Where to mount AMP? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-18-2009, 06:52 PM   #1
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,621
Where to mount AMP?

Ok... if I'm going to be properly powering some speakers, I need an amp. I'm not thrilled on the idea of running more cables and what not, but I'll do it for the love of my music.

Has anyone mounted an amp under their dash?

I don't know if I like the idea of it being way in the back under the rear seat. I'm constantly flipping it up for more room when getting groceries and what not, and would hate to have an amp back there. Under the front seats wouldn't be bad, but I'd still have to run some more cables. My head unit has RCA outputs so that isn't a huge deal, just the stock wires.

Any advise?

Yes, still thinking of spending the tax return on tunes for the Jeep.

AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2009, 07:46 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
G-Pur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 1,645
How do you keep your back seat from falling back down. Mine won't stay up if I hit the gas.

Sorry, on to the point. Amp mounting is tricky in the wrangler, there just arent too many options. A local installer just told me a few days ago that he's mounted amps and powered sub right to the bottom of the back seat. That way you can still flip it up and out of the way and have all of the floor space that you had before. I think that is was I would do. I wouldn't go under the dash. There just isn't room there.

Just my .02

__________________
Check us out at NorthShoreJeeps.com

G-Pur is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2009, 08:16 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
x2 on the room under the dash. mount it to the underside of the rear seat. all the wires can be run under the carpet and exit the carpet next to the rear seat bracket and out of the way.

when you run the wireing you need to run the rca's away from the power and remote-turn-on. i ran the power down the driver side and all the other wires down the passenger side. the reasoning behind this is because there will be a static interference between the power wire and the rca's.
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-18-2009, 08:36 PM   #4
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,621
AzTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2009, 09:44 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
cherokee980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tomball Texas
Posts: 2,817
I have (2) amps in my junk...one under drivers seat, and one under dash
__________________
my luck is so bad, It could be raining tits and I would get hit in the head with a dick!
cherokee980 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2009, 10:05 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
mxracer513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to mxracer513
If you get an aftermarket center consol you can put it in there.
mxracer513 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2009, 10:09 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
G-Pur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzTJ View Post
I can offer my opinion on the Infinitys after running mine for about a month and a half. I've got the Kappa 5 1/4 in all four spots and they sound great. BUT you will need lows to go with them. They offer crisp highs and tight mids, but NO lows what so ever. At the time when I was looking, Best Buy had both the Kappas and Reference, and I preferred the Kappas. Crutchfield had a major price break and each pair only cost about 65 bucks.

If the amp is that small I guess you could mount it in the passenger side foot well all the way up front. If you do that, I'd make a kick panel to cover it so your friends don't step on it. I personally wouldn't do that only because my Jeep has filled both wells up with about 3 inches of water before, for some unknown reason.
__________________
Check us out at NorthShoreJeeps.com

G-Pur is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2009, 11:37 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
the reference infinity's are not the greatest, upgrade to the kappa's. if you go with the kappa's you might want an amp with a little more power. always remember that with amps you gt what you pay for. great speakers and bad amp will not make the speakers sound anywhere near their potential

__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
broke shock mount m8094538 YJ Tech Forum 5 01-06-2008 01:10 PM
New Ram Mount for the Footman Loop hutchman Communications and Electronics 6 09-03-2007 01:06 AM
hi-lift mount 94redwrangler YJ General Discussion Forum 8 01-03-2007 06:12 AM
Can I mount a 31x10.50x15 on my spare tire mount? revreed TJ General Discussion Forum 11 08-09-2006 07:48 PM
Where to mount my CB? fredjeep Communications and Electronics 6 07-12-2005 10:36 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC