No Subwoofer Hookup! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-25-2010, 02:12 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
No Subwoofer Hookup!

I got a sub woofer and insert for the center console of my 2006 Wrangler X. I removed the console to install the insert and discovered there are NO wires to hook up a subwoofer!

Is this typical? The Jeep did not come with a subwoofer, but I thought they would have at least run the wires for one from the factory. Am I missing something?

Thanks!

MartinTravels is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2010, 02:14 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
AfterMath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinTravels View Post
I got a sub woofer and insert for the center console of my 2006 Wrangler X. I removed the console to install the insert and discovered there are NO wires to hook up a subwoofer!

Is this typical? The Jeep did not come with a subwoofer, but I thought they would have at least run the wires for one from the factory. Am I missing something?

Thanks!
97-2006 didn't even consider subwoofers, so of course there is no wiring for it.

Jeep put in as little wiring as possible. I found this out when I switched from softtop to hardtop and wanted operational defrost and wiper/washer.

you will need to run wiring.

__________________
1998 Sahara Edition - I6 - 4.0 - Automatic


AfterMath is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2010, 05:02 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
I know other models have a stock subwoofer wired into the center console. I am guessing I need to get a special wire to run from the stereo, route it under the carpet and throught the console, and then hookup the subwoofer?

Does my stereo even have a subwoofer output on the back?
MartinTravels is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2010, 05:15 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Jaydogg25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 340
Send a message via AIM to Jaydogg25
is this a factory sub or aftermarket one?

if it's a aftermarket sub and a retro-fit for it.. then you will need a amp to power it as well as a line level converter to hook up to factory radio to change speaker wires into rca's to feed the amp
__________________
95 YJ, 4" suspension lift, 32's, 2.5l 4 cyl (350 built and waiting to be installed in spring, along with ford 8.8 rear end)
Jaydogg25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 12:56 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
It is a factory stereo and a factory sub. Are the wires hidden somewhere, or do I need to access the back of the stereo and run wires to the sub?
MartinTravels is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 07:41 AM   #6
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Quote:
Originally Posted by gminton View Post
97-2006 didn't even consider subwoofers, so of course there is no wiring for it.

Jeep put in as little wiring as possible. I found this out when I switched from softtop to hardtop and wanted operational defrost and wiper/washer.

you will need to run wiring.
Whaaaat...?

My 2002 has a factory sub in it...I think they did more than consider it.

To the OP, not sure if the wiring is there or not. If it is, it'd prolly be tucked up somewhere between the radio and the center console. Otherwise, you're gonna have to pick up a line out converter and a wiring kit and wire it up yourself or pick up a new headunit with RCA outputs and wire it up like you would any other aftermarket sub.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 07:50 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
AfterMath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 510
My fault, didn't think they did. I retract my previous statement...
__________________
1998 Sahara Edition - I6 - 4.0 - Automatic


AfterMath is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 08:53 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Jaydogg25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 340
Send a message via AIM to Jaydogg25
in alot of cases they tuck wires. that way when it's being put together they can easily hook up factory sub on a vehicle to vechicle basis, though sometime i have seen nothing @ all. and if thats the case then you will need some kind if diagram bc factory radios dont have sub outs.. they probably tap into speaker wires somewhere for the signal.
__________________
95 YJ, 4" suspension lift, 32's, 2.5l 4 cyl (350 built and waiting to be installed in spring, along with ford 8.8 rear end)
Jaydogg25 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 11:07 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Tahoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 125
Images: 3
My '02 came with a factory 5 1/4 " or so subwoofer in the center console. It was a package upgrade deal kinda thingy. Unlike the issue of trying to add a subwoofer, I am just trying to replace the blown out factory one.

I pulled the center console and removed all the interals. Any one have a suggestion on where to pick up a replacement 5 1/4 or 5 1/2" sub ????

But I have to admit, short of the parking brake sticking up through the pan, I kinda like it without that center-take up space- bang my elbow on it-console.
__________________
1978 CJ-5
Old School Rules

1964 CJ3B
1993 YJ
2002 TJ
Tahoe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 11:09 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
AfterMath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 510
The console is my arm rest...haha.
__________________
1998 Sahara Edition - I6 - 4.0 - Automatic


AfterMath is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 02:12 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
So does anyone know definitively if the Jeep comes pre wired for a sub from the factory regardless if it has a sub or not?
MartinTravels is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 05:04 PM   #12
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
schnutzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ring side seats to the the country's largest circus
Posts: 28,191
Send a message via AIM to schnutzy
if the sub upgrade was also a radio upgrade, then the stock non sub radio will not have the hook ups.
__________________
clinging on to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
schnutzy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 05:27 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
The radio is stock. What do you mean "if the sub upgrade is also a radio upgrade"? Thanks!
MartinTravels is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 05:33 PM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
schnutzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ring side seats to the the country's largest circus
Posts: 28,191
Send a message via AIM to schnutzy
the sub did not come standard. it was part of a package. generally those packages are things like audio upgrades and stuff. so the sub may not have been the only thing that was in that package. it may have also included a better cd player, or one that had a multi disk changer with it, more speakers which would require a more powerful head unit, etc. so if the radio that came in the sub equipped jeeps is different from the radio that came in the jeeps with out that package, then the radio will not have the hook ups for the sub.
__________________
clinging on to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
schnutzy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 06:52 PM   #15
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
The radio doesn't have the hook-ups for the sub anyway...they use a line out converter. It taps off the speaker wiring. Now that's not to say they didn't use a different headunit for Jeeps with subs...it's possible (doubtful, but I can't say for sure). If they did use a different headunit, it wasn't because of the wiring for the sub.

Also, tahoe, you may wanna double check the size of the sub... as far as I'm aware, the factory subs are all 6 1/2" not 5 1/4". For a replacement for a 6 1/2", go to Parts Express' website and order a 6 1/2" Pyramid sub. They require a little grinding on the plastic to fit (nothing major at all and nothing you have to worry about completely destroying if you screw up), but fit where the stock sub went...and they're only bout $20/shipped.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2010, 07:13 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
s3nt3nc3d--

Thanks for the good info about the sub output on the stereo. I guess I need to find out if I have a line out converter. What will that look like? Where would it be located?

MartinTravels is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced My Blown Subwoofer! Rogue Communications and Electronics 244 04-09-2014 10:51 AM
Subwoofer connector to RCA conversion Meatpuppet Communications and Electronics 7 04-14-2013 11:08 AM
Option code RCU = 7 speakers? Subwoofer?! hawk_sixsix Communications and Electronics 1 03-17-2010 06:42 PM
subwoofer question Samsrubicon Communications and Electronics 7 03-16-2010 07:33 PM
Subwoofer 98TJ Communications and Electronics 18 12-11-2007 04:49 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC