New head unit blowing fuses/ 89 YJ - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-13-2013, 02:53 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
New head unit blowing fuses/ 89 YJ

Alright guys, I bought a new Sony head unit for my 89 YJ because I thought the stock head unit was done. Well after I wired the new on in I turned the key and nothing happen. So I look at the acc fuse and it is blown and I replaced it. Turned the key to the on position and it worked! Well once I went to go for a drive I got not7 feet out of my driveway before it went out again! I don'tknow what's up! I looked for any bare wires(taped em) or loose wires and nothing! Help!

iLuvJeepYJ is offline   Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 01:06 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
I would check the ground wire to start

__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 09:44 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jma20a View Post
I would check the ground wire to start
I did, could it possibly be the illumination relay?
iLuvJeepYJ is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 05:22 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
ChasUGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,603
Images: 2
You may have too many amps drawing power from that one connection and it is blowing the ACC fuse. It's like what happens when you turn on a heater and a hair dryer in the same outlet or circuit, and it trips a breaker in your house. There maybe another ACC connection that uses a different fuse that you can tap into. Or you could wire in a new accessory into the accessory fuse box. They have a lot of empty slots, and just place a fuse in it. It's kind of like putting a new hard drive into a empty slot on your computer.
ChasUGC is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 02:47 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasUGC View Post
You may have too many amps drawing power from that one connection and it is blowing the ACC fuse. It's like what happens when you turn on a heater and a hair dryer in the same outlet or circuit, and it trips a breaker in your house. There maybe another ACC connection that uses a different fuse that you can tap into. Or you could wire in a new accessory into the accessory fuse box. They have a lot of empty slots, and just place a fuse in it. It's kind of like putting a new hard drive into a empty slot on your computer.
I'll look into it, on a scale of 1-10 how hard would this be?
iLuvJeepYJ is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC