Need Help. - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-18-2007, 08:59 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
Need Help.

My dad and i installed my cb and firestik antenna wired everything. can anyone help cause i get alot of static coming from the cb and i cant talk to my dad with his handheld cb. Here are some pics.

This is were i grounded the cb is this a correct place to ground.


The cb is connected directly to the jeeps battery.


This how we installed the firestik antenna.

JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 09:46 PM   #2
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepGuyLJ View Post
My dad and i installed my cb and firestik antenna wired everything. can anyone help cause i get alot of static coming from the cb and i cant talk to my dad with his handheld cb. Here are some pics.
I'm no CB expert, but it looks like you have it wired right. That ground is perfectly fine. On my dad's there is a "noise blank"(?) switch that cuts down on the static, but there always is static, it wont go away.

AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 09:53 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,892
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
i installed something like a "ground lift" filter against the annoying noises, now they are gone and the CB works fine. sorry i don´t know the english word for that. but car audio experts must know what i mean.

nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 09:56 PM   #4
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
.............also did you tune the antenna. You need a SWR meter to do it.
__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:03 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
I didnt tune the antenna im looking for a SWR you think thats why i cant talk to my dad on any channel when he ueses his handheld cb.
JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:06 PM   #6
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
Good chance thats it. You will damage the CB if you transmit without tuning the antenna. I got mine at Frys for $10.00.
__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:14 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,892
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
take care that the antenna has it´s coil on top and not at the bottom.
with the coil on the bottom it won´t work fine beside all the metal parts (body, spare tire, rollbar, etc.).
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:15 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
Cool i will give that a try thats not bad for 10 dallors, you have any pics of what it looks like cause the people at our Frys dont know what their doing.
JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:17 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
nicolas-eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 5,892
Send a message via ICQ to nicolas-eric Send a message via AIM to nicolas-eric Send a message via MSN to nicolas-eric Send a message via Yahoo to nicolas-eric
nicolas-eric is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:19 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
Nicolas i dont know what the coil is on the antenna but did my setup on the antenna mount look right. Thanks for the pics Nic.
JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:22 PM   #11
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
There's good info on tuning your antenna here:
http://www.firestik.com/Tech_Docs.htm
__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:25 PM   #12
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepGuyLJ View Post
Nicolas i dont know what the coil is on the antenna but did my setup on the antenna mount look right. Thanks for the pics Nic.
He's talking about a top loaded antenna, you're OK. You can't mount it upside down.
__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:28 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
Oh got it, do i need to ground the antenna to something or is my setup right.
JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:32 PM   #14
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepGuyLJ View Post
Oh got it, do i need to ground the antenna to something or is my setup right.
You should be grounded through your bracket. I usually scratch the paint away from the area around the mounting bolts to make a better ground.
__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:36 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
How do i actually ground there is hole right next to the antenna on the left side of the mount but what i dont get is were do i run the wire from the antenna to the mount.
JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:40 PM   #16
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
Go and look in Communications at the CB threads. Someone posted a pic of the ground wire on their antenna bracket.
__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2007, 10:41 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
Hey thanks alot for your help 4point.
JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2007, 07:32 AM   #18
MOz
Jeeper
 
MOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poconos
Posts: 2,484
X2 BIG TIME: I do not see a ground for your antenna bracket. I installed a k40 firestick and grounded the bracket using a heavy gauge wire to the driver's tail light bracket. I drilled a small hole in the side of the tail light and filled it with black caulk to seal it. The directions for the antenna specifically state you need to ground the bracket so start there first.

Tuning: You need to tune the antenna AND the CB or you could damage the radio. Read the instructions and tune your antenna first, set it and then tune your CB (if it has the option).

Noise Filter: If after all is said and done you still get "buzzing" when your engine is running, you can pick up a noise filter ffrom Radio Shack. Some radios have supression capability. Wiring directly to the battery shoud reduce noise.

Good luck and let us know how you make out. The feed back is good for the forum and other people.
__________________


It ain't no fun unless you get some of it on you.
MOz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2007, 02:26 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
Hey thanks Moz but what i still dont get and couldn't find in the communications tread on the froum was from what part of the antenna do i run the ground from here is a pics of what i mean.

Do i ground for the top side of the mount to the little hole thats already on the mount. Or do i ground from the bottom side to the body as shown with the little blue arrows.

JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2007, 08:14 PM   #20
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
Like this.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ground.JPG
Views:	40
Size:	79.8 KB
ID:	2692
__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2007, 09:32 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
JeepGuyLJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 480
How did you do the loop around the coax cable never seen anything like that. Sorry for all the questions.
JeepGuyLJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2007, 10:43 PM   #22
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
Thats not my pic. Its the one I was telling you about in the Comm section of this forum. He used black ty-raps to secure it to the coax.

__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.



Jeep, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC