Wired my headunit wrong - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-03-2012, 09:39 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
stretch05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 311
Wired my headunit wrong

I just put it in. I connected something wrong. It stays on, or illuminated when powered off.

I wired Jeep black to stereo black.

Purple to Red (Stereo 12V switched)

Pink to Yellow (Stereo 12V constant)

Blue to blue (Stereo remote turn on for the amp)

1. Was I suppose to hook up the blue wires or was that exclusively headunit to amp? And is that why it stays powered? Or,

2. Did I get something else switched around??

I read jeep's purple was switched 12V and jeep's pink is constant 12V. What am I doing wrong?


92 YJ 4.0. Dual XHD7714

stretch05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2012, 10:53 PM   #2
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
I don't know their color codes...if you have a multi-meter...double check that the purple is switched 12v and pink is constant 12v. Or just switch them around and see if it turns off properly that way. Sounds to me like your constant and switched 12v wires are backwards.

The blue wire definitely isn't the culprit...it's a remote turn on wire for the amp...it's either a switched 12v wire or it only turns on when the radio is powered on (can't recall which) which ensures the amp is powered on when the radio is powered on.

__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2012, 11:01 PM   #3
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,390
^^^this

but you never use the blue wire on a non factory headunit unless you have an amp. Your harness adapter will have it, but its for a power antenna
Ibuildembig is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2012, 11:16 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
stretch05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 311
I wired them with butt connectors. I'll have to snip em and re-connect em in the morning.
stretch05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2012, 11:24 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
stretch05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 311
What happens when I hook up the blue wire if it is never used?
stretch05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2012, 11:53 PM   #6
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Do you have a sub(s) in your Jeep? If you do...you need it hooked up...it should lead to your amp. If you don't, connecting it to your wire adapter shouldn't do anything...it just didn't need to be connected as it won't do anything. It's not causing your power issues. The blue wire loses power at the headunit when either the vehicle or the headunit gets powered (don't recall which).
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 12:00 AM   #7
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Double check and make sure that you didn't mistakenly cross those wires...you're right that your colors are labeled correctly.

http://www.installdr.com/Harnesses/DCP-Wiring.pdf (scroll to last page for Jeep connector)
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 07:16 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
stretch05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 311
No sub (yet). I haven't even hooked up the amp yet. I just wired the rca and remote lead so they're ready to be plugged into the amp.
stretch05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 07:43 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
InvertChaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NoVa
Posts: 7,879
Did you get an adapter harness with the open wire ends that you splice into the head unit or did you just go straight from the existing wiring to the headunit? When I ordered my stuff from Crutchfield they sent me some very detailed instructions and an adapter harness for my stuff. All of my wiring matched up though...like yellow to yellow, gray with black stripe to gray with black stripe, green with white stripe to green with white stripe, etc.
__________________
|2004 Jeep TJ "Green Machine"|4.0L 5 speed Dana44|33x12.50x15 Goodyear Duratracs|2.5" RC coils + 1.25" body lift|OME NitroSport shocks|4.56 gears|Skid Row Engine Skid|BCC Sliders|Currie AntiRock|
InvertChaos is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 07:46 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
stretch05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 311
Got it. It was the blue wire. Snipped it and it worked properly. Now to get a sub cause the kappa series 4x6 infinity speakers i put in the dash have noooo bass. Any suggestions?
stretch05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 09:09 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,046
What are u looking to spend
__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-05-2012, 02:46 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
stretch05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 311
I picked up the mono fosgate ultra compact amp and a $100 sub. Real disappointed the 4 channel wasn't bridgeable. The size of the thing is sweeeeeeeet.
stretch05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-05-2012, 02:47 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
stretch05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 311
Had a JL 300/4v2 ready to install and realized it literally didn't fit anywhere in my jeep (short of putting it over a rear wheel.
stretch05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-05-2012, 03:13 PM   #14
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Quote:
Originally Posted by stretch05 View Post
Got it. It was the blue wire. Snipped it and it worked properly. Now to get a sub cause the kappa series 4x6 infinity speakers i put in the dash have noooo bass. Any suggestions?
Where was that blue wire connected? If you had it connected to your RCA's remote turn-on lead and it wasn't hooked to an amp, snipping it shouldn't have done anything but shorten the unhooked wire.

Glad you fixed your problem...but when you get a sub in there, trace that wire back cuz it was apparently not hooked up right and if you just hook it right back up to connect it to your amp, then you're gonna be right back here posting with the same issues as well as an amp that isn't powering off.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-05-2012, 03:16 PM   #15
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Also I'm a big fan of Elemental Designs' equipment...I think they still make car audio subs, but I think they got out of manufacturing the amps. Their amps were great too.

As far as an amp goes now that I can't really recommend eD...I really liked my Alpine MRP-M500 I had. Small, great quality, very affordable, and looked good too.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-06-2012, 11:20 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
stretch05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 311
I hooked the blue wire from my head unit (for the remote turn on) to the blue with white stripe wire from my Jeep.

I thought the blue wire from my Jeep was a remote wire. Not sure though.

I also connected it to the remote turn on wire to my amp (which I have yet to install). I snipped the wire coming from my Jeep and it fixed it.

Hope to get my sub and amp early this week. Ordered off Amazon. I'll post a review.

The Infinity speakers sound pretty good. I wish I had an amp for them every time I turn the volume up. Also, they have ZERO bass. A problem now, but hopefully not when I install something designed to have bass.
stretch05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2012, 01:10 AM   #17
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
According to the diagram I linked above, blue w/ white stripe in your Jeep should be right rear speaker...odd.

Usually blue and blue w/ white stripe are either remote turn-on or power antenna in standard wiring.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-07-2012, 01:15 AM   #18
[]D [] []V[] []D

WF Supporting Member
 
97sport09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hoosier State
Posts: 695
Rockford Fosgate subs and Kenwood amps FTW! Check out Onlinecarstereo.com - Wholesale Car Audio/Stereo Deals At Bargain Prices for some great deals, it's where I buy all my stuff.

__________________
JOYRIDE EARTH'S ENTIRE PARADISE...
97sport09 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong manual transmission fluid listed in computer scotiez TJ Tech Forum 6 11-03-2012 09:03 PM
Side windows - what am I doing wrong??? ShoreWrangler JK General Discussion Forum 6 11-04-2011 11:17 AM
are my high beams wired wrong? vettefever5 TJ Tech Forum 7 01-13-2009 02:07 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC