Need Some Free Space - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-13-2009, 04:08 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
Question Need Some Free Space

I'm thinking about installing a Bluetooth Wireless Adapter to use with my Head Unit. I haven't bought it yet just because I can't seem to find the space for it. I have an amp behind each seat. My HDD and Cell are mounted in the Glove Box. The extra power source and 3-way splitter, I have mounted behind the Glove Box. And all the wiring for my amps is under the center console. I've really run out of room quick, but I still want to put this in. I suppose I could mount it on top of one of my amps, but that would really look like garbage, and I don't like doing things in that half-a** manner.

I'd appreciate any ideas on where I can put this piece, that would be hidden neatly out of the way.
It's 11"X7"X2". It only weighs 1lb though.

__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2009, 08:37 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
daanbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Beach Fl.
Posts: 810
Images: 2
I don't know if this will work for you, but behind your tail-lights are some pretty big free spaces. The only way to get to them are from underneath though. You may be able to make a door from the top without hurting the integrity of the jeep. I'm not sure on that part though.

daanbc is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2009, 09:08 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Aug
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by daanbc View Post
I don't know if this will work for you, but behind your tail-lights are some pretty big free spaces. The only way to get to them are from underneath though. You may be able to make a door from the top without hurting the integrity of the jeep. I'm not sure on that part though.
I know this for a fact because i had to get my tailgate hardware and it was tough with my big arms. I dont think that would work out because mud and dirt get up in there pretty easily. What about some sort of tuffy lock box?
__________________
2001 Black TJ
31" tires
Go Gators
gator is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2009, 06:26 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
Yeah,
it would get ruined from the elements in that location.
Plus the cable for it is only 6', so it would need to stay somewhat close to the HU. Thanks though.

Unfortunately my cargo area is filled with my subs. Guess I should have mentioned that.
I only have a little over a foot of room to play with in that area, and I'd like to save that for stuff I take along with me. If I didn't have the subs that would work.

A guy at the audio place said he'd mount it up underneath the seat.
But I'm always sliding those seats back and forth, so you'd have to leave slack in the cables to do so. Eventually, that loose cable would get caught up on something and tear out the jacks on the unit. So I kinda would like to steer clear of that option if I can. It might not be avoidable though.

Any more suggestions?
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2009, 06:47 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLACKTOOTHGRIN View Post
A guy at the audio place said he'd mount it up underneath the seat.
But I'm always sliding those seats back and forth, so you'd have to leave slack in the cables to do so. Eventually, that loose cable would get caught up on something and tear out the jacks on the unit. So I kinda would like to steer clear of that option if I can. It might not be avoidable though.

if you have a professional do it they will run the wire so it will allow you to move the seat without breaking or damaging the cable.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2009, 07:14 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
daanbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Beach Fl.
Posts: 810
Images: 2
What about right in front of the center console. I have an auto, and there is some space where the console ends and the fire wall starts. It's all carpeted too. I think the 11'' part is wide enough.
daanbc is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2009, 04:47 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jdhallissey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gurnee,IL
Posts: 5,104
Send a message via AIM to jdhallissey
how bout back in the dash? tons of room behind the head unit
jdhallissey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2009, 05:10 PM   #8
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,621
There is lots of room behind the dash, problem is getting to it. You can also look behind the glove box.
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2009, 07:22 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by daanbc View Post
What about right in front of the center console. I have an auto, and there is some space where the console ends and the fire wall starts. It's all carpeted too. I think the 11'' part is wide enough.
That's a good idea. But for some reason I'm thinking that I have vents located there, I'm not sure though. I'll check that out this evening when I get home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdhallissey View Post
how bout back in the dash? tons of room behind the head unit
IS there???
Everything in mine appears to be VERY tight with all the cables for the amps and HDD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzTJ View Post
There is lots of room behind the dash, problem is getting to it. You can also look behind the glove box.
About what location of the dash has alot of room? Just so I'd have an idea of what area to possibly tear into.

I don't have any more room behind the glove box. That's where I mounted the extra power source, 3-way splitter, usb charger, cell charger and gps charger.
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2009, 11:03 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
Well......
I went ahead and bought the unit,
even though I don't know where the heck I'm going to be able put it.
I just couldn't pass up the deal that I was able to get on it.
These units normally go for $180-$200.
I was able to pick this one up for only $98.
$103 after shipping. Pretty good uh?
(no it's not a refurb, lol)
So I figured, even if I can't find a place to put it,
I should probably be able to sell it for about $150 if I need to.

Anyone with ideas on where I can put it, keep 'em coming.
This thing won't be here until next week some time.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2009, 11:22 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
I just got to thinking about it,
and I'm wondering if there would be enough room behind the Gauge Cluster.
When I replaced everything with the blue-led's, I think I remember seeing quite a bit of room back there. I just can't remember how much. The unit is only 2" thick, but I'm not sure if there is 2" inbetween the Gauge Cluster and the Firewall. But that WOULD keep it really close to the HU, and it would be hidden nicely too. I'm still gonna have to look into Dave's idea as well.

However,
I am worried that mounting with some self tappers into the Firewall will allow air and weather to come in.
What do you guys think about that?

These are some old pics of when I pulled everything for the LED's.
(just for reference, or idea sake)



__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2009, 11:34 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLACKTOOTHGRIN View Post

However,
I am worried that mounting with some self tappers into the Firewall will allow air and weather to come in.
What do you guys think about that?
there will be little to no air flowing through, if you want you can always get some bath and tile silicone to put around the screw.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2009, 12:09 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
daanbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Palm Beach Fl.
Posts: 810
Images: 2
Lowes or home depot sell that goey black rubber compound. I don't recall whats its called, I believe its in the plumbers isle. That stuff works great. Never dries, easy to mold and squeeze into tight places. I've used it for electrical wireing through a firewall before.
daanbc is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2009, 12:18 PM   #14
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,886
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
What about in one of these?



Oh, and I have one of those Bluetooth units for my Pioneer SatNav DVD thing. They are great.
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2009, 03:28 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jma20a View Post
there will be little to no air flowing through, if you want you can always get some bath and tile silicone to put around the screw.
That sounds good. And being that it's for bath type stuff, it should keep it dry too, right? That's definitely a place where I don't want to have a leak.

Quote:
Originally Posted by daanbc View Post
Lowes or home depot sell that goey black rubber compound. I don't recall whats its called, I believe its in the plumbers isle. That stuff works great. Never dries, easy to mold and squeeze into tight places. I've used it for electrical wireing through a firewall before.
Does it keep the water out Dave?
Oh, and I checked that area at the front of the console. I do have a vent there, but there looks like there would be just enough room to mount it underneath it, and might be a PERFECT fit. The only problem is that's where are my amp cables and KC light's wiring comes into the cab and up under the console. So I'm not sure that I can squeeze it up in there with all of that stuff. (It's all loomed and very thick) But I will surely try to when the unit arrives.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj View Post
What about in one of these?



Oh, and I have one of those Bluetooth units for my Pioneer SatNav DVD thing. They are great.
That piece looks bad a$$! I'll definitely have to keep it in mind for the future. I can't afford it right now though, after just buying the Bluetooth Adapter.

BTW, how do those units work with GPS?
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2009, 03:39 PM   #16
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,886
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
I never hooked up the GPS part of the DVD player. I have a Tom Tom that I use and I like the interface and layout. Besides if you hook up the GPS part you can't use the screen while the car is moving. You also have to tap into the speedo wire to get it to work. It is one of the AVIC units with touch screen.
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2009, 03:47 PM   #17
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,886
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Oh, and that bluetooth unit is way cool. My cell phone has bluetooth and has 8gigs of storage that is full of mp3s that I can run through the bluetooth and out through the headunit.
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2009, 05:27 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote_94yj View Post
Oh, and that bluetooth unit is way cool. My cell phone has bluetooth and has 8gigs of storage that is full of mp3s that I can run through the bluetooth and out through the headunit.
How useful have you found microphone to be, and where did you mount yours? I always have people complaining to me about my BlueTooth ear piece. I'm always having to shout because they say they can't hear me, and that I break up alot. I've heard that these units are supposed to be better about that, but I'm unsure. The mic on an ear piece is going to be closer to your mouth than anywhere you could possibly mount the one for this unit.
Also, have you used it with your top off? How good does it work in either situation? (top off, or on)
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2009, 10:48 AM   #19
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,886
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
Mine was mounted in my VW Golf but is now mounted in the jeeps new tow rig. A Mitsubishi Pajero. The microphone is clipped onto the sun visor which could also be done in the jeep. I haven't used the phone part of it yet. No one calls me. I might try to make a test call tonight though just to see how it sounds.

I get a great connection when doing the mp3 through bluetooth thing. It sounds just like a CD and no cutting out.
Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-27-2009, 05:58 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
BLACKTOOTHGRIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,210
THE GOOD NEWS:

The new BlueTooth Adapter arrived early last week, and everything was in tact.
It's actually considerably smaller than the BS dimensions that were listed on Amazon.
That should make it easier in finding a place to mount it.
So, hopefully the install will go smoothly.




THE BAD NEWS:



The weekend before last I broke my thumb on my dominant hand.
It's in a HUGE splint (thumb to elbow) and will be put in a cast (thumb to elbow) later this week.
This will have to stay on for the next 6 weeks, and will make it impossible for me to install the unit during that period.
While the unit is nice and compact,
this ridiculous piece on my arm is like a bear claw.
Guess I'll just have to wait.
The only way to get it done any faster is to pay someone to do it.
I talked to my audio guy, and he said he'd do it for $30, but I really hate letting others work on my stuff.
Something always seems to get messed up in that process.
So I'll probably just wait.
__________________
"ONE FOOT IN THE GUTTER, ONE FIST IN THE GOLD"
-BLACKTOOTHGRIN
BLACKTOOTHGRIN is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-04-2009, 08:27 PM   #21
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
^^ wow, that really sucks.
Get better quick!
jeeper creeper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2009, 12:43 PM   #22
Genius!

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Coyote_94YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 20,886
Send a message via ICQ to Coyote_94YJ Send a message via Yahoo to Coyote_94YJ
How'd you do it? Your not supposed to "handle" yourself that hard!! Sorry...couldn't resist.


I still haven't tried to place a call on it yet.

Coyote_94YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Free Free 2000#Trailer Hitch TJ Todd Morton Classifieds Archive 0 07-01-2006 10:01 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC