stereo problems? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-03-2013, 09:29 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Huntiebooboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 33
stereo problems?

I recently had 4 Rockford fosgate speakers and two 12" Suns installed in my yj jeep, now I can't turn on my headlights and radio at the same time?
If my stereos running and I flip my headlights on the stereo stops, but my brights (flashers) work if I manual hold the lever toward me. Any one have any opinions? Anything helps

Huntiebooboo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-04-2013, 06:24 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
ChasUGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,383
Images: 2
I'm thinking you didn't wire your amp properly. You didn't mention it, but I assume that you must have an amp powering those 2-12" subs. Are you using accessory power for your amp? Does the light actually go out on your HU, or is your amp going into protection mode?

ChasUGC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-04-2013, 09:26 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Huntiebooboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 33
I didn't install these, I had a professional company do it. So I'll be driving down the road with my stereo on playing music, and when I switch the button for my headlights, the stereo has no power at all. Nothing is working, its like the jeep is turned off. I think I'm going to have the people who bout it in look at it and fix it.
Huntiebooboo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-04-2013, 01:52 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 319
Sounds like they may have pulled power for your head unit from your lighting circuit and it is probably overwhelming it when you try to run both at the same time.

There are companies like PAC and Metra that sell wiring harnesses to avoid these types of problems. It's worth the extra money unless you want your windshield wipers to come in when you make a Bluetooth call. Or you horn to honk when you hit eject on the CD player. Or your heated seats to turn on when mute the stereo. You get the picture.
Mattk11 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-04-2013, 07:57 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
ChasUGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,383
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntiebooboo View Post
I didn't install these, I had a professional company do it.
Take it back and have them to install it right. Tell them what the problem is, and they should know what they did wrong. They must have drawn power for the amp from the head lamp constant power. This is wrong. Amps should be directly powered to the battery. I'll post a picture of my amp cable. It is huge.
ChasUGC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-04-2013, 09:52 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
no one in their right mind would "draw power for the amp from the head lamp constant power"

i would like to see your amp cable picture.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-04-2013, 11:11 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
ChasUGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,383
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jma20a View Post
no one in their right mind would "draw power for the amp from the head lamp constant power"

i would like to see your amp cable picture.
Well, maybe the installer wasn't in their right mind.

Because, according to the OP, the amp is making the lights go out, so it is clear that they must have wired into the headlights. Only the amp needs constant power, not the HU.
ChasUGC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-04-2013, 11:26 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
ChasUGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,383
Images: 2
I took snap shots of my amp connection for the OP. This is the proper size for most amp cables and the proper location of the connection to the battery. You can see that the normal wire is about one tenth the size, and the amp connection has a large fuse. You should see something like this under your hood. I removed the covering so that you could see the cable size.




ChasUGC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-04-2013, 11:31 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
MonsterTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Leesburg,GA
Posts: 249
Sounds to me like he has a terrible ground or insufficient power that vould be from many things like battery alt or wiring

MonsterTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC