Strobe wiring question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-18-2014, 09:37 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Strobe wiring question

Ok so i ordered 2 whalen vertex hideaways. They are installed in tailights and i have the wires ran up front. Now the question is they say to fuse the power at 3a and scan at 1a. I will be stopping at the store tomorrow to grab the supplies.

What gauge wire should i get?
Should i run fuses on the power and if so what should i get?
How should i wire up the pattern button? to another switch?

Thanks.

speedyo40 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 09:17 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
JD95YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockbridge GA
Posts: 1,135
Images: 11
Something small like 16-18 ga wire would be fine. Always use a fuse and make sure it's as close as possible to the power source. This way, if there's ever a short, it'll blow rather than burn It says to get a 3 amp fuse, so just use that.

__________________
95 4.0 "EL DIABLO"
JD95YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 04:17 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Quick question i have everything now. Since my switch is close to the radio can i piggie back my power into the radios harnesses Red power? and do the same with the ground?
speedyo40 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 04:19 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
JD95YJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockbridge GA
Posts: 1,135
Images: 11
I wouldn't. It would work as a power source but may cause interference with your radio.
__________________
95 4.0 "EL DIABLO"
JD95YJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 07:36 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
are you going to be using a relay of any kind or just a fused straight wire?
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2014, 08:18 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Good luck
Bobpima is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-20-2014, 08:01 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 178
Pick up power from the 12v plug. If you don't want to go to the battery. If the requirement to change pattern on the go is not a requirement to you just run the pattern wire to the dash set the pattern and tape the wire off. Otherwise just put a push button

Kingcat is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC