Stock Stereo aftermarket Subs/Amp - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-14-2011, 02:59 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Castroville, Texas
Posts: 33
Stock Stereo aftermarket Subs/Amp

I just got my 3rd Wrangler, 2004. For a temp fix I would like to see if someone can tell me how to wire up the factory radio to an amp to run 2 subs?

Thanks!
Chaz.

Slider28 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2011, 10:19 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Richd1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA.
Posts: 218
Maybe someone will take the time to explain to you what you are asking. Another suggestion is to do a search on this subject and see if you can find the answer. It is totally doable.

__________________
Richard
'04 F250 SD CCLB PSD 4X4 6" Skyjacker 35x12.50x17
'05 Wrangler, 6cyl, manual, 3.5 RE with 33x10.5x16
'98 Cherokee 4.0L I6-Sold, '89 YJ 2.5L I4- Sold
Semper fi
1,10" Sub enclosure(local p.u.)built by Just4effect.com for SALE PM me for details
Richd1963 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2011, 09:00 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Castroville, Texas
Posts: 33
My first Wrangler 95 didtn come with a stereo so I built it up.. the 98 had one, but I didnt mess with a system.. this 04 im gunna have The Beatles kicked at 1000W or more.. I understand the stock radio wont had the quality of a pioneer head unit. but If anyone has done this can you tell me how the quality was??

Thanks!
Chaz.
Slider28 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2011, 09:25 AM   #4
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,642
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Quality shouldn't be too bad...you'll need a line out converter wired in at the headunit. Then run your signal wires from it back to your amp. Sub wiring will be either in series or parallel depending on the impedance and number of voice coils on the subs and the ratings of the amp. The main thing is get a line out converter.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2011, 09:37 AM   #5
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,322
It can be done, should it? Nah, its not worth your time honestly. Ive been in the biz for 20 years and I can say you might get 50 percent of the potential by doing it that way. The factory radio isnt made to drive an amp input, it cant control it, and the signal it puts to the amp is dirty, underpowered, and should only be used as a last resort. They make some nice converters at a cost, but your already over halfway to a new headunit by that time so why not replace it with one that has mp3, usb, etc, and a sub control
Ibuildembig is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-15-2011, 08:20 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Castroville, Texas
Posts: 33
Welp! I just bought an Alpine headunit... But my NEXT concern is that SUB in the center console that sounds like a FART when the bass hits... Should I just BYPASS that and just run my subs or is there a DECENT replacement?? im ONLY running the AMP on the subs.. The OTHER speakers will be ran off the headunit alone..

Thanks Again!
Chaz.
Slider28 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2011, 07:26 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
seelye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: chesapeake va
Posts: 686
check jl audio stealhbox,,
__________________
2011 sahara unlimited bright white
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/my-...ara-88641.html
Just
Everyday
Excited
People
seelye is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-16-2011, 02:48 PM   #8
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,642
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slider28 View Post
Welp! I just bought an Alpine headunit... But my NEXT concern is that SUB in the center console that sounds like a FART when the bass hits... Should I just BYPASS that and just run my subs or is there a DECENT replacement?? im ONLY running the AMP on the subs.. The OTHER speakers will be ran off the headunit alone..

Thanks Again!
Chaz.
If you bypass it just dont hook the blue (or white/blue) wire up...otherwise you can replace the stock sub with a 6 or 6 1/2" Pyramid sub for like $15. They sound better than the stocker but they still aren't gonna pump out serious bass. I'm running a single 10" sub behind my seats and I like it way better than my stock sub.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2011, 10:10 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Castroville, Texas
Posts: 33
Im folding up the back seat to put in my 2 12" Kickers and Infinity 255a amp... But i figured the Alpine unit could just push a little on that little sub in the console.
Slider28 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-17-2011, 11:17 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
seelye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: chesapeake va
Posts: 686
just run that center console sub off of the rear speakers..not going to do much but it will be part of your speaker system instead of part of your sub and amp.

__________________
2011 sahara unlimited bright white
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/my-...ara-88641.html
Just
Everyday
Excited
People
seelye is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock stereo, code required??? Turbaru Communications and Electronics 7 02-25-2011 10:51 PM
Hardwire aftermarket stereo Marckr32 JK General Discussion Forum 0 08-13-2010 09:10 PM
MA: Stock TJ stereo receiver bfoley Classifieds Archive 0 04-25-2010 02:12 PM
2003 TJ stock stereo question/problem Kyle03Sport TJ Tech Forum 4 03-10-2010 11:45 AM
stock stereo friggenhammer@aol.com Communications and Electronics 9 11-15-2008 05:30 PM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC