Subwoofer connector to RCA conversion - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-18-2009, 07:03 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Subwoofer connector to RCA conversion

Hello,

I recently purchased a 2006 Jeep Wrangler Unliimited. I replaced the factory stereo with a Kenwood so I could have bluetooth and ipod functionality. The factory stereo had three connections on it. One for the power and speakers, one for the antenna and one smaller one that I traced back to what appears to be a subwoofer under the center console. The Kenwood stereo has two RCA connectors labled as subwoofer but the original connector is kind of a little 1/2 inch box with 6-8 wires (maybe more) going into it. Do you guys have any advice on how to connect the factory subwoofer to my new stereo?

Thanks!

PS. I have never been into cars and stuff but this Jeep is really making me want to figure it out. The stereo installation actually went suprisingly well...except for this subwoofer part! This site is sweet!!!

PPS. I am also looking for good running boards and a locking gas cap if you guys have any advice.

Meatpuppet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2009, 09:41 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
chesterspl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Smoking in the Garage
Posts: 162
Send a message via Yahoo to chesterspl
From what you are saying the sub has it's own amp. I would find it. You may need to feed the sub from an aftermarket amp. I would so some research but there is not a way to adapt from the plug to the RCA's. What size is the sub. I personally would take the sub out and if possible, I do not know what size the hole is but drop in an aftermarket sub and put an aftermarket amp. Easy fix.

The plug you are describing is just a signal feed. It feeds a remote "turn's amp on" and sound signals. it's very low voltage to the subs amp. The amp receives it power from another source.

It's hard to explain what I am thinking but you can't adapt as far as I know. Check with a local sound shop and maybe they can help. They may be able to help.

__________________
"Waking up early pulling double shifts is going make an old man of me long before I ever get rich"
chesterspl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2009, 09:43 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
chesterspl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Smoking in the Garage
Posts: 162
Send a message via Yahoo to chesterspl
Quote:
Check with a local sound shop and maybe they can help. They may be able to help.
Sorry for the double saying there, I am tired and thinking to hard
__________________
"Waking up early pulling double shifts is going make an old man of me long before I ever get rich"
chesterspl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2009, 09:54 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
KellyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: spokane washington
Posts: 521
You could use the sub but you will have to find the amp for it. The amp needs to have the input from your new deck and then it will push it through the sub. I think you would be better off getting an aftermarket amp and sub and do your own install that way. Sell the stock sub and amp intact. They want alot for them at the stealership for them.
__________________
99TJ S 4.0 5speed DPG ultimate kit. 3" OME coils with OME LT nitro shocks 1"MML JKS sway bar links and discos JKS F/R ajust trackbars custom made cage with beltfed HK21 mount 32x11.5x15
KellyK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2009, 06:40 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
while you are at it just do a full upgrade now, nothing over the top.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2013, 03:08 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 534
Send a message via Yahoo to ChaddG
Quote:
Originally Posted by KellyK View Post
You could use the sub but you will have to find the amp for it. The amp needs to have the input from your new deck and then it will push it through the sub. I think you would be better off getting an aftermarket amp and sub and do your own install that way. Sell the stock sub and amp intact. They want alot for them at the stealership for them.

+1

I had the same issue, get a 6 inch sub and an small amp from walmart, mine doesn't need more than 140 Watts.
kicker sells one. sounds great!
ChaddG is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2013, 09:25 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 643
So the sub in question - it's in the center console, and it's factory installed, right? You can easily retain the sub by hooking up the amp turn on wire at your new stereo. You will not use the SUB RCA connectors, those are for aftermarket systems. Instead, you will just need to ensure that the Blue/White wire coming off your stereo is connected to the amp turn on lead. If you used a wiring harness adapter to plug directly into your factory radio harness, the amp turn on wire should be Blue/White as well, though older TJ's used a solid Blue wire there instead. This will turn on the factory amp and get your sub working again.
eboven is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-14-2013, 11:08 AM   #8
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboven View Post
So the sub in question - it's in the center console, and it's factory installed, right? You can easily retain the sub by hooking up the amp turn on wire at your new stereo. You will not use the SUB RCA connectors, those are for aftermarket systems. Instead, you will just need to ensure that the Blue/White wire coming off your stereo is connected to the amp turn on lead. If you used a wiring harness adapter to plug directly into your factory radio harness, the amp turn on wire should be Blue/White as well, though older TJ's used a solid Blue wire there instead. This will turn on the factory amp and get your sub working again.

I am having the same issue and haven't tackled iot yet since i am finding two harnesses available. I also have the sub and am replacing the speaker with a Pyramid 6.5 so i want to retain it. Which wire harness will I need? One is all wires and the other has RCA connections which my new radio doesn't have.

tevans60 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
rca , stereo , subwoofer

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conversion Shorty Communications and Electronics 0 11-19-2008 10:43 PM
my 65MPH subwoofer... notherone JK General Discussion Forum 3 10-13-2008 12:07 PM
How to fit a 12" subwoofer (w/ box) behind my seat w/o taking the seat out? whitesport TJ General Discussion Forum 11 08-05-2008 02:34 PM
Subwoofer 98TJ Communications and Electronics 18 12-11-2007 04:49 PM
Full Traction 3-Link Conversion Kit nicolas-eric TJ General Discussion Forum 17 11-26-2007 04:06 PM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC