uconnect and android autoplay music - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-09-2012, 09:27 AM   #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
uconnect and android autoplay music

okay i have the uconnect system in my new Rubi and everytime i start the car it connects then my phone starts the damn android muisc palyer fires up and picks a random song. and i cant stop it. i have to try it like 12 times before it gets the hint to stop. i know there is a uconnect guru here help me out

__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 12:00 PM   #2
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
Hello,
I'm not a guru but I'll try to help, ok. A couple things that I need to know:
1) Which radio is in the Jeep?
2) What phone do you have?
3) Is the phone stock and not modified?
4) You mentioned that the phone just starts to play, when it does and you try to stop it, what button(s) are you pushing?
5) The media player that starts to play, is it the media player with your own music or is it an added app, like iHeart radio, pandora etc?




Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
okay i have the uconnect system in my new Rubi and everytime i start the car it connects then my phone starts the damn android muisc palyer fires up and picks a random song. and i cant stop it. i have to try it like 12 times before it gets the hint to stop. i know there is a uconnect guru here help me out

xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 12:52 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
actually you are the resident expert. give yourself a little credit.

i have an lg thrill running 2.3 not rooted or messed with
the android music app (the preinstalled one) plays the music off my sd card.
ive tried a dozen differnt ways to stop the music. from the swipe down to task killer.
and i belive i have the 130 radio with sirius
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 01:05 PM   #4
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
ive come up with an interm solution. i went under the bluetooth menu and disabled media.
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 02:59 PM   #5
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
I'm looking into this for you. I think I have a buddy with the same phone, I'll try to borrow it. In the settings menu, there is not only the Android version but there should be a SW version or build #. can I get that information? Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
actually you are the resident expert. give yourself a little credit.

i have an lg thrill running 2.3 not rooted or messed with
the android music app (the preinstalled one) plays the music off my sd card.
ive tried a dozen differnt ways to stop the music. from the swipe down to task killer.
and i belive i have the 130 radio with sirius
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 03:44 PM   #6
Newb
 
gspam1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
ive come up with an interm solution. i went under the bluetooth menu and disabled media.
Thank you!!! This was driving me nuts too. I didn't realize there was a media enable/disable setting in Bluetooth.
gspam1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 05:31 PM   #7
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
what radio and phone do you have?



Quote:
Originally Posted by gspam1 View Post
Thank you!!! This was driving me nuts too. I didn't realize there was a media enable/disable setting in Bluetooth.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 05:43 PM   #8
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by gspam1 View Post
Thank you!!! This was driving me nuts too. I didn't realize there was a media enable/disable setting in Bluetooth.
cant take credit for that. i found that googling. if its any help my wifes phone does it too in her chrysler 200 limited 2011 with the 430N radio. her phone is a htc thuderbolt running 2.3

attached is the build info for my lg thrill.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-07-09 17.39.22.png
Views:	45
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	139450  
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 09:46 PM   #9
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
cool, thaks. I'll try to borrow the phone tomorrow. Can you get a screen shot of your wifes phone also for me? Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
cant take credit for that. i found that googling. if its any help my wifes phone does it too in her chrysler 200 limited 2011 with the 430N radio. her phone is a htc thuderbolt running 2.3

attached is the build info for my lg thrill.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 09:55 PM   #10
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
her thunder boot.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120709_215428.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	115.3 KB
ID:	139521

it seems to me that the stereo is sending a "play" signal over and over
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 10:17 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Richmond
Posts: 26
I have the same problem. The preinstalled music app stops playing when i start the Play Music app. But if i try to stop the music in either app and listen to something else (YouTube for example) one of the apps always starts again. The only way i have found to make my phone stop playing music is to turn off the radio and the music pauses.
droid 3 gingerbread, 2011 wrangler uconnect and sirius radio
TheWil is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 10:26 PM   #12
Hardcore Jeeper
 
Peepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 3,320
Heres an idea: turn blutooth off on your phone... I bet you'll even get better battery life too!!!
__________________
What have we got?
We have one heavily armed Recreational Vehicle


ΣΧ
The Power Tech 6
Peepers is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2012, 11:06 PM   #13
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
brilliant why didn't I think of that......
I've got a better idea. how about you get the hell out of my thread looking for real help. jackass
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 07:09 AM   #14
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
WOW!!!!! COMPLETE Genius of an idea. Don't know how I could have missed that thought. Well, I guess this issue is now solved.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Peepers View Post
Heres an idea: turn blutooth off on your phone... I bet you'll even get better battery life too!!!
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 07:18 AM   #15
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
In the case of APPS, Uconnect doesn't control the fading out and turning an app off in order for another app to start play. That is actually in the App itself. I have seen this issue with iHeart radio a few months back, I reported the issue to them and I think that they recently came out with an update. I need to test that again. But when I would go from the phones media player to Pandora, the fade in of Pandora was correct, then if I went from Pandora to Slacker radio, it was also correct, but if I went from either Pandora or Slacker into iHeart, I would hear iHeart over the top of eithe rof the other 2 that I was going from.
The only way that I could get out of it was to go into the settings menu and manually close the APP.
Uconnect only has control of the phones media player. Uconnect send a pause signal to the phone, then then phone needs to pause. However what happens in the case of some phones is that they don't pay attention to the "pause" message to it. The phone will pause slightly then start play.



Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWil View Post
I have the same problem. The preinstalled music app stops playing when i start the Play Music app. But if i try to stop the music in either app and listen to something else (YouTube for example) one of the apps always starts again. The only way i have found to make my phone stop playing music is to turn off the radio and the music pauses.
droid 3 gingerbread, 2011 wrangler uconnect and sirius radio
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 07:39 AM   #16
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
is there a way to tell what software is loaded into my radio? i was just built may 26th 2012
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 07:42 AM   #17
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
Thanks,

Can you try something for me?
I would like you (while the streaming audio is playing) press the VR button and say "pause". Does the phone go into pause mode and stay there?
Also, I'm thinking intot his a little annd something just hit me. When you get into the vehiclle, turn the key on, does the radio go into the "disc / Aux" mode by itself and doesn't go to the radio screen first and making you manually press the disc/aux button in order to get into the streaming audio mode?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
her thunder boot.

Attachment 139521

it seems to me that the stereo is sending a "play" signal over and over
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 07:48 AM   #18
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
when i turn the jeep on its on the sirius station i left it on. ill go test it right now
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 07:50 AM   #19
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
aparently turning the media off resets itself. damn phone lost a bunch of battery cause it was streaming all the way to work and i didnt catch it.
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 07:58 AM   #20
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
okay after manually killing the music app it didnt start right away. once it connected i hit the BT button and it started streaming. shutting the radio off pauses the phone. the VR button seems to function properly but switching to a different audio source didnt pause the radio. it seems to be working closer to proper now when im messing with it. but on the way to work today i never even touched the volume button. and it was streaming. im confused this system is tarded. i didnt even want the damn uconnect but now that i have it i want it to work right.
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 08:45 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
GotNet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 96
While I have not experienced this problem with my RAZR running ICS, a couple folks fixed the autoplay issue with Media Button Router.
GotNet is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 09:25 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 21
I had a similar problem with BT aftermarket. I'm currently using a galaxy nexus ICS BT connected to a apline deck with parrot BT.

To get around the issue of having the internal music app starting on default (which drove me nuts) I did the following:
- Settings -> Apps -> All -> Music and click the "disable" button ( I use have another app called PowerAmp that I use for my music which has an option under it's BT connection options to NOT resume music on connection)

NOTE: I don't remember if you can disable app in Gingerbread and if that's the case, you could try installing the free poweramp and select it as default player and try the "NOT resume" option. Or Root the phone and delete the crappy built-in music app altogether.
clb-logan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 09:34 AM   #23
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
^^ thats no good in gingerbread
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 09:36 AM   #24
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
It's not the Uconnect system that's tarded. It's the phone manufacturer. BT specs aren't tightly regulated so the device mfgs add some of their twist on things and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't, If the Uconnect was sending a constant "play" signal, then everyone would be complaining about this issue and there are only a few. Must say something. The Uconnect SW is written to BTSIG specs. Problem is that "to spec" will only work with others that are also written to spec.
When the phone pairs up and bonds with Uconnect, the media player is supposed to wait till it gets the BT message to start play and in this case it's saying "hey, I'll do what I want" then you have to force it to stop.
My friend is going to let me borrow his phone hopefully later today for a few hrs.



Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
okay after manually killing the music app it didnt start right away. once it connected i hit the BT button and it started streaming. shutting the radio off pauses the phone. the VR button seems to function properly but switching to a different audio source didnt pause the radio. it seems to be working closer to proper now when im messing with it. but on the way to work today i never even touched the volume button. and it was streaming. im confused this system is tarded. i didnt even want the damn uconnect but now that i have it i want it to work right.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 10:02 AM   #25
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
i dont use the bluetooth for anything other than calls anway. ill see if rebooting it will let the media stay disabled under the bluetooth menu.

when i come due for another phone which manufacturer is the least tarded?
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 10:44 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
chidychi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
I'm not sure what is going on but I'll offer a couple suggestions.

1) buy Tasker from the Google Play ($5-$6). Its an awesome app that can schedule tasks to occur when events occur. I have a galaxy nexus and I use Tasker to start my music app when my uconnect bluetooth connection occurs. (kinda the opposite of what you want.) Tasker than pauses the music player so that it doesn't just start playing. After that, the 730n does the work.
When the bluetooth signal turns off, Tasker shuts off my music player.

2)Check the music app you have to see if it is setup to play music automatically on load. It's possible that your phone is opening the app when a BT media connection occurs, and your app thinks that it should play music when it is opened.
chidychi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 11:35 AM   #27
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
its the stock player. and im not buying an app to fix what shouldnt be a problem.
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 11:55 AM   #28
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
On the RES the only way is with the techs scaan tool at the dealership. I'm sure that you have the most up to date SW in the radio. The Uconnect module is an external module and the SW in it is also the most current. (according to the build date)


Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
is there a way to tell what software is loaded into my radio? i was just built may 26th 2012
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 11:58 AM   #29
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
lee indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle Georgia
Posts: 5,269
so xsdbs who are you? how do you know so much about this crap
__________________



LeeIndy's Build Thread
lee indy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 12:09 PM   #30
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,957
The phone is totally ignoring the "pause message" What I just saw on the Thrill is:
Have the phone connected to the Uconnect, open the media player so that you can see the play timer. Press the Disc/Aux button onn the radio so that BTSA starts to play (Bluetooth streaming audio). You see the play timer counting,, now press the radio button to take you to the radio. Watch the timer, count, count, pause..., count, count, pause... count, count, pause.., count, and continues to count (in other words, it is playing now) Uconnect will send about 3 pauses and then stops because it's not getting the ok to pause from the phone. Now while watching the play timer playing, turn the key off and oped the drivers door so that the radio powers down. Did the timer stop now that the BT connection is broken?
I have an email into LG, hopefully I'll get a return email from a tech for them.
Now I need to find a Tbolt.



Quote:
Originally Posted by lee indy View Post
its the stock player. and im not buying an app to fix what shouldnt be a problem.

xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC