Train horn wiring - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Tech Forums > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-24-2011, 06:01 PM   #1
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Train horn wiring

Yea so sue me. I bought a train horn for my Jeep. Got the tank, compressor, and horns mounted. Only thing is all it comes with is a crappy wiring diagram that I can't seem to fig out. ( I do have some wiring experience but not much). Bought the base model from trainhornsdelivered.com. Anyone have any experience with these that may be willing to share some knowledge?!

--save me the nonsense about how illegal or annoying these are! I think it's great.

__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2011, 06:06 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
sim333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: League City Tx
Posts: 392
Images: 9
I also i have one.
New toy

__________________
Enjoying life with my Beautiful Wife
sim333 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2011, 06:07 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
sim333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: League City Tx
Posts: 392
Images: 9
Where are you having trouble at?
__________________
Enjoying life with my Beautiful Wife
sim333 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2011, 06:14 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Hate to say it but the entire wiring diagram is just throwing me through a loop. I think the relay is really complicating things for me as well. I am going to call there customer service see if they can't walk me through it step by step this week. Also did you purchase an extra switch or just Eire it through factory horn?
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2011, 06:21 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
sim333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: League City Tx
Posts: 392
Images: 9
I used an additional switch. I also dont have a relay. I ran a 3 prong switch (2.99)
__________________
Enjoying life with my Beautiful Wife
sim333 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2011, 08:44 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
is this the wire diagram? its the one linked to the "max level one". http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/yhst-31470690586117_2177_81
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2011, 10:26 PM   #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Yes that's it
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2011, 10:40 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
the relay is used as a dual function switch...

on the hot side (of the relay), at 86, you apply +12V using the accessory switch. shut off the switch, you got no 12V, and the relay stays open and the pump doesn't run.

on the ground side (of the relay), at 85, you apply a ground, which goes through a pressure sensor on the tank. tank reaches pressure, sensor opens, shuts off the ground, and the relay opens up for lack of a ground and shuts off power to the pump.

If that doesn't compute, ask very specifically what part you aren't getting and I'll try to Barney it up a little more

the relay should have the numbers 85, 86, 87, and 30 stamped or printed on the bottom... you can just run 4 wires off it to the right locations based on the picture and not worry about what they do or why they are there... run them as shown and they will work properly...

the solenoid is a totally separate circuit...
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-24-2011, 10:53 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
you can also eliminate the relay entirely... take your 12V supply line, run it to a switch, then to the compressor. Run the ground from the compressor to the pressure sensor on the tank, and ground the other line on the pressure switch...

same exact outcome, except that you're running the entire supply through the switch. Check the rating on the switch (15AMP, 30AMP, etc.) and make sure the fuse you put on the line is the same rating or lower. You don't want 30 AMPS running through a 20AMP switch... that's called a cigarette lighter

There are higher amp switches you can use also, push/pull types or red key shutoffs are great.
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 01:35 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
buster01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vacaville CA
Posts: 185
I for one am glad your having trouble. You deserve it.
__________________
DRIVE IT LIKE YOU PAID FOR IT
buster01 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 08:08 AM   #11
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Thanks for the replies. Once I get in there an can take a look some of this will make more sense. Appreciate it.

As for you buster... What can I say, I expected to get some responses like that so I'm really not even mad. Actually got a good chuckle when I read that.
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 10:58 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by buster01 View Post
I for one am glad your having trouble. You deserve it.
it's like blue hair and skinny jeans buster... everyone has the freedom to be their own kinda retard

I've taken an angle grinder to my jeep twice for major surgery and it's got a whopping 16K miles on it... I've had several people tell me that it was stupid...
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 11:30 AM   #13
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Couldn't have said it better myself...
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 12:18 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
buster01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vacaville CA
Posts: 185
My comment was not directed at the air horn but at the arrogant idiot behind it. I have train horns on my big rig and my pickup, but I only use them appropriately.
__________________
DRIVE IT LIKE YOU PAID FOR IT
buster01 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 01:22 PM   #15
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Well yea I intotaly understand. I know how ridiculous and idiotic the thing is. Love it. I may use it inappropriately but that's the humor behind it. To each his own.
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 02:05 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
I think train horns are retarded too for the record, but I'll help ya install it if'n I can... it's your jeep just don't come to texas trying to put one on mine...
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 03:17 PM   #17
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Yea I dont know if I'll try and put one on your jeep. You just might nor be cool enough for one haha!!
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 03:55 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
when abused train horns get boring quick, eventually a few months down the road you are going to say "i wish i spent that money on something practical for my jeep" and i'll put a George Forman guaranty on that one.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 04:06 PM   #19
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Idk I've been sitting on this money for something for the jeep for a while. Good thing about it is it's a ridiculous horn and also an on board air system.... So the train horn may get old, which i doubt bc i have a ridiculous sense of humor, but the air compressor will always come in handy. Take it as you will.......
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 04:30 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
what do you plan on using it as an on board air system for? the tank is small and the compressor doesn't have enough power to refill the tank at a reasonable rate. i would say that if you are looking for an on board air system get a real one like this.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-25-2011, 07:17 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Images: 1
so... did we figure out the wiring?
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-26-2011, 12:32 AM   #22
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
Haven't messed around with it today. Bears packers game all day today sad to say.... Gunna try and tackle it sometime this week if possible.
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-27-2011, 05:58 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Richd1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA.
Posts: 218
So you think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buster01 View Post
My comment was not directed at the air horn but at the arrogant idiot behind it. I have train horns on my big rig and my pickup, but I only use them appropriately.
So, am I understanding this correctly? Buster only uses his train horns when he is travelling on the rail system and approaching a crossing! Ah, I see. DOH



Yeah, I too use my air horns (dual) when butt-heads pull out in front of me and risk their life jumping in my path. As would any trucker.

"The only thing weaker than a Jeeps stock horn is a Jeeps stock headlights."
__________________
Richard
'04 F250 SD CCLB PSD 4X4 6" Skyjacker 35x12.50x17
'05 Wrangler, 6cyl, manual, 3.5 RE with 33x10.5x16
'98 Cherokee 4.0L I6-Sold, '89 YJ 2.5L I4- Sold
Semper fi
1,10" Sub enclosure(local p.u.)built by Just4effect.com for SALE PM me for details
Richd1963 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2011, 11:41 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 57
Friend of mine had a train horn set up in an old saturn we set up a couple times, then moved into an s10, basically the way we ran it was hot lead (fused) into the compressor, ground lead into a switch and then from switch to compressor, with a second button to activate the horn solenoid. his was not a kit though, all the pieces were torn off of various old big rigs, and the thing would fill tires etc...
HeadturnerYJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2011, 02:55 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 27
Not to thread jack, need some quick assistance.

I am trying to use a 12vdc feed from the horn in my jk to power an aux siren when using the jeep on emergency calls.
Dealer says k19 is a relay. I can't find it.

Goal is to wire a 12vdc from the horn relay through a switch which will be off until the need for the siren arises.

Also, where is a good location in tge fire wall to drill a hole for a wire pass through?
NorthEastJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-23-2011, 08:29 PM   #26
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
I ran all my wires through an existing hole on the passenger side just below the glove box. May not be there in yours. PO may have drilled it himself. As for your other questions I do not know.
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-24-2011, 04:27 AM   #27
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,642
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
I replaced my factory horn with a small air horn...yeah, it's not a train horn...but with all the idiot drivers on the road today, loud horns definitely serve a purpose. I like to make sure EVERYONE around knows when some idiot pulls out in front of me. It definitely gets the driver's attention better than my wimpy factory horn did as well...now when someone pulls out in front of me, I hit the horn and watch them immediately jump and look back. Never got so much as an acknowledgement before...
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-24-2011, 06:43 AM   #28
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Mike5087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 720
I'll usually get up next to somebody that's texting and not paying attention and hit it and watch them freak out.!
__________________
All the dude wanted was his rug back.

I'm just a big, hairy, American winnin' machine!
Mike5087 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-24-2011, 09:07 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
Scoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike5087 View Post
I'll usually get up next to somebody that's texting and not paying attention and hit it and watch them freak out.!
One of my favorite things to do as well. I dont have a train horn though. I went with a air horn from an International dump truck. Not as loud as the train horns but a much deeper tone.
__________________
Scoob
Scoob is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-24-2011, 10:16 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Slammin Salmon in Alaska
Posts: 1,947
I wish someone would make a laser that mounts on front of the jeep so I could just fry some idiots

Ted_D is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking aftermarket horn up to stock YJ horn switch. . .wiring diagrams??? atomicjoe23 YJ Tech Forum 5 11-07-2012 07:06 AM
1994 Horn Wiring - Need help! Steamnclean YJ Tech Forum 2 09-12-2010 11:53 PM
train horn and mudding? upinar TJ General Discussion Forum 54 10-18-2007 03:44 PM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC