PAC, Metra, or none? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-23-2013, 04:04 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Question PAC, Metra, or none?

First, I've got a 2013 JK Sport with the base 130 HU with Sirius. NO UConnect, No Connectivity. The only steering wheel controls that I have are the volume buttons and the channel buttons BEHIND the steering wheel which I'm not concerned with retaining because I don't use them anyway, and cruise control/step on the front.

I just purchased a new JVC KW-AV61BT head unit from Amazon which I hope to replace the 130 with.

I've researched wiring harnesses and the responses are as varied as the Jeeps they are installed in.

I DO NOT think I need the PAC-CHy11 harness because, I don't care about retaining the steering wheel controls, and I don't have the factory amp.

Am I correct in thinking that I'll only need the Axxess AX-ADCH02 harness??




And just for information's sake, I'm going to be installing the JVC KW-AV61BT head unit, and a Pioneer TS-SWX251 10" sub powered by a Pioneer GM-3500T amp. I'll upgrade the dash and soundbar speakers to the Polks next month.

__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 08:51 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
I'm not familiar with the Axxess harness, but the first link I found for it says "The AX-ADCH02 is designed to and MUST be used with the AX-ADBOX1 or AX-ADBOX2 (sold separately)".

If you don't want steering wheel controls, then the PAC C2R-CHY4 will work. I don't know Metra products but I think the equivalent is this one - the reason I link that is because there have been reports of people having issues with the PAC interface not working with the latest firmware on their '13 Wranglers. I have a '13 and didn't have that problem, but I can't guarantee you anything. Do you know your build date?

__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 11:38 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
If I'm not mistaken, it was built in July '12... I bought it in September.

Ill check my data plate shortly.
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 11:45 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
If I'm not mistaken, it was built in July '12... I bought it in September.

Ill check my data plate shortly.
I think you should be good then, mine was built in December '12 and I had no firmware issues. I believe it's only the more recent vehicles that have reported problems.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-23-2013, 11:15 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foothills, CA
Posts: 186
You don't need any Adapters if you don't have the Alpine amp and don't want the steering wheel controls.

That said, you will kick yourself in the ass if you don't get the PAC SWI-RC steering wheel control interface at the time of the install. I have that same one on my early build 13 with a Clarion head unit and I use the crap out of those controls. I too don't have U-connect.
__________________
2013 JK Unlimied Sport S - True Blue
Mike_4462 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 12:09 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
I think I'm just going to get the PAC RP4-CH11 harness which will retain SWC's...
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 12:39 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_4462 View Post
You don't need any Adapters if you don't have the Alpine amp and don't want the steering wheel controls.

That said, you will kick yourself in the ass if you don't get the PAC SWI-RC steering wheel control interface at the time of the install. I have that same one on my early build 13 with a Clarion head unit and I use the crap out of those controls. I too don't have U-connect.
If you don't have a harness, you'll have to cut the factory plug off and wire separately. That's entirely fine but I would always recommend retaining stock wiring if possible, because in my experience when you sell a vehicle you'll never get anything like value for after market audio. Better to spend a couple of hours to return to stock and then retain your components for re-use or individual sale.

Agree with you on the steering wheel controls. Cheaper to not get them but you'll always be aggravated that you didn't. Short term expenditure to save long term annoyance.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 12:53 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post
If you don't have a harness, you'll have to cut the factory plug off and wire separately. That's entirely fine but I would always recommend retaining stock wiring if possible, because in my experience when you sell a vehicle you'll never get anything like value for after market audio. Better to spend a couple of hours to return to stock and then retain your components for re-use or individual sale.

Agree with you on the steering wheel controls. Cheaper to not get them but you'll always be aggravated that you didn't. Short term expenditure to save long term annoyance.


Ok, now I'm really getting confused.

Is the only reason for using the CH11 adapter, simply to prevent me from having to cut the factory plug off?

If thats the case, is there a cheaper option to match the factory plug and use the PAC SWI-RC.
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 01:09 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foothills, CA
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
Ok, now I'm really getting confused.

Is the only reason for using the CH11 adapter, simply to prevent me from having to cut the factory plug off?

If thats the case, is there a cheaper option to match the factory plug and use the PAC SWI-RC.
I believe Metra has one and its like $20 if you want to go that route.
__________________
2013 JK Unlimied Sport S - True Blue
Mike_4462 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 01:21 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_4462 View Post
I believe Metra has one and its like $20 if you want to go that route.

Ok, so do I get this $20 plug and the PAC SWI-RC, would they hook up together?

Or do I have to use one or the other?
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 01:45 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foothills, CA
Posts: 186
Okay. I dug a little deeper and I think you are better off with the PAC RP4-CH11 harness if it does everything. PAC says if you use the SWI-RC for the steering wheel you still need a CAN Bus adapter for an aftermarket stereo. I thought since you don't have the Alpine amp you wouldn't have to go that route, but since the stock radio is tied to the CAN Bus, you need some kind of adapter to fool it into not setting off the MIL and trouble codes.
__________________
2013 JK Unlimied Sport S - True Blue
Mike_4462 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-24-2013, 11:58 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
CoreyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 2,025
Yup, sadly there is no cheap harness for us due to the canbus.
CoreyZ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2013, 08:11 PM   #13
_3m
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
_3m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 2,766
I don't know about the later models but in earlier models the PAC harness you lost the ability to fade front to rear. The metra gives you that ability. NOW with that said I have one of each in my jeeps and find the PAC give you about 30% more volume and better bass. All depends on what's important to you
__________________
Life isn't about how you survive the storm, but how you dance in the rain
_3m is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2013, 09:01 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
So it's either spend $100 for the PAC and loose the fade, or spend $60 on the Metra and loose the SWC?
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-25-2013, 10:32 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
You only lose the fade if you're using an after market amp with the stock amplifier. If you're using an after market amp, or wiring the speakers directly to the HU to use its built in amp, you'll have no fade issues.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2013, 04:35 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
So it's either spend $100 for the PAC and loose the fade, or spend $60 on the Metra and loose the SWC?
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post
You only lose the fade if you're using an after market amp with the stock amplifier. If you're using an after market amp, or wiring the speakers directly to the HU to use its built in amp, you'll have no fade issues.
I have the factory amp so I'm using the Metra/Axxess to retain the fading, I think it's ashamed that PAC can't do front and back output with factory amp and seems like they have no intention to fix that. That made me have less confidence to their products.

Metra/Axxess don't sell an all-in-one module, but you can get the ASWC-1 separately for SWC.

First, I don't think you need a canbus module if you just want to use the SWC, at least that's the case of ASWC-1. There are 4 wires to connect, accessory power, ground, and 2 control wires. I solder those 2 control wires to the CHTO module but they are in fact directly connecting to the factory harness. You can get the instruction from Axxess website. And their technical support is responsive when I have to email them about not detecting my head unit which turned out to be a faulty harness from the ASWC-1 I got (an open box from Amazon)

I prefer the ASWC-1 over PAC because you can update the software of ASWC-1 (not the ASWC) with a regular micro-usb cable with a PC. It might not be really necessary unless you're planning to reuse it or resell it after years.

The new version of Axxess CHTO-013 or CHTO-03 (those are for with factory amp, you probably need another one as you don't have factory amp) has the connector to plug in the ASWC-1 module (you don't need the harness cam with ASWC-1 in that case). So, they will look like an all-in-one. Old version you will need to wire them separately or solder the wires of ASWC-1 on to the CHTO module yourself. That's what I did.

I don't know the exact difference of CHTO-013 and CHTO-03, I'm using CHTO-013BB (made for Bestbuy) as it's a lot cheaper on ebay which you can get for $15 or less, but make sure they include all harnesses and correct module as they're customer returned or restocked (the first one I got has correct harnesses but wrong module, I got full refund anyway)

BTW, there are 6 buttons behind the steering wheel. On each side there is up, down and also center button. You can have some good use of them.
mcdull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2013, 05:27 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 458
I read from another thread that the PAC RP4-CH11 seems also retain the VR and Phone buttons on the front, so might be that's why it needs the canbus module. The ASWC-1 I'm using didn't detect those 2 buttons, but 6 buttons are more than enough I need anyway and I'd rather to retain the fading with factory amp.
mcdull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-26-2013, 07:37 AM   #18
_3m
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
_3m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 2,766
In my 07 sport with the PAC unit installed I really don't notice the loss of the fade because you sit right under the rear speakers, in my Sahara with the Metra I have the ability to fade but as I stated I have far less power and not nearly the bass that the PAC unit has. Both have the upgraded sound system and I have retained the factory amp. I am considering changing out the amp on my Sahara to an infinity unit I have sitting around. Don't know what sorts of challenges that will present but should I decide to do it I'll keep you posted.
__________________
Life isn't about how you survive the storm, but how you dance in the rain
_3m is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-27-2013, 01:14 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by _3m View Post
In my 07 sport with the PAC unit installed I really don't notice the loss of the fade because you sit right under the rear speakers, in my Sahara with the Metra I have the ability to fade but as I stated I have far less power and not nearly the bass that the PAC unit has. Both have the upgraded sound system and I have retained the factory amp. I am considering changing out the amp on my Sahara to an infinity unit I have sitting around. Don't know what sorts of challenges that will present but should I decide to do it I'll keep you posted.
The loss of fading in PAC is from their own description
Pac-Audio.com Product Details | iPod Integration for your car and More by Pac-Audio - Connecting you to the future
In Premium Amplified Systems only two input channels can be used from the aftermarket radio, therefore there will be no fading capability of the aftermarket stereo.
mcdull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-27-2013, 07:38 AM   #20
_3m
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
_3m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 2,766
Yes I understand why I was just giving 1st hand experience between the two. Personally I'd rather have more power and loss of fade vs less power and the ability to fade. As I stated earlier , you literally sit right under the rear speakers so to fade front to rear would gain you little if anything.
__________________
Life isn't about how you survive the storm, but how you dance in the rain
_3m is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-27-2013, 07:04 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdull View Post
I read from another thread that the PAC RP4-CH11 seems also retain the VR and Phone buttons on the front, so might be that's why it needs the canbus module. The ASWC-1 I'm using didn't detect those 2 buttons, but 6 buttons are more than enough I need anyway and I'd rather to retain the fading with factory amp.


I ordered the PAC RP4-CH11.

But I don't have the phone buttons on the front of the steering wheel. I have the cruise control buttons, and the "step/reset" buttons on the front, and the 6 buttons on the back.

Could I get away with the ASWC-1???? Without having to cut off the factory plug on the vehicle side?

Why is this so effin confusing?
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-29-2013, 01:55 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by _3m View Post
Yes I understand why I was just giving 1st hand experience between the two. Personally I'd rather have more power and loss of fade vs less power and the ability to fade. As I stated earlier , you literally sit right under the rear speakers so to fade front to rear would gain you little if anything.
I seldom use the fading function, but when I used, I used that for my backseat passengers during long road trip when they're sleeping, so only I will have the music to keep me awake.
mcdull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-30-2013, 02:44 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
I ordered the PAC RP4-CH11.

But I don't have the phone buttons on the front of the steering wheel. I have the cruise control buttons, and the "step/reset" buttons on the front, and the 6 buttons on the back.

Could I get away with the ASWC-1???? Without having to cut off the factory plug on the vehicle side?

Why is this so effin confusing?


After emailing the Axxess support, I got the VR and Phone buttons detected on ASWC-1 (need to press those 2 keys after auto detection while the RED led is ON, however, the RED led will not turn off after 3 seconds like the instruction said. Anyway, those 2 buttons then work in manual assignment). So, totally 8 buttons can be used.

I'm pretty sure ASWC-1 will work for steering buttons without a canbus module since their 2 control wires are directly routed to the factory harness pins, but you will still need a harness (with or without the canbus module) if not to cut the factory wires.
mcdull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-30-2013, 09:14 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
I got the PAC RP4-CH11 installed yesterday, but the SWC's still don't work. I'll either have to program it or I've got something installed wrong.
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-30-2013, 09:29 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
It shouldn't need any programming, it should work out of the box as long as it's wired correctly.
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-30-2013, 04:07 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
It didn't.

I pulled everything out again this moring and verified my wiring, and that it was getting power. The LED was on, and it would flash when I pushed a button on the steering wheel, but nothing happened.

So I followed the instructions for programming, and voila! I know have volume up, down, and mute on the left side of the wheel, and track up, down, and source on the right side of the wheel.

__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC