radio...RCA outputs - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-01-2007, 10:41 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
mrbigjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,288
radio...RCA outputs

ok, my mom is buying me a new radio for CHRISTmas (so i can hook up ipod). i have a couple choices but there is a sony at walmart that is my favorite. the others are just too flashy...anyway, i have a sub and amp hooked up to the stock radio right now. i read a couple of reviews about the sony not having rca outputs so they couldn't install a sub or amp. well i talked to the dude at walmart and he said you can hook it up without RCA's but it will be more cumbersome. well, obviously its alread hooked up without them because its hooked to the stock radio which doesn't have RCA's. basically i'm just wondering if i will still be able to use my sub and amp even though the radio doesn't have the outputs on the back (but neither does the stock one, right). or do i have to get one with outputs on the back.

i'm not looking for opinions on the sony radio itself. just wanna know if i can still use my sub and amp (i won't be hooking it up, comes with free installation card) also, don't recommend any fm transmitters.

link

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=7788881

mrbigjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 11:28 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
sgnellett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Under a sheet of ice, you know, from Global Warming!
Posts: 2,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbigjeep View Post
ok, my mom is buying me a new radio for CHRISTmas (so i can hook up ipod). i have a couple choices but there is a sony at walmart that is my favorite. the others are just too flashy...anyway, i have a sub and amp hooked up to the stock radio right now. i read a couple of reviews about the sony not having rca outputs so they couldn't install a sub or amp. well i talked to the dude at walmart and he said you can hook it up without RCA's but it will be more cumbersome. well, obviously its alread hooked up without them because its hooked to the stock radio which doesn't have RCA's. basically i'm just wondering if i will still be able to use my sub and amp even though the radio doesn't have the outputs on the back (but neither does the stock one, right). or do i have to get one with outputs on the back.

i'm not looking for opinions on the sony radio itself. just wanna know if i can still use my sub and amp (i won't be hooking it up, comes with free installation card) also, don't recommend any fm transmitters.

link

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=7788881
Can't imagine why it wouldn't work, if you have the stocker set up that way now, right?

__________________
SGNellett, 02 TJ "LUCY" 3" BDS w/ quick disco's, 33x12.5x15's on Chrome Steel Tailgunners, K&N CAI, Tomkens front & rear w/ swing away tire carrier

Quote:
Originally Posted by skeeter View Post
And the most important safety, I never put my booger hook on the bang switch unless I'm ready to fire.
sgnellett is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 11:37 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Big Jeep yes you can you need an speaker to rca converter... you can find those at best buy or other big audio places for 20ish bucks.. let me see if i can find a pic and link for you.

Basically it connects to 2 of your speaker outputs (wired as a parallel circuit) so you have your regular speaker unaffected and that thing taps into the speaker to get a signal and lowers it to low amp input volume. Also doesn't your amp have speaker level inputs? usually those are as one huge plug on the amp.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 12:06 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
dwdrums801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triple88a View Post
Big Jeep yes you can you need an speaker to rca converter... you can find those at best buy or other big audio places for 20ish bucks.. let me see if i can find a pic and link for you.

Basically it connects to 2 of your speaker outputs (wired as a parallel circuit) so you have your regular speaker unaffected and that thing taps into the speaker to get a signal and lowers it to low amp input volume. Also doesn't your amp have speaker level inputs? usually those are as one huge plug on the amp.
those thinkgs sound sooo bad and you can get soo much out of your sub with something with a sub out
__________________
06 Rubi Unlimited, 3.5" Rubicon Express LA, OME Shocks, Metal Cloak Aluminum Bumper, Warn Winch, Power locks/remote start.
dwdrums801 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 12:35 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
mrbigjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgnellett View Post
Can't imagine why it wouldn't work, if you have the stocker set up that way now, right?
this is what i was thinking...just wanna make sure.
mrbigjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 12:35 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
mrbigjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwdrums801 View Post
those thinkgs sound sooo bad and you can get soo much out of your sub with something with a sub out
well if i have it hooked to the stock radio now, shouldn't i already have that thing? it sounds fine now.
mrbigjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 12:48 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jeeperx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 353
Must already have the converters on it or the stocker has rca's? without rca only option is converters-i dont have any experience with sound quality from the converters?!!
__________________
2004 TJ
4" suspension lift
sye/TW driveshaft
NTH degree c/a
2" body lift
aussie locker
Rancho rs9000 shocks
tube bumpers
winch
33x12.50 firestone's
cold air intake
throttle body spacer
rear led's
sony MEX5DI deck
big ol amp
infinity speakers
-------------------> http://miobi.org/main.htm
--------------------> http://www.jocci.com/
jeeperx2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 01:36 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwdrums801 View Post
those thinkgs sound sooo bad and you can get soo much out of your sub with something with a sub out
Hmm thats weird, the one i had was adjustable so you can adjust the noise and volume level.. Mine sounded great actually. When i hooked it up to the RCAs there was minor difference because now i was able to mess around w/ the bass for the sub separately and shut off the bass to the rear speakers so they don't rattle when turned up high. So 10/10 for sound quality.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 04:41 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
mrbigjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,288
ok so i must already have them (the stocker doesn't have RCA's). so i'm gonna go with the sony radio.

as far as sound, mine is great so im not worried about that.
mrbigjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-01-2007, 11:27 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
6DEVIL16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Other-side Expanding Universe B4 Heaven
Posts: 83
Sony with no RCA's??? Does Amp in require RCA???

If your new Sony has no RCA's the speaker-outs left/right/front/rear need to go into your Amp that way. The amp has +12v and GND. Also Remote wire to turn amp ON. If you wire rear-speaker wire to Amp, then Amp or Sub filters High Frequency out, it will work fine. You will continue to hear all-range through stock-speakers, and amplify low-freq out to sub.
6DEVIL16 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-02-2007, 02:28 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6DEVIL16 View Post
Also Remote wire to turn amp ON. If you wire rear-speaker wire to Amp, then Amp or Sub filters High Frequency out, it will work fine. You will continue to hear all-range through stock-speakers, and amplify low-freq out to sub.

you cannot wire 40-50 watts rear speaker signal into the amp rca input, thats why you need a converter to lower the signal for the amp RCAs, however some amps have other input designed just for the 40-50 watts signal that automatically lower the volume on its own...

Amp RCA input signal level ranges from about 2 to 4volts

Your amp should also have low frequency filter that you need to turn on so it doesn't try to produce high frequency sound into the sub (it will damage it)

As for the amp remote.. you can wire that to a 12 volt acc signal so whenever you turn the key on, the amp turns on.
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-18-2007, 11:36 PM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Corpus Christi Tx
Posts: 1
ive got an 05 wrangler like the one above.....can you tell me what color the remote wire is??i got it all hooked up but i need the remote wire...
floresrr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-18-2007, 11:41 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 8,286
Send a message via AIM to Triple88a Send a message via MSN to Triple88a Send a message via Yahoo to Triple88a Send a message via Skype™ to Triple88a
Floresrr hook it up to the acc wire and use that as a "remote wire" so whenever you turn the key to on, your amp will be on .. I dont think the stock cd player has a remote...
Triple88a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-18-2007, 11:41 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: where my hat is
Posts: 1,489
nearly always blue+white

Smeghead is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mario's Double DIN radio install emev0l Communications and Electronics 60 01-31-2012 11:35 PM
I passed! amy Communications and Electronics 38 09-19-2011 02:04 PM
External Sirius Radio Antenna soupy1957 Communications and Electronics 10 05-25-2008 07:17 PM
Plug and Play Sirius Satellite Radio scotiez Communications and Electronics 5 02-08-2008 09:16 PM
Cb mrbigjeep Communications and Electronics 29 12-31-2006 03:58 AM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC