Anyone running ARCO gas? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > WF Local > WF Local Forums for Your Region and State > California Jeep Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-11-2013, 03:19 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
LMT Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 456
Anyone running ARCO gas?

Hello gang,

I just recently found out my 2013 JKR needs 87 octane gas. I have been running 91 since I purchased my JK. Do any of you use gas from the ARCO AM/PM stations? I am worried about the gas quality from these stations.

Thank you in advance!

__________________
2015 JK Rubicon Black// 6 Speed // 4.10 //
LMT Rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 03:50 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
RicksRenegade760's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Palm Springs
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMT Rubi View Post
Hello gang,

I just recently found out my 2013 JKR needs 87 octane gas. I have been running 91 since I purchased my JK. Do any of you use gas from the ARCO AM/PM stations? I am worried about the gas quality from these stations.

Thank you in advance!
Its the same gas as any other gas station, dude. The only difference is the 87, 89,91.

RicksRenegade760 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 04:13 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seal Beach
Posts: 7,322
Here you go. Top Tier Gasoline Top Tier is what the auto makers recommend. It is also what they use when doing emission and fuel economy ratings. Arco is not a top tier producer due to higher alcohol content and a lower additive package. It still meets industry standards but it does not meet mfg quality levels for detergent additives. Also alcohol is hydroscopic and will attract water. It "can" cause rust in some cars fuel systems. Older cars do not have alcohol friendly hoses and can be damaged to the point of leaking. I'm not saying don't use it but I won't. I sure do like the AM/PM stores though. Hope this helps a bit.
Bob
Gunner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 05:53 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Slavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: San Dimas
Posts: 79
Working at a dealer in Service i can tell all gas is not the same gas. Run top tier fuel only .. I daily drive my JKU 90 Miles a day on 35" tires and still pay the extra coin to run Shell gas. 87 and once in a while 91

i dont work Jeep so i dont have any horror stories that are relatable but run Arco in your BMW and see what happends =)
__________________
13 Rubi JKU
(Sold) 87 4Runner SAS
Slavens is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 05:55 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Randog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMT Rubi View Post
I am worried about the gas quality from these stations.
Then don't buy it. Sorry Bro, you walked in to that one...

I never use Arco for the same reason Gunner stated. I use either Texaco, Shell or Chevron but Texaco has been real competitive lately especially here where I live. I just saw 97 for $3.65, time to fill up! if you get one of their cards they give you the gas for the cash price.

There is an app for your smartphone called Gas Buddy, (gasbuddy.com) it really helps to find the cheapest gas near your location and is updated frequently.
Randog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 06:02 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
suicideking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 4,610
I try to use only Chevron. They've always had good gas and there's one right by my house and work.

I'll get Shell if I absolutely have to, but they're usually more expensive than anyone else.

EDIT: 3000 posts!

suicideking is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 06:16 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Randog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by suicideking View Post

EDIT: 3000 posts!

Dang, Rick you're quite the chatter box!
Randog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 06:17 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
InvictusDecretum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hurlburt Field
Posts: 701
Images: 1
I might be barking up the wrong tree... but anyone know where bases normally get their gas ? Or where I can find out where my base gets their gas ? 90% of the time I buy gas there because of... well, convenience. And most of the time it's cheaper. Is there something like used motor oil analysis you can have run for gasoline ?
__________________
'05 Unlimited Rubicon Sahara #268 of 1000
"This baby’s pulse is pumping 4.0 liters of uncensored raw fuel through her straight six nuclear power plant."
My Build Thread: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/in...ml#post6709282
InvictusDecretum is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 10:07 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
LMT Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 456
Thank you guys for your responses. I have been running the Arco gas on my new JK for the past 12 months. I'm going to switch gas stations ASAP. Any chance of damage after running Arco gas for 12 months?

Is it safe to assume Costco gas isn't any better than Arco?
__________________
2015 JK Rubicon Black// 6 Speed // 4.10 //
LMT Rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 10:28 PM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Covina, california
Posts: 9
No chance of "damage" at all. ALL california grade gasoline is made to the same standards. Where the big differance lies is in the detergents that refiners blend into gasoline prior to shipment. Arco is simply a fueling station now, as their refining operations where sold to BP, and subsequently sold to Tesoro. Any "brand" gasoline is fine to run, but if you feel the need to step up to a more recognizible brand that runs more detergents, that is fine, but you certainly WILL NOT damage anything by running less than name brand gas, you will just increase the carbon buildup on the internals quicker, which is what ultimately results in poorer performances.
hazmatpony is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2013, 12:26 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
LMT Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunner View Post
Here you go. Top Tier Gasoline Top Tier is what the auto makers recommend. It is also what they use when doing emission and fuel economy ratings. Arco is not a top tier producer due to higher alcohol content and a lower additive package. It still meets industry standards but it does not meet mfg quality levels for detergent additives. Also alcohol is hydroscopic and will attract water. It "can" cause rust in some cars fuel systems. Older cars do not have alcohol friendly hoses and can be damaged to the point of leaking. I'm not saying don't use it but I won't. I sure do like the AM/PM stores though. Hope this helps a bit.
Bob
Thank you for the helpful link I didn't see Arco on that list but BP is there. Isn't BP the same as Arco?
__________________
2015 JK Rubicon Black// 6 Speed // 4.10 //
LMT Rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2013, 11:39 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Saleen00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 135
Yes arco is bp
Saleen00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2013, 12:19 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
suicideking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randog View Post
Dang, Rick you're quite the chatter box!
I know. I need to wheel more!
suicideking is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2013, 03:02 AM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seal Beach
Posts: 7,322
Here is a quick primer from the DOE.
Where Our Gasoline Comes From - Energy Explained, Your Guide To Understanding Energy - Energy Information Administration
Still comes down to the additive package and ethanol content.
Gunner is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2013, 07:40 PM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saleen00 View Post
Yes arco is bp
It used to be, but they sold a lot of their assets after the Deepwater Horizon oil spill starting in late 2010. The assets that controlled the refineries that supplied fuel to ARCO were sold to Tesoro. Does that mean the quality of the gas has diminished since they were operated by BP? I don't know.

Source: http://www.tsocorp.com/TSOCorp/About...History/061236
Quote:
In 2013, the Company acquired its Carson, California refinery and ARCO® gasoline stations.

baummer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC