New head unit and factory amp - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-11-2010, 08:27 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Jbird450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 177
New head unit and factory amp

So I was thinking about getting a new head unit and I was wondering how the infinity stock amp works with new head unit ? I know there is a harness that let's you still use the amp but does that mean the power from the head unit doesn't work or does it just add to the power running to the speaker and give you a combined power going to the speakers. I have a 10' jk unlimited with the infinity package. Any thoughts?

Jbird450 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2010, 02:45 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Jaydogg25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 340
Send a message via AIM to Jaydogg25
factory amp is the power ...the radio will add no power.. only thing it may do is make it a little cleaner.

personaly before you did anything i would look @ what your looking to get out of the jeep and make a system to go w/ it. i hate all factory amplified systems. makes it harder to swap things. every time i get a new vehicle i replace everything.

factory systems only do so much.. doesnt matter if they are "higher" end ones. thats just another way to get more money out of the buyer, i know it sucks, can always get alot better system aftermarket than the "high end factory one" and in alot of cases for same money or less..

__________________
95 YJ, 4" suspension lift, 32's, 2.5l 4 cyl (350 built and waiting to be installed in spring, along with ford 8.8 rear end)
Jaydogg25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2010, 12:03 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jbird450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 177
It was just a brain fart I had, I replaced the speakers already and the headunit is next so I will abandon the stock amp and go with the head unit power for now.
Jbird450 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New head unit with factory infinity speakers Jbird450 JK General Discussion Forum 19 12-13-2010 11:07 PM
Hard Wire a head unit???? firefighter777 TJ Tech Forum 24 08-18-2010 04:28 PM
factory head unit and aftermarket soundbar speakers? michaelhouston Communications and Electronics 2 10-31-2009 05:36 PM
Factory Radio Head Unit RobW JK General Discussion Forum 0 05-11-2009 11:45 PM
factory head unit jk wrangler chi-town-jk JK General Discussion Forum 1 04-20-2009 08:39 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC