Cb installation - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > WF Local > WF Local Forums for Your Region and State > California Jeep Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-06-2012, 08:56 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 3
Cb installation

Anyone know where you can get a CB radio installed in my Jeep in the inland empire area for a reasonable price?

waldraut is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2012, 09:07 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
BeantownR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 952
its pretty simple to do it yourself, there is plenty of information on the forum and i got the antenna kit from here. http://www.cooltechllc.com/jeep/jk_C...nOne_kit.shtml

you just need to make sure its grounded properly and tuned with a SWR meeter.

other than that i can't help you with a place in the IE

BeantownR6 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2012, 09:58 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
turdhurdler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hemet, CA Hemet is Heaven...
Posts: 7,192
Send a message via AIM to turdhurdler
You should be able to go to any truck stop and find a guy inside that does installs if you don't want to tackle it yourself. There are a couple in Banning/Beaumont area I believe.

Jeff
__________________
Mall crawlin' in 4 Lo.
turdhurdler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-07-2012, 06:21 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
91badass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 336
+1 on the truck stop, look in the parking lot for a van with alot of antennas!
91badass is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-07-2012, 06:25 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jeepercowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Snohomish WA
Posts: 707
If you want to try and do it yourself literally the hardest part is just deciding where you want to mount the CB. Other than that it's one positive wire and one negative wire. I used to just run mine right off the battery on a constant hot switch. It's really pretty easy.
jeepercowboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-07-2012, 07:38 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
suicideking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 4,233
I would recommend the place that fixed my CB when the stereo shop screwed it up.

It's in Fontana, not sure if that's too far for you in Hemet. It's simply called 'CB Radio Store'. It's part of a small truck stop/wash. I dealt with Keith, he really new what he was doing and figured out the problem with mine quickly. They also have quick disconnects for sale for $30 which I highly recommend if you want to take your antenna off for garages or theft reasons.

Their number: (909) 428-0340
suicideking is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 01:12 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 3
Thanks everyone...I think I'm going to do it myself after researching it.
waldraut is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 01:35 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
MNTNGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fullerton CA
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldraut View Post
Thanks everyone...I think I'm going to do it myself after researching it.
there you go!!! its pretty easy ive done like 4 of them. and u can put into ur radio fuse or tie it into ur radio power so that its on when ur radio goes on. PM me if u have any questions i should be able to answer all of them. (i think)
__________________
all my friends call me COOP a LOOP! Feel free to do the same.
MNTNGOAT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 06:40 PM   #9
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,465
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldraut View Post
Thanks everyone...I think I'm going to do it myself after researching it.
If you get it installed and have problems you can't figure out, I'm not that far down the I-15 and can get it working/tuned for you.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 06:56 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
jeepercowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Snohomish WA
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNTNGOAT
there you go!!! its pretty easy ive done like 4 of them. and u can put into ur radio fuse or tie it into ur radio power so that its on when ur radio goes on. PM me if u have any questions i should be able to answer all of them. (i think)
Good idea! I can't believe I never thought of that when I did mine. Both of mine on my trucks went straight to the battery
jeepercowboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 07:03 PM   #11
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,465
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepercowboy View Post
Good idea! I can't believe I never thought of that when I did mine. Both of mine on my trucks went straight to the battery
You wired your CB correctly, 2-way radios (CB and ham) should always be wired directly to the battery. The battery is, by far, the cleanest source of power for the CB which means it will receive and transmitt with less static, whining, buzzing, etc. that can be caused by powering it from other sources. Not to mention that when transmitting, it draws more power than the car radio's power circuit is designed for.

That the other method shuts the CB off when the key is off is really no benefit since 1) you often want to use the CB without wanting to have the ignition on too and 2) CBs draw so little power if you forget to turn it off that it could remain on for weeks without it draining the battery.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 07:32 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
BeantownR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepercowboy View Post
If you want to try and do it yourself literally the hardest part is just deciding where you want to mount the CB. .
i put mine up top

BeantownR6 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 08:34 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
MNTNGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fullerton CA
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Not to mention that when transmitting, it draws more power than the car radio's power circuit is designed for.

2) CBs draw so little power if you forget to turn it off that it could remain on for weeks without it draining the battery.
i was under the impression that cbs only drew 4 watts which would be less than just one speaker?

and i did not know that. thats why i put it on the radio so i wouldnt kill the batt. well now i know.
__________________
all my friends call me COOP a LOOP! Feel free to do the same.
MNTNGOAT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 08:45 PM   #14
Oilfield Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
The Toolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Odessa, TX
Posts: 3,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNTNGOAT View Post
i was under the impression that cbs only drew 4 watts which would be less than just one speaker?

and i did not know that. thats why i put it on the radio so i wouldnt kill the batt. well now i know.
Actually, that's not what they draw. I can't remember what they actually draw, but it's not much when set up legally. 4 watts of transmitting power is what the 27 MHz band (CB Band) is regulated to by the FCC
__________________
94 Jeep YJ Wrangler SE / 4.0L I-6 Engine ---- SOLD in February of 2014 ---- Now I am running a Frankenstiened tube chassis Rock Buggy

Viper X LED Lighting Solutions .... Own the Night!

The American Outdoor Enthusiast
The Toolman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 09:07 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
jeepercowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Snohomish WA
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeantownR6

i put mine up top
Sweet I love overhead mounts
jeepercowboy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2012, 01:22 PM   #16
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,465
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNTNGOAT View Post
i was under the impression that cbs only drew 4 watts which would be less than just one speaker?
4 watts is, as said above, simply the amount of RF power it transmits with. It draws probably 3-4 amps from the battery when transmitting and draws probably a tenth of an amp or less when simply in standby/receive mode with the Squelch turned up enough so there is no hiss coming over the speaker.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2012, 02:44 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
MNTNGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fullerton CA
Posts: 838
is there goin to be a long term affect on anything cause ive had it wired up like this for almost exactly 2 years now. nothing noticable yet. should i switch it over?
__________________
all my friends call me COOP a LOOP! Feel free to do the same.
MNTNGOAT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2012, 04:08 PM   #18
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,465
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNTNGOAT View Post
is there goin to be a long term affect on anything cause ive had it wired up like this for almost exactly 2 years now.
No problem by how it has been wired up. It's just better to wire 2-way radios directly to the battery so far as reducing/eliminating electrical noise introduced into the CB by its power cables is concerned. If you're not hearing static, whine, or other noise in what you hear over the CB or what you're transmitting, you got lucky and wired into an electrically quiet circuit. Not all such electrical circuits are quiet or can provide enough amperes to adequately power a CB when it is transmitting though.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-12-2012, 07:58 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
MNTNGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fullerton CA
Posts: 838
ok well i JUST recently noticed on the last run i was on, there was ONE guy who was coming across very "squeeely" but it was only sometimes. and i get MINIMAL whine from the engine revs only some times tho too. so i guess ill leave for now till it becomes more noticable. thanks for the info.
__________________
all my friends call me COOP a LOOP! Feel free to do the same.
MNTNGOAT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-01-2012, 08:57 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
G-Whiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22
the MOST important thing to do after installing the CB is to make sure you match the antenna to the CB.

Some units have built in SWR meters, but you can buy one at Radio Shack or a CB shop.

If you SWR is off, you could be losing TX/RX power; and possibly damaging you unit...
G-Whiz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 12:20 AM   #21
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
wego4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Whittier
Posts: 58
Mine is hooked up with a relay that is switched off with the ignition.
wego4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 12:53 AM   #22
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
BillG.OTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNTNGOAT View Post
ok well i JUST recently noticed on the last run i was on, there was ONE guy who was coming across very "squeeely" but it was only sometimes. and i get MINIMAL whine from the engine revs only some times tho too. so i guess ill leave for now till it becomes more noticable. thanks for the info.
Hey...you calling me squeeeeeley???
BillG.OTD is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 10:41 AM   #23
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,465
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by wego4x4 View Post
Mine is hooked up with a relay that is switched off with the ignition.
Why do that? Even if you left it on accidentally, a CB in receive mode with the squelch on draws so little power that it would be months before it would drain the battery. I have several radios in my Jeep, CB and ham, and I sure don't want them shutting off each time I shut my ignition off.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 11:43 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
MNTNGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fullerton CA
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillG.OTD View Post
Hey...you calling me squeeeeeley???
lil bit lol. but now ive been noticing way more. if i didnt only drive my jeep mayb once a week ide switch it over but now its just more convienient.
__________________
all my friends call me COOP a LOOP! Feel free to do the same.
MNTNGOAT is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 02:41 PM   #25
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
wego4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Whittier
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Why do that? Even if you left it on accidentally, a CB in receive mode with the squelch on draws so little power that it would be months before it would drain the battery. I have several radios in my Jeep, CB and ham, and I sure don't want them shutting off each time I shut my ignition off.
I made my own spod type power distribution box so I was pretty simple to just run an extra wire. My external Sirius radio and cb both run off relays. Didn't need to but I was running wires for everything else.
wego4x4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2012, 09:01 PM   #26
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
texastechguy210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 311
CB not finnished

So, i got a small midland 100, everything is fine and dandy till the adapter i got to plug it in the cigarettes lighter did not work?! The cb midland has two wires, a red and a black that end with some coil showing. Where do I put that?! Does it connect straight to the battery or is there an adapter i can use for the outlet charge?!

Thanks for any advise my fellow Jeepers!
texastechguy210 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-05-2012, 11:16 AM   #27
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,465
Images: 2
It is always (!) best to power a CB directly from the battery. The battery is the only guaranteed clean/quiet source of power that a 2-way radio needs. 12 gauge wiring between the CB and battery would be fine.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-05-2012, 02:47 PM   #28
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
texastechguy210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 311
Got it!! Thanks guys! I put it in my arm compartment! Fits well, since its a small midland 100z
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120205_143351.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	215.6 KB
ID:	95229  

texastechguy210 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WarmSeats Waterproof Seat Heater Installation yomondo JK General Discussion Forum 72 06-02-2014 04:37 PM
Multi Function Light Switch - Installation TJeepman TJ General Discussion Forum 20 02-12-2013 10:04 AM
Hardtop Installation by dealer warden52 JK General Discussion Forum 25 11-17-2010 12:52 PM
ROKMEN - JKS BL, BMML Installation Video! dave@rokmen TJ General Discussion Forum 5 09-18-2008 09:48 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC