   #78
Jeeper
 
wipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jacksonvill FL
Posts: 61
Yes it was working before with the old radio. And that unit got water dmged so had to buy a new head unit. It still works with at low volume still.After checking the ground what would be next on the list?
__________________
wipke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 09:53 PM   #79
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Is the amp only running the sub? I think your ground is the likeliest bet still, but also check the power cable and make sure there's no corrosion or contact with something else causing a short. Also, turn the gain on the amp right down and then build volume using the head unit only, see what effect if any that has. It might just be a case of re-tuning the amp to match the new head unit.

I'm assuming that impedance of the sub and amp isn't an issue given it was working before - what units are they?
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 10:24 PM   #80
Jeeper
 
wipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jacksonvill FL
Posts: 61
It's a vdp 10in system with a 750amp the ground looks to be fine and the power cable from the battery looks good could the amp be bad? Or blown. I will try to return the system again tomorrow I worked with it a little today with no luck.
__________________
wipke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 10:25 PM   #81
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Yes, it's possible that a circuit on the amp is bad. Do you have a multimeter?
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 10:28 PM   #82
Jeeper
 
wipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jacksonvill FL
Posts: 61
Yup how would I go about checking it?
__________________
wipke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-10-2013, 10:37 PM   #83
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Turn the ignition on so the amp powers up, set your MM to volts, put the black probe on the ground terminal of the amp, red terminal on the positive terminal. What power is the amp getting? It should be 12V or slightly higher. Then keep the MM on the terminals and turn the volume up until the amp cuts out, what power are you getting at the point of protect cutting in?
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 05:33 PM   #84
Jeeper
 
wipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jacksonvill FL
Posts: 61
ok so its getting 12.4 all the way till the radio hits about 30 on the volume then the protection kicks in and goes down to about 11.9v and as the volume increases from 0 to 30 it steadily drops from 12.4v to 11.9v is there anything else i can check?
__________________
wipke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 06:29 PM   #85
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
11.9V doesn't seem to me like it would be sufficient to cause a low voltage protection mode in the amp. I'm a bit at a loss now - I can only think that something might have gone bad in the amp itself. Sorry I can't help you more.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 08:43 PM   #86
Jeeper
 
GotNet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 96
A multimeter won't show voltage sags that fast - need an oscilloscope.
__________________
2012 JKU Sport S Gecko
GotNet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 04:47 PM   #87
Jeeper
 
wipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: jacksonvill FL
Posts: 61
Is it most likely that the amp is just dead or somthing?
__________________
wipke is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 09:17 PM   #88
Jeeper
 
GotNet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 96
What gauge wire is feeding it? Both plus and minus going directly to the battery? How many watts (RMS) is the amp rated? What ohm speaker(s)?
__________________
2012 JKU Sport S Gecko
GotNet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 09:21 PM   #89
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Speaker and amp are a matched pair in a single unit, which is why I didn't bother going down that route.

Vertically Driven Products 7957502A - VDP Subwoofer Kit for 97-02 Jeep® Wrangler TJ - Quadratec
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2013, 10:53 PM   #90
Jeeper
 
JRoweMDN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Keystone Heights
Posts: 330
I managed to put an 8" sub in the console. It took a little work cutting the console and the original enclosure but it sounds great. It will not rattle everything for blocks but it sounds good inside and it left all my cargo room. I stuffed 2 300w amps way up under the dash to keep them dry.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-838361301.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	129.5 KB
ID:	260795   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4002219113.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	103.2 KB
ID:	260796  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1312225700.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	260797   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2637057020.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	125.2 KB
ID:	260802  


JRoweMDN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub bass keeps changing pitch WTF?!?! Kohrs93 YJ Tech Forum 12 09-01-2010 07:54 PM
pics of bass in your tj bobjenkins TJ General Discussion Forum 18 08-18-2010 05:47 AM
Bass tube and amp setup? mudslinger150 Communications and Electronics 12 08-12-2010 10:24 AM
Bass fishing tips! PTaylor Off-Topic 12 05-18-2010 08:52 AM
sub/amp setup in a tj 4.0l sahara Communications and Electronics 240 10-23-2008 03:03 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC