Quick easy question about head unit install in 2012 Wrangler - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-03-2013, 09:18 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 457
Quick easy question about head unit install in 2012 Wrangler

Just got the PAC RP4-CH11 Factory Integration Adapter Connect a new car stereo and retain factory steering wheel audio controls, entertainment system, and amp in select 2004-up Chrysler models at Crutchfield.com

  • RP4-CHY11-A harness (13-pin to 10-pin connector + bare wires)
  • RP4-CHY11-B Interface harness (15-pin to 10-pin connector + bare wires)
  • 12" Steering wheel control harness (4-pin connector to 3.5mm/blue wire)
Do I wire the new radio to the A or the B harness? I wanted to prewire before I opened up the jeep

Also, where does the blue/yellow wire coming off the steering wheel control harness connect to? (I have a kenwood x997)

THanks!

tlminh is offline   Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 09:48 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
B harness.

The blue/yellow wire connects to the corresponding wire for SWC on the head unit, it should be labelled on the Kenwood wiring diagram. It's a matched blue/yellow wire on mine, but yours may differ. It will be labelled on the diagram as something like "external remote" or "OE remote".

__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 10:13 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 457
Yup. You are correct on all accounts.

I've installed radios on 5 other cars in my life and the jeep was by far the easiest one
__________________
2012 JKU - Dozer, TF 2.5 inch lift, Fox 2.0 shocks, Fox SS, Synergy Tie Rod, and many other mods
tlminh is offline   Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 08:54 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
Does this harness work if I don't have a factory amp? I'd assume yes.
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:05 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 457
Yup. I don't have the factory amp
__________________
2012 JKU - Dozer, TF 2.5 inch lift, Fox 2.0 shocks, Fox SS, Synergy Tie Rod, and many other mods
tlminh is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC