CB installer in San Diego area???? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > WF Local > WF Local Forums for Your Region and State > California Jeep Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-11-2012, 01:25 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
JKRONNIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 239
CB installer in San Diego area????

I'm having problems tuning my CB. Swa reading is 3+. All connections seem fine, I need to have someone take a look at my set up. Anyone know of someone who can help me out?

JKRONNIE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2012, 12:14 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
_KONG_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 68
Make sure you have the antenna mount in the right order and make sure its in a location that has a solid ground

_KONG_ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2012, 01:31 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
JKRONNIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 239
I have the tera flex mount, grounded the mount to a bolt inside the cab? ok?
JKRONNIE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2012, 01:46 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Helomech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 103
The teraflex tail light bracket with the hole drilled through the body? Does ur antenna have a ground wire coming out? Is your coax length divisible by three feet?
__________________
Robert
Running Springs, CA
2000 TJ 4.0, Auto, Green w/black hard top
It's not dirty, it's camouflaged!

Go Ahead, Get Pistoph!
Helomech is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-11-2012, 02:00 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
WOKNROX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal Hi Dez
Posts: 3,671
Some info on ur gear would be nice ....what kind of radio & antenna? Is ur antenna adjustable or do u need to cut the load wire to adjust ur SWR? u should ground ur antenna mount to the frame ....if u have a continuity tester? make sure u have good continuity through ur coax with no kinks or cracks....and don't coil ur coax....most people sware by 18ft of coax ....but to be honest as long as ur coax is lengths divided by 3s ur good ..
Hope this helps...
__________________


WOKNROX!
Let's go wheelin!™
WOKNROX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2012, 06:16 PM   #6
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,198
Images: 2
You can bring it by my house up in Escondido this weekend if you want, we can figure your SWR problem out without any problem. Early Saturday or most any time after 12 noon on Sunday will probably be fine. PM me if you want to come up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOKNROX View Post
...most people sware by 18ft of coax ....but to be honest as long as ur coax is lengths divided by 3s ur good.
For the types of unbalanced antennas we use on our Jeeps, the length of coax cable is irrelevant and has no effect on the SWR. Feed line lengths are critical in some types of antennas, just not on the type of antennas we use for Jeeping.

The correct length of coax to use is whatever length it takes to connect the antenna to the CB with a little extra length for good measure and possible future use for if you need to install a new connector on either end.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2012, 07:03 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
WOKNROX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal Hi Dez
Posts: 3,671
I've been around radios a long time....
But it sounds like ur the professional ...

Hopefully u can get this guy setup....it sucks when ur radio is in the mud!
__________________


WOKNROX!
Let's go wheelin!™
WOKNROX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-13-2012, 04:08 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
07tungsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 87
The guys at the CB Outlet in Kearny Mesa are super nice. They checked it out and tuned it for me for free.
__________________
2014 JKUR 6-speed
Copperhead Pearl
07tungsten is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-13-2012, 05:18 PM   #9
RossRacing7x

WF Supporting Member
 
Kota7x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 93105, 92677, 92004
Posts: 1,613
I had this problem with TWO Wilson antennas at the same time. No matter which way I tuned the antenna, I could not get them to go below 3. I went to PCI Race Radios and bought Two Firestiks (for two jeeps), they tuned perfectly and have always settled around 1.5 on both 1 & 40. Check your ground if it isnt that try another antenna that you know tunes right.
__________________
Sure you can follow... If you can keep up!!!
- 2004 Jeep Wrangler LJ 4.0
Kota7x is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2012, 03:27 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
JKRONNIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 239
Thanks again Jerry for all your help!!!!





Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
You can bring it by my house up in Escondido this weekend if you want, we can figure your SWR problem out without any problem. Early Saturday or most any time after 12 noon on Sunday will probably be fine. PM me if you want to come up.

For the types of unbalanced antennas we use on our Jeeps, the length of coax cable is irrelevant and has no effect on the SWR. Feed line lengths are critical in some types of antennas, just not on the type of antennas we use for Jeeping.

The correct length of coax to use is whatever length it takes to connect the antenna to the CB with a little extra length for good measure and possible future use for if you need to install a new connector on either end.
JKRONNIE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2012, 10:34 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
WOKNROX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal Hi Dez
Posts: 3,671
Glad to hear u got it tuned up...
what was the problem & what was the fix?
__________________


WOKNROX!
Let's go wheelin!™
WOKNROX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2012, 01:10 PM   #12
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,198
Images: 2
It was thankfully a fairly common issue that was easy to fix which together with a minor amount of tuning, brought the SWR down to a very good 1.1:1.

After noting that Ronnie had assembled everything correctly, an Ohmmeter test showed the bottom of the antenna mount was not grounded as it needed to be. The problem turned out to be that his Teraflex antenna mount was anodized where the antenna mount needs to see bare metal to get its RF ground connection. 30 seconds with a Dremmel tool on the bottom of the mount under the mounting hole was all it took. So Ronnie had done everything right, it was Tera's fault. Tera should tell their customers to grind that area free of the anodizing because its presence is going to prevent an antenna from working properly.

I just sent another email to Teraflex advising them they should add a note to their instructions advising their customers they need to grind a bit of anodizing away. I sent a similar note to them several years ago but they never responded or bothered to add any information in their instructions regarding this common issue.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-16-2012, 02:43 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
WOKNROX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal Hi Dez
Posts: 3,671
Good deal!
Its a good thing u were there and able to help him out...its amazing how many guys on the trail have poorly setup radios ...talking from jeep to jeep is all good but in most cases u need to be able to communicate at distances of a half mile or more. So with a properly turned setup u should have no problem talking to the guys in ur group ...even the really large groups ...
__________________


WOKNROX!
Let's go wheelin!™
WOKNROX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-17-2012, 11:12 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Helomech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 103
I didn't grind off any of my terra flex mount and still have the same match to my 4' firestick. The three bolts behind the tail light and the one hole drilled through the body. Though I must have a new mount with old I structions. It mentions using the three bolts u remove but mine came with three longer bolts.
__________________
Robert
Running Springs, CA
2000 TJ 4.0, Auto, Green w/black hard top
It's not dirty, it's camouflaged!

Go Ahead, Get Pistoph!
Helomech is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-17-2012, 12:05 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
WOKNROX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal Hi Dez
Posts: 3,671
That's kinda fun...they must of changed things up a bit...
I do know that some antennas respond different in regards to grounding ...like the Firefly works better in low grounded applications then other antennas ..
I'm not a huge fan of fiberglass sticks but Wilson as a glass stick that has a grounding wire on it....so u mount the antenna ...ground the wire from the antenna and ur good to go...ready to set ur SWR....sweet deal..
__________________


WOKNROX!
Let's go wheelin!™
WOKNROX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-17-2012, 12:41 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Helomech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 103
I have a three ft fiberglass with grounding wire. Also have a magmount Wilson 1000 with tuned galaxy959 dual finals, annoying echo board and a DM400.
__________________
Robert
Running Springs, CA
2000 TJ 4.0, Auto, Green w/black hard top
It's not dirty, it's camouflaged!

Go Ahead, Get Pistoph!
Helomech is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-17-2012, 12:57 PM   #17
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 33,198
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOKNROX View Post
... Wilson as a glass stick that has a grounding wire on it....so u mount the antenna ...ground the wire from the antenna and ur good to go...ready to set ur SWR....sweet deal..
The wire that Wilson includes on some of their antennas is not there to for the purposes of providing a ground for the antenna system. The antenna system's required ground needs to be provided by the mount that is bolted to the body, bumper, etc.

That wire on your Wilson (and some other brands of CB antennas) antenna is actually there to provide an optional additional 25 Ohms of impedence for some difficult installations to bring the antenna back up to the 50 Ohm impedence required by the CB which would be rarely needed on a Jeep.

That wire should definitely not be connected for most installations, it would normally be simply cut off. You may want to consider disconnecting yours & retuning your antenna, that it is connected might be causing a problem.

Wilson explains the purpose of that wire in more detail at the "What is that wire at the bottom?" bullet point under the Fiberglass Antennas heading at Frequently Asked Questions | Wilson Antennas.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-17-2012, 02:28 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
WOKNROX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal Hi Dez
Posts: 3,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
The wire that Wilson includes on some of their antennas is not there to for the purposes of providing a ground for the antenna system. The antenna system's required ground needs to be provided by the mount that is bolted to the body, bumper, etc.

That wire on your Wilson (and some other brands of CB antennas) antenna is actually there to provide an optional additional 25 Ohms of impedence for some difficult installations to bring the antenna back up to the 50 Ohm impedence required by the CB which would be rarely needed on a Jeep.

That wire should definitely not be connected for most installations, it would normally be simply cut off. You may want to consider disconnecting yours & retuning your antenna, that it is connected might be causing a problem.

Wilson explains the purpose of that wire in more detail at the "What is that wire at the bottom?" bullet point under the Fiberglass Antennas heading at Frequently Asked Questions | Wilson Antennas.
Right on...thanx for the info in that... I don't use one...nor do I own one of those...I've only seen them...I use a Wilson 2000 ..

__________________


WOKNROX!
Let's go wheelin!™
WOKNROX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC