Where to mount my CB? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-11-2005, 11:30 PM   #1
Newb
 
fredjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Where to mount my CB?

Hey Y'all!

My old GE CB finally has given up the ghost. I just purchased a new Cobra 29 to replace it. The old GE was a small radio that I fabricated a mount that attached to the footman loop on the windshield header.

The new Cobra is much bigger and will not mount there. I was going to mount it under the glove box. Does anyone have any beter ideas?

Thanks!
Fred

__________________
Keep on Jeepin'
fredjeep

Remember; God Forgives, Rocks Don't!

1999 Wrangler Sport Renegade, 4.0L I-6 w/K&N, AX-15, Chili Pepper/Camel/Dark Tan, MOPAR Sound Deck, Optima Red Top, 4.5" RE Ultimate Lift+1.75" Front spacers, SYE, JKS Quicker Discos, Dana30 w/ Detroit Tru-Trac LSD, Dana35 w/Superior Super35 w/Detroit Locker, 4.11 gears, 33x12.50" Goodyear Wrangler MTR on 15x10" Eagle Alloys, home fabbed and MOPAR Rocker Panel Protection.
fredjeep is offline   Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 12:12 AM   #2
WF Graphics Bitch
 
JeepCrawler98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 544
Send a message via AIM to JeepCrawler98
I built a rack out of two 18x6" 1/8" plates and some aluminum C-channel you can buy at Lowes' Home Improvement (the one here has a decent metals selection for sheetmetal fab). It's very similar to the CB-rack they sell online, but unlike that, it costs only 20 bucks to make (talk about overprised, geeze ). It holds two VHF 2-meter ham radios (one for voice, one for the APRS posit. beacon), the APRS tracker box, a few switches, and my Cobra 18 WX ST II. Works great, and looks good IMO. It bolts to the bottom of the little lip of the windshield frame, and attaches to the main roll bar hoop using two large hose clamps.

__________________
//1998 Jeep TJ {'4\"', 'TFLX LAT', 'AA HD SYE', 'HF 8000Lb', 'LockRight', 'Armor', 'Body mods', 'Misc Mods' = 'true' };
JeepCrawler98 is offline   Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 10:15 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
97texasTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: elmendorf afb, alaska
Posts: 29
in the front of the center console, i didnt have a airbag switch, so i cut that plastic at an angle just enough to slide the cb down in there...looks nice!!
__________________
97 Tj w/ 4 angry squirrels, 4.88's front and rear, ford 8.8 rear axle..soon.., pacesetter header, flowmaster exhaust, helix throttle body spacer, 4.0 throttle body...primer paint on the fender
97texasTJ is offline   Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 05:52 PM   #4
IITYWTMWYBMAB

WF Supporting Member
::WF Administrator::
 
4Jeepn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 10,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredjeep
Hey Y'all!

The new Cobra is much bigger.....

Thanks!
Fred
When fred says much bigger what he means is: Its the size of a lap dog, I think he got it mounted in the front area below-ish the glove box if I recall correctly.
__________________
79.96.85.00.01.97.00.97.93.97.95.94
CJ.XJ.CJ. TJ. TJ.ZJ. TJ.TJ. ZJ.ZJ.YJ. XJ
4Jeepn is offline   Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 07:43 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
quadna71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: East Coast
Posts: 85
my full-size uniden rests atop the dash. just far enough aft to keep from blocking the vent and it actually only blocks the vision of my hood! i have a plate of 1/8 steel under the center section that ends up sandwiching the center section between the plate and the cb's bracket. makes for a stronger setup. easy to pull out down the road and just toss the rubber mat back in - nobody would be the wiser.
chris
__________________
Mine - '03 TJ RE4.5 coils, long arms, 4.88 gears, arb/detroit, 35" BFG KM2's, 9.5ti, skids, etc.
Hers - '01 TJ RE4.5 coils, 35" BFG's, Hs9500, HP30/8.8, 4.56 gears, skids, etc.
quadna71 is offline   Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 09:17 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to AZdezert
I have it mounted in between my seats on the top row bar.


My antenna is here.

AZdezert is offline   Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 10:36 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
alleyn59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16
I mounted mine vertically, between the seats. Next to the E-brake handle.(I don't have the center consol.) I can pull it out, when not in use, or just throw a towel over the face to keep it clean.

__________________
Hell, Arizona
alleyn59 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
33enineering +1.5" Tranny Mount nicolas-eric TJ Tech Forum 1 08-03-2008 11:33 PM
Installing a MML nicolas-eric TJ General Discussion Forum 15 07-09-2008 09:00 PM
Trans Mount Question MOz TJ Tech Forum 8 06-10-2008 03:14 PM
broke shock mount m8094538 YJ Tech Forum 5 01-06-2008 01:10 PM
Can I mount a 31x10.50x15 on my spare tire mount? revreed TJ General Discussion Forum 11 08-09-2006 07:48 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepź, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC